Sekoia says APT29 watering holes used patched iOS and Android flaws, one route via a compromised tracker
Sekoia says it found watering hole attacks on iPhones and Android phones that used already patched flaws, reached through three routes including a modified Ukrainian analytics tracker, and attributes them to APT29 with moderate to high confidence. It gives no victim or device count.
By Parminder Kumar Sharma · LinkedIn · · 26 min read
A one week tracker window that closed 62 days before the write-up, and a scale given two ways
Sekoia says a Ukrainian web analytics tracker, Plerdy, was modified from 27 August to 3 September 2026, a window of 7 days (derived), and that the visitors of the sites loading it were exposed to an exploit kit for that week. Sekoia published its account on 4 November 2026, 62 days after the window closed (derived). Its own post gives the scale of the exposure two ways: "hundreds of legitimate websites" in the introduction, and "thousands of websites, the large majority of them Ukrainian" in the section on the tracker. The post does not reconcile the two.
This briefing reads Sekoia's post, dated 4 November 2026, in full, from its introduction to its indicators section, on 4 November 2026, from 11:11 UTC. BleepingComputer's report of the same day was read as a secondary source and checked line by line against it. Google's March 2026 report on DarkSword and its August 2024 report on an earlier set of watering hole attacks, the National Vulnerability Database records for eight CVE ids, and Apple's security pages were read to test what the post says about fixes and history. Sekoia sells security operations and threat intelligence products, and says its Threat Detection and Research team found this in its own research. The attribution to APT29 is Sekoia's assessment, with the confidence level it states.
What the tracker window does not establish matters as much as the dates. It does not say how many devices were exploited, who the victims are, or what became of the cookies and device data the chains took. It does not say how the tracker was broken into. In the introduction Sekoia writes "we assess" that the intrusion set carried out that compromise, while the section on the tracker states it without that word, so the confidence attached to the tracker route is the looser one. And a site that loaded the tracker is not a phone that was exploited: the post says a delivery server received requests from many sites, not how many visitors were served a chain.
The angle is that the only interaction is the visit, and that every flaw is old. Sekoia says all three chains "rely entirely on known, already-patched vulnerabilities", and that none works against a fully updated device. So the exposure is a phone or browser that had not updated, plus iPhone 8 and iPhone X class phones that stop at iOS 16.7, where this briefing could not find a fix on the record (set out below, and this site's reading, not Sekoia's). What is new is the delivery: three routes in, one profiling script, platform specific chains, cloned sites and a tracker script. The purpose Sekoia describes is cookie and data theft that, in its words, may allow reuse of authenticated sessions and access to webmail. That is how Sekoia describes the risk: a mobile visit that can end in account access.
What Sekoia says it found
Sekoia says its team uncovered, in mid October 2026, a large scale watering hole campaign involving compromised or cloned websites in the United States, Ukraine, the Czech Republic and Bulgaria. "High profile" is Sekoia's phrase for the sites. Its conclusion adds an Australian medical clinic to the compromised sites, so the four countries in the introduction are not the whole list. The investigation began with a detection of a malicious script inclusion on the site of a Ukrainian gas production company, which led Sekoia to the delivery server.
Three routes lead to one payload. Sekoia says the three infection vectors, direct injection on legitimate sites, lookalike domains and the tracker, all deliver a code injection that loads an external script to profile the visitor's browser and device. The delivery host then uses the mobile and browser version to serve one of three exploit chains for iOS or Android, "without user interaction". The interaction is the visit itself: nothing is tapped or downloaded, but the page has to load. Sekoia says the final payloads take cookies or full device data from iPhones, and Chrome data and Wi-Fi settings from Android phones, without establishing persistence.
Sekoia says it is coordinating with the CERTs of the affected countries to help identify victims and to assess options for disrupting the infrastructure. It thanks CERT-UA and Google's Threat Analysis Group for help, the second for identifying the exploits and CVEs. It names no victim organisation as a confirmed device compromise and gives no count.
