P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Google lists all 213 Chrome 157 fixes and 7 Critical, but prints a dollar amount on only 9

Google's Chrome Releases post of 3 November says Chrome 157 includes 213 security fixes, and it lists all 213: 7 Critical, 77 High. Only 9 lines carry a dollar amount, adding up to $31,000, and 39 say TBD. The post says nothing about attacks.

By · LinkedIn · · 16 min read

Google's post lists every one of the 213 fixes, and puts a dollar amount on 9

Google's Chrome Releases post of Tuesday 3 November 2026 says Chrome 157 "includes 213 security fixes", and it prints 213 entry lines to match, one CVE each. By Google's own severity labels they split 7 Critical, 77 High, 75 Medium and 54 Low. Nine lines carry a dollar amount, and those nine add up to $31,000. Thirty nine lines say [TBD] and 165 say [N/A] (every count here is derived: this site parsed each line of the saved page, whose HTML holds the list twice, and the two copies are identical). This briefing was read on 4 November 2026 from 11:13 UTC, after reading the robots file of each site fetched. Google makes and updates Chrome and is writing about its own product.

That is a count of lines on a page. It is not a count of attacks, of exposed machines or of bugs a defender can look up, and the post stops well short of those. The table sets what the post states against what it leaves out.

Table 1. What Google's post of 3 November 2026 states, and what it does not. Counts are derived from the 213 entry lines.

TopicStated in the postNot stated
Count"This update includes 213 security fixes." 213 entry lines, 213 distinct CVE idsWhether 213 means 213 separate root causes, or only 213 CVE ids
SeverityA label on every line: Critical 7, High 77, Medium 75, Low 54The rating rules behind the labels. No CVSS score appears in the post
ExploitationNothing. A text search of the post finds no use of exploit, in the wild, zero day or activelyAny statement, either way, that a flaw is or is not being attacked
CreditA credit string on every line: 130 say Google, 83 name someone elseWhat a credit means: who found it, with what tool, how many people
BountyA dollar amount on 9 lines, [TBD] on 39, [N/A] on 165What [TBD] and [N/A] mean, or any total paid
Rollout"will roll out over the coming days/weeks"; Linux 157.0.8103.38, Windows and Mac 157.0.8103.38/.39The date a given machine gets it, or any restart step
Bug detailDetails and links "may be kept restricted until a majority of users are updated"When the restriction ends
Other browsersNothingWhat Edge, Brave, Opera, Vivaldi or Electron apps do

What the post lists, by severity and by credit

The post prints one line per fix in the form bounty field, bug number, severity, CVE id, a component and a type, a credit and a reported on date. Counting those lines gives Table 2. Every figure in it is derived, and the severity words are Chrome's labels, not a score from anyone outside Google.

Table 2. The 213 lines by severity label and by credit, from Google's post of 3 November 2026 (derived).

Severity labelLinesCredited to GoogleAny other credit
Critical725
High773641
Medium755520
Low543717
All213130 (61.0%)83 (39.0%)

The post lists everything it counts, so a reader can do this arithmetic from the page itself. That is the more useful half of the page, and it is also where the limits begin: a label on each line, with no rule shown for how the label was chosen. The 84 Critical and High lines are 39.4% of the 213 (derived). The median gap from the printed reported on date to the post date of 3 November is 27 days for those 84 and 40 days for all 213 (derived; the post prints no build or fix date, so this is an age of the report, not the time to fix).

The seven Critical lines

Table 3 sets out the seven. Reporters' names are left out here; where the credit names an employer or an AI model that assisted, the credit is quoted as the post prints it and nothing more is added. By the post's own type words the seven are four use after free, two buffer overflow and one memory corruption (derived). SecurityWeek calls them "critical memory safety bugs", a grouping that is the outlet's, not the post's.

Table 3. The seven Critical lines in Google's post of 3 November 2026. Credit as printed, name left out. Reported on is the date the post prints.

CVE id and label as printedCredit as printedBounty field, reported on
CVE-2026-121156, Buffer overflow in DawnA researcher at depthfirst$10,000, 2026-09-30
CVE-2026-121229, Memory corruption in ANGLEA researcher, shown by a handle$1,000, 2026-09-17
CVE-2026-121246, Use after free in WebGLGoogle[N/A], 2026-09-08
CVE-2026-121035, Use after free in PrerenderA researcher, "(Anthropic), assisted by Claude"[N/A], 2026-09-28
CVE-2026-121247, Buffer overflow in DawnGoogle[N/A], 2026-10-03
CVE-2026-121203, Use after free in GeometryA name only, the same name string as the Claude assisted line above[N/A], 2026-10-07
CVE-2026-121126, Use after free in CoreA different name only[N/A], 2026-10-08

Two of the seven carry an amount, and five say [N/A], two of those five