Three routes in, and who Sekoia says was hit
The three infection routes as Sekoia describes them in its post of 4 November 2026. Sites are described by kind as Sekoia describes them, except two cloned sites that Sekoia names. Confidence wording is Sekoia's.
| Route | What Sekoia says | Scale and confidence |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Direct injection on legitimate sites | A script added to a site's main template, or appended to an existing JavaScript file (on a Bulgarian military related site, to a library). Sites named by kind: a Ukrainian gas production company, a US trade association for the chemical industry, a far right European political party, later a far right Czech movement and an Australian medical clinic. | Number of sites not printed ("several"). Sekoia says with low confidence that some may have been compromised to reach specific individuals, not a sector. The post does not say if the party and the Czech movement are one site. |
| 2. Lookalike domains, "AiTM like" | Where it could not compromise a site, the intrusion set registered lookalike domains acting as reverse proxies and edited the HTML on the fly to add the script at the bottom of each page. Sekoia names two cloned sites: the official site of America250, a US national anniversary initiative, and Raffles London at The OWO, a hotel in London. | Two. Sekoia suggests the choices may point to invitation themed or diplomatic spear phishing, stated as possibilities. One lookalike is now offline. |
| 3. Plerdy analytics tracker | A tracker file was modified so that visitors loaded both the real script and the intruders' script. Sekoia could not retrieve the intruders' script from the tracker's redirect host because it was offline, but the file name matches the one on the gas producer's site, so it assesses with moderate to high confidence that it is the same script. Sites using the tracker include army, special forces and military equipment sites. | Window 27 August to 3 September 2026. "Hundreds" in the introduction, "thousands" in the body and the conclusion. |
A note on the two named sites, and on Plerdy. These are Sekoia's reports that the sites were cloned and that the tracker was modified. They say nothing about the security of America250, Raffles London at The OWO or Plerdy, and this briefing makes no claim about it or about how any of them responded; the post says nothing on either point. The cloning method is an adversary in the middle approach, which Sekoia calls "AiTM like": a visitor is relayed to the real site through the copy, so the page looks right while an extra script rides along.
On the tracker, Sekoia cannot say what the intruders wanted. It writes that it remains unclear whether they meant to reach the visitors of specific sites or to infect as many unpatched phones as possible and pick through the data afterwards. Its conclusion offers two readings: an alternative delivery vector after direct injection failed on specific Ukrainian targets that used the Plerdy script, or a wider net. It does not choose between them. The "hundreds" and "thousands" figures may describe different things, sites exposed against sites that loaded the file, but the post does not say so, and BleepingComputer repeats the larger figure.
One profiling script, and a fingerprint that Sekoia says steers almost nothing
The script all three routes load is named UltimateFingerprinter by the intruders, per Sekoia. It is about 2.3 MB, of which roughly 98 per cent is a minified copy of a well known JavaScript library appended as dead code. Sekoia offers two possible reasons, without choosing: to hinder automated analysis by language models by exceeding their context window, or to look legitimate by sitting inside a familiar library.
It gathers 394 fields from 61 collectors: classic device fields such as canvas, audio and fonts; sandbox checks such as sensors, battery and network timing; Apple specific features; and newer web interfaces such as USB, Bluetooth and payment. The values go to a second address containing a random nonce, which returns exploit code if the submitted data meets the attacker's criteria.
Then comes the part that deflates the 394. Sekoia writes that, despite all the fields collected, "the fingerprint has almost no effect on exploitation delivery". Only three values can block it: an implausible screen width or height, such as 99999, or a touch point count of zero, meaning a device with no touchscreen. In those cases the host returns an empty successful response and serves nothing. Sekoia says the purpose of the extensive fingerprint remains unclear, and that it saw no evidence the data influenced delivery or was reused later in the chain. The platform chosen does depend on the operating system and browser version, which the delivery host checks, so the picture is: version decides the chain, the rest of the fingerprint is collected and, as far as Sekoia saw, not used.
Three chains, the versions they target, and what each takes
Sekoia tested different browser profiles against the fingerprinting endpoint and retrieved three complete chains, which it calls A, B and C. The post does not say whether other profiles would receive other chains.
The three chains as Sekoia lists them in its post of 4 November 2026. Versions are what the delivery host targets, not what each vulnerability could affect. Payload contents are Sekoia's description, condensed.
| Chain | Targets (delivery host) | CVEs Sekoia lists | What the final payload takes |
|---|---|---|---|
| A, iPhone | iOS 16.7. Sekoia says the chain should work from iOS 16.0 to 17.4 and that the host filters only for 16.7 and 16.7.10. | CVE-2025-43529 (code execution, the same flaw as in the DarkSword kit but reimplemented) and CVE-2024-27834 (pointer authentication bypass) | Cookies. Sekoia says the method should also reach cookies of other running apps, not only Safari. |
| B, iPhone (DarkSword) | iOS 18.5 | CVE-2025-43529, CVE-2026-20700, CVE-2025-14174, CVE-2025-43510 and CVE-2025-43520 | Sekoia describes the payload as effectively harvesting the phone: SMS and iMessage, Mail indexes, voicemail, WhatsApp and Telegram databases, Keychain passwords and tokens, account credentials, saved Wi-Fi keys, contacts, call history, Calendar, Notes, Safari history and cookies, usage and location caches, Health, photos and iCloud Drive. |
| C, Android | Chrome 139.0.0.0 to 145.0.0, excluding 143 (reason unclear, says Sekoia). Exploitation stops on one Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra model code; reason not stated. | CVE-2026-3910 (Chrome renderer) and CVE-2025-27038 (Adreno GPU driver, to leave the browser sandbox) | Sekoia calls the payload AndroSnitch: Chrome cookies, saved login data and history, and Wi-Fi configuration files. |
Four more CVE ids appear in the post but are not used: CVE-2024-27808 and CVE-2024-27833 remain in chain A as dead, unreachable code, probably from an earlier version of the kit, and CVE-2025-31277 and CVE-2025-24201 are offered by the DarkSword kit as an alternative entry and an alternative escape that this delivery does not use. Sekoia says these four are not used in this delivery.
Two operational details bear on how far the damage goes. The iPhone chains set a marker cookie to stop a second infection on the same phone, but Sekoia says a miscalculation makes it expire after one minute rather than one day, so only a very quick repeat is prevented. The Android chain has no such check. And Sekoia says none of the payloads establishes persistence. That is the post's wording; it does not say a restart would end the activity. BleepingComputer adds that inference. It is plausible, but it is the news report's step, not the post's.
Every flaw has a fix on the record, but not every phone has a fix listed
Sekoia says each flaw was resolved by its vendor before the campaign began. The National Vulnerability Database (NVD) records, read on 4 November 2026, show all eight CVE ids in the three chains were published before the tracker window opened, and seven name a fixed version; CVE-2025-27038 names none. The newest record is CVE-2026-3910 in Chrome, published on 13 March 2026, 167 days before the window opened (derived), and the newest iOS one is CVE-2026-20700, fixed in iOS 26.3 and published on 11 February 2026, 197 days before (derived). The oldest is CVE-2024-27834, fixed in iOS 16.7.8, which Apple's list dates to 13 May 2024, 836 days before the window opened (derived).
What the NVD record says about each CVE in Sekoia's three chains, read 4 November 2026. Descriptions are condensed from NVD's text, which for most Apple entries repeats Apple's wording. The CISA exploited vulnerabilities catalogue date is the field NVD shows.
| CVE | NVD's description and where it says it is fixed | CISA catalogue date in NVD |
|---|---|---|
| CVE-2025-43529 | Use after free; arbitrary code execution from crafted web content. Fixed in Safari 26.2, iOS 18.7.3 and iOS 26.2 (and other 26.2 builds). No iOS 16 build named. | 15 December 2025 |
| CVE-2024-27834 | Bypass of pointer authentication for an attacker with read and write ability. Fixed in iOS 16.7.8, iOS 17.5 and other 17.5 builds. | None shown |
| CVE-2026-20700 | Memory corruption; code execution for an attacker with memory write ability. Fixed in iOS 26.3 and other 26.3 builds. No iOS 18 build named. | 12 February 2026 |
| CVE-2025-14174 | Out of bounds memory access in ANGLE, described by NVD for Google Chrome on Mac before 143.0.7499.110. | 12 December 2025 |
| CVE-2025-43510 | Memory corruption in shared memory between processes. Fixed in iOS 18.7.2 and iOS 26.1. | 20 March 2026 |
| CVE-2025-43520 | Memory corruption; may write kernel memory. Fixed in iOS 18.7.2 and iOS 26.1. | 20 March 2026 |
| CVE-2026-3910 | Inappropriate implementation in V8 in Google Chrome before 146.0.7680.75; code execution inside the sandbox. | 13 March 2026 |
| CVE-2025-27038 | Memory corruption rendering graphics with Adreno GPU drivers in Chrome. No fixed version in the description. | 3 June 2025 |
Chrome is the simplest case. Chain C targets Chrome 139 to 145, and NVD names 146.0.7680.75 as the first version free of CVE-2026-3910, so the whole targeted range sits below the fixed version (derived). Because Sekoia describes the chain as starting with that Chrome flaw, a phone on a fixed Chrome should not get past the first stage; that is this site's inference from Sekoia's staging, not a test. The Adreno flaw is a separate, device level driver fix, so the Android patch level matters too. The iOS chain B flaws were fixed in the 2025 and early 2026 builds that this site read in its earlier briefing on the DarkSword kit and its six flaws, which also covers which iPhone models stopped at an iOS 18 build.
Now the gap, and it is this site's reading of the records, not Sekoia's. Apple's own list, read on 4 November 2026, shows iOS 16.7.16, released on 11 May 2026, for the iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus and iPhone X, the line chain A targets. The security notes for iOS 16.7.15 and iOS 16.7.16 list one CVE each, and neither is CVE-2025-43529 or CVE-2024-27834. The list shows no published CVE entries for iOS 16.7.13 and 16.7.14. NVD names no iOS 16 build for CVE-2025-43529. So for those phones this briefing found no Apple entry naming a fix for the flaw chain A uses for code execution. That is not proof that none exists, since Apple can ship a fix without listing it, and Sekoia says an up to date system is safe. It is the reason the first checklist item is not just "update".
A second thing this briefing cannot reconcile. NVD says CVE-2024-27834 was fixed in iOS 16.7.8, dated 13 May 2024 on Apple's list. Sekoia says the delivery host for chain A filters for iOS 16.7 and 16.7.10, and Apple's list dates iOS 16.7.10 to 7 August 2024, 86 days after 16.7.8 (derived). The post does not say whether chain A works on a build from 16.7.8 onward, and nothing read here tests it, so the question stays open.
DarkSword: what Sekoia says, and what BleepingComputer adds
Sekoia calls DarkSword a suspected Commercial Surveillance Vendor developed iOS exploit kit, uploaded to VirusTotal in September 2026. It says chain B "is DarkSword", compared against that uploaded kit and a public analysis of it, and that chain A reimplements the kit's code execution flaw and keeps two other flaws as leftover dead code. It adds that the evidence points to a third party supplying the exploits: chain A's host filter covers only iOS 16.7 and 16.7.10, though the exploits work from 16.0 to 17.4, which Sekoia reads as operators reusing code without tuning it.
BleepingComputer writes that DarkSword was "first documented in March" and used "since at least November 2025 by multiple threat groups". Neither statement is in Sekoia's post. They match Google's report of 18 March 2026, which says that since at least November 2025 it has seen multiple commercial surveillance vendors and suspected state sponsored actors use the chain, against targets in Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Malaysia and Ukraine, for iOS 18.4 through 18.7. The dates describe different events: first public documentation (18 March 2026, per Google) and an upload of the kit to a malware sharing service (September 2026, per Sekoia). Google also describes a cluster it tracks as UNC6353, which it calls a suspected Russian espionage group, using the kit on compromised Ukrainian websites through March 2026. Sekoia's post does not mention that cluster, and this briefing draws no link between it and APT29. The kit and its history are in this site's earlier briefing on DarkSword and its fixes.
The practical consequence is the one Sekoia states in its conclusion as an assessment: packaged exploit chains from the surveillance industry lower the cost of advanced mobile attacks for state backed groups, and Sekoia expects reuse to become more frequent. It is a forecast, and the post gives no data on how many groups hold the kit.
How Sekoia reaches APT29, and how much weight each piece carries
Sekoia assesses with moderate to high confidence that the campaign was run by APT29, "or at least one of its subgroups". APT29, Midnight Blizzard, Cozy Bear and The Dukes are names for one intrusion set that Sekoia says is widely attributed to Russia's Foreign Intelligence Service (SVR). These are labels with a stated confidence. The post does not say that any government or agency has attributed this campaign, and a reader should keep the label and the confidence together.
The four strands of Sekoia's attribution reasoning, in its post of 4 November 2026, with what a reader can check. Google's 2024 post was read on 4 November 2026.
| Strand | What Sekoia says | What a reader can check |
|---|---|---|
| A partner's private report | CERTs told Sekoia that backend files of one compromised site, not reached through the tracker, carried traces that a partner says match a private report of a 2025 APT29 watering hole campaign. One indicator is no longer active though the files are still injected. Sekoia offers two scenarios: leftover artefacts, or leftover components injected by mistake. | Nothing: the report is private, the partner and the site are unnamed. |
| Google's 2024 report | Google's Threat Analysis Group told Sekoia the framework resembles a 2024 campaign on Mongolian government websites. Both aimed at cookie theft; the 2024 one used a hardcoded filter for target sites, this one collects any cookie. | Google's August 2024 post is public. It says the campaigns are linked to APT29 with moderate confidence, calls the actor suspected, and says it did not know how that actor acquired the exploits. Google's confirmation to Sekoia is Sekoia's report of it. |
| Where the exploits came from | The mismatch between chain A's host filter and the exploits' wider range suggests reuse of third party code. Google's 2024 post said exploits matching those of surveillance vendors were used. | The version mismatch is in the post. It supports third party origin, not who the operator is. |
| Victims and infrastructure | Victims in Europe and the US with a focus on Ukraine, consistent with Russian interests. Domains spread across several hosters, a pattern seen in earlier APT29 infrastructure. A far right Czech website matches a history of targeting European political parties. | The printed table names three hosting providers (derived). Spread across hosters and a focus on Ukraine are common to many actors, and the post notes the compromised sites include unrelated entities. |
Read as a whole, the case is a set of overlaps and consistencies, with one piece nobody outside can test. Sekoia states a confidence level for each step it assesses, and hedges the actor as "at least one of its subgroups". Sekoia's conclusion also notes that no single sector pattern emerges across the directly compromised sites, which it says complicates a strategic reading, and that it lacks visibility of the targeting intelligence that may have chosen them.
The dates in the post, and what is not dated
Taking mid October as roughly the 15th, which is an assumption because the post gives no day, the tracker window had closed about six weeks before Sekoia says it uncovered the campaign (42 days, derived), and the post followed about three weeks after (20 days, derived). Sekoia says it found the tracker route in the course of analysis, after first seeing requests to the delivery server from numerous sites, which suggests (this site's inference) a reconstruction after the event, not a live observation. The delivery domain was created on 2 April 2026, 147 days before the window opened (derived), so some infrastructure existed for months before the tracker was touched. The post does not date when any chain first served a victim.
What the post states, and what it does not
Questions a security lead would ask of Sekoia's post of 4 November 2026, with what it states and what it does not, read on 4 November 2026.
| Question | Stated in the post | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| How many sites, devices and victims? | "Several" compromised or cloned sites in four countries (a fifth country in the conclusion); two cloned sites by name; thousands (body) or hundreds (introduction) of sites exposed through the tracker. | The number of compromised or cloned sites, any device count, any victim, and how many tracker visitors got a chain. |
| Who did it? | APT29, or at least one of its subgroups, with moderate to high confidence, from four strands of reasoning. | Any government attribution; the private report behind one strand; the operator's identity beyond the label. |
| How was the tracker compromised? | The window, 27 August to 3 September 2026, and that visitors loaded both scripts. | How it was entered, whether Plerdy was told, whether it was cleaned, and what Plerdy says. |
| Are the flaws fixed? | Each was resolved by its vendor before the campaign; an up to date device is safe from these chains. | The minimum fixed build per device; whether iPhone 8 and X class phones on iOS 16.7 have a fix; whether chain A works from 16.7.8 on. |
| Does it persist, and what happened to the data? | The payloads do not establish persistence. Data goes to an exfiltration host. | That a restart ends it (BleepingComputer's step); what the operator did with cookies or sessions; whether any account was accessed. |
| Who built the exploits? | DarkSword is a suspected commercial surveillance vendor kit; the exploits likely came from a third party. | The developer, how APT29 or anyone obtained it, and whether other chains exist for other profiles. |
| What can a defender hunt for? | Indicators: domains, addresses and hashes. More indicators and YARA rules are withheld in Sekoia's own product and shared with national CERTs and law enforcement under TLP:AMBER. | Any detection query, hunting guidance or mitigation beyond the implication that updates stop the chains. |
Where the coverage and the post differ
BleepingComputer's report is accurate on most points and was used as a pointer, with the post followed wherever they differ. Six differences are worth knowing before the news version is repeated.
Points where BleepingComputer's report of 4 November 2026 and Sekoia's post differ or go beyond it, both read on 4 November 2026.
| Point | BleepingComputer | Sekoia's post |
|---|---|---|
| Tracker scale | "Loaded by thousands of websites, mostly in Ukraine", 27 August to 3 September. | "Hundreds" exposed in the introduction; "thousands", large majority Ukrainian, in the body and the conclusion. |
| DarkSword's history | First documented in March, used since at least November 2025 by multiple groups. | Says only that the kit was uploaded to VirusTotal in September 2026. March and November 2025 are in Google's 18 March 2026 report. |
| Persistence | A reboot stops the activity until a compromised site is visited again. | No persistence established. No mention of a reboot. |
| Zero click | Headline: zero click attacks. | "Without user interaction" in the introduction; chain A is also called zero click. The visit is the interaction. |
| Patching | Apple and Google patched all flaws, with fixes reaching older iOS releases. | Each flaw resolved by its vendor before the campaign. Says nothing of older releases. |
| iPhone payload | WhatsApp and Telegram databases, Keychain, location, photos. | A far longer list, including messages, mail, voicemail, notes, Health and iCloud Drive. |
Four friendly names
"Zero click" suggests that nothing needs to happen. Something does: a phone has to load a page carrying the script. The phrase describes the absence of a tap on a malicious link, which is the main thing a user can control, but it does not mean the user did nothing.
"N day" sounds like the comforting kind of flaw. It means a flaw with a fix already available, and Sekoia's reading is that the campaign targets devices that have not updated. It is true as far as the flaws go and says nothing about a phone that cannot take the fixing release. "High profile" is Sekoia's phrase for the cloned and compromised sites; it is a description, not a count. And "an up-to-date operating system is safe from these attacks" is Sekoia's statement about these three chains, a vendor's finding, not a guarantee about the next flaw. It was not tested here.
What to do, in the order worth doing
Items 1 and 5 follow what Sekoia's post says. The others are this site's suggestions, drawn from the post's facts, and are labelled so.
Take this with you
Ranked actions
- Update every iPhone, iPad, Android phone and Chrome to the newest build on offer. Sekoia's chains target iOS 16.7, iOS 18.5 and Chrome 139 to 145; NVD names Chrome 146.0.7680.75 as the fix for CVE-2026-3910 and iOS 18.7.3 or 26.2 for CVE-2025-43529.
- List the phones that cannot reach a newer iOS, such as the iPhone 8, 8 Plus and X, which Apple's list shows on iOS 16.7.x. This site found no Apple entry naming a fix for CVE-2025-43529 on that line. Treat them as exposed, keep them off sensitive accounts, or replace them (this site's suggestion).
- On Android, check the security patch level as well as Chrome. The first Chrome flaw is fixed by a browser update; the Adreno driver flaw needs a device level fix (this site's reading of Sekoia's staging).
- After a suspected visit to an affected site, assume stolen cookies and saved data, not just a one off exposure. A restart does not retrieve data already sent. Sign out of every session, revoke tokens for webmail and messaging apps, and change saved Wi-Fi passwords, since both mobile payloads take them (this site's suggestion).
- Search proxy and DNS logs for Sekoia's printed domains and addresses over the 27 August to 3 September window and since. If you are a national CERT or law enforcement body, Sekoia says it can share more indicators and samples under TLP:AMBER.
- For anyone who runs a website: list every third party script you load, including analytics and tag managers, record what each should contain, and alert on any change. Sekoia's tracker route is the reason; it does not recommend this itself (this site's suggestion).
- Do not scope the risk by sector. Sekoia found no single sector pattern and names victims by kind in Ukraine, the US, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria and Australia; a device can be exposed by visiting any site that loads a changed script.
Technical details
Sekoia's post prints indicators: two lookalike domains, three delivery and exfiltration hosts with addresses, file and path names, and SHA-256 hashes of the stages. It says it withholds the rest of its indicators, its YARA rules and details of compromised websites, which are in its own product and available to national CERTs and law enforcement bodies under TLP:AMBER. The post prints no detection query, no rule and no hunting command, so none is given here. Everything below is copied from the post and defanged as Sekoia defanged it: do not browse to any of it. A defender searches DNS, proxy and web server logs and site files for these strings, and blocks them at the resolver or gateway. No code, script or payload from the post is reproduced.
The two lookalike (adversary in the middle like) sites and the delivery domain each pointed to, as Sekoia's indicators table prints them. The creation dates are printed day first.
Domain Created IPv4 Hosting provider Malicious delivery domain
theowo[.]club 18/06/2026 188.190.17[.]232 EDIS GmbH (AS57169) static.flux-telemetry[.]com
america250[.]holiday 19/05/2026 192.121.46[.]25 EDIS GmbH (AS9009) adsprism-stat[.]com
The delivery and exfiltration hosts. The two Shock Hosting entries share an autonomous system number. The post's text says the tracker redirect host forwarded requests to the other delivery hosts listed in the next block.
Domain Type Created IPv4 ASN AS name
static.flux-telemetry[.]com Delivery 02/04/2026 109.104.106[.]107 AS395092 Shock Hosting LLC
edge-ord.clouds-stacks[.]com Delivery 26/08/2026 95.133.231[.]28 AS219399 servinga GmbH
ad.starx-net[.]com Exfiltration 03/04/2026 195.58.140[.]105 AS395092 Shock Hosting LLC
Strings to search for in site files, proxy logs and web server logs. The tracker file path is the one Sekoia says was modified; a legitimate copy would not point to another host. The marker cookie is set on the visitor's phone by the two iPhone chains, so a defender is unlikely to see it, and it is listed because Sekoia names it.
Tracker file the intruders modified: a.plerdy[.]com/public/js/click/main.js
Fingerprinting script file name: 5b4c8fea5cbcee273e8d830f52-temfp.js
Other delivery hosts named in the text: ads-it-assets[.]com, cdn.adv-static[.]com, wpvortex-mod[.]com, assets-int[.]com
Exfiltration endpoint (port and path): ad.starx-net[.]com:8881/telemetry/v12
Marker cookie set on iPhone chains: VDGH_TOKEN_REF
Android model code that stops chain C: SM-S938B
SHA-256 hashes of the stages, as Sekoia's indicators table lists them. The post's body also prints different hashes for some of the same stages, without explaining the difference: for Class B /v1 and /v2, and for the two Class C variants. Both sets are shown so a hunt can search for either.
a7d2493df00565c21587b0cad2a9fe7ca1e5590acf796da6e499be0ffde44cc3 Class-A-Stage1
bee3e014e3df87ddce0250b0985b87f6868a427a7b650a74b7ffedb9d57f3088 Class-A-Stage2
c170fda024183645c0aa681149304e50506509c3498bb6b9a5f5ced6aa73e5fa Class-B-Stage1
2ffb35e3f9e55286a930fb887e73764a913166648135fe0ca7551736d97d7bfa Class-B-Stage2
69b6cb327a4d5da99399718f6a66f84de69f89425b0a31f2dcee0682f811596f Class-B-Stage3
29d283ebd08d0cd3b2e6f4a67718d3d6e7a6be01d0613d716bce218dba57a928 Class-C-Stage1-JS
06c17b31d36838f3d29044784aa047d5c2d9174d3356c1211cf25f9df677445f Class-C-Stage2-JS
183d62d682aea8018491c8559544e8d6a9ab0e1abd05ecbb6c97daa4f438d2b8 Class-C-Stage2-CVE-2025-27038
387a7fb768db1350a9788d9704e7a72abe07152734e0ff026af72b417e36268c AndroSnitch
35c0cd19a7334b544c193e392bcd9a8f1d1f43cf6b61be5bf1d9e35537aff2ef Class B /v1, in the body
621112712ec515e8791129c62feda8fff6654a0116882401609503cacc08054a Class B /v2, in the body
ae3241d96cc2d99538c7aff60f382cc8dac13859bcbea3ee84992d24d22a8108 Class C, Chrome 139 to 144, in the body
41e6fd33a30d36dabff9ea408d9766a6583edcc107968f6dc1499f2586381967 Class C, Chrome 145, in the body
The question that exposes the gap
The fixes were all published before the campaign began, and the one weak point in Sekoia's reading is a phone that cannot take them. So if a script that your own website loads from a third party changed tonight, which of your phones and your visitors' phones would run it tomorrow, and could you tell, by the end of the day, which iOS and Chrome build each of them is on?
Key facts
Sources
- PrimaryBlog post 'Poisoned Source: APT29 watering holes target mobile devices with n-day exploits', 4 November 2026: the three routes, the profiling script, the three chains, attribution, conclusion and indicators. Read in fullSekoia (Threat Detection and Research)accessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryReport on the DarkSword iOS exploit chain, 18 March 2026: first public documentation, use since at least November 2025, the six flaws, and a cluster using it on Ukrainian sitesGoogle Threat Intelligence Groupaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryState-backed attackers and commercial surveillance vendors repeatedly use the same exploits, 29 August 2024: the 2024 campaign on Mongolian government websites that Sekoia compares withGoogle Threat Analysis Groupaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryApple security releases list: iOS 16.7.x releases and the devices and dates they coverAppleaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimarySecurity content of iOS 16.7.15, 11 March 2026: lists one CVE, not CVE-2025-43529 or CVE-2024-27834Appleaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimarySecurity content of iOS 16.7.16, 11 May 2026: lists one CVE, not CVE-2025-43529 or CVE-2024-27834Appleaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2025-43529: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2024-27834: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2026-20700: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2025-14174: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2025-43510: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2025-43520: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2026-3910: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2025-27038: description, fixed versions where stated, scores and the CISA catalogue dateNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-04
- Reported byNews report 'Hackers use n-day exploits in zero-click attacks on iOS, Android devices', 4 November 2026: the secondary account, checked point by point against the Sekoia postBleepingComputeraccessed 2026-11-04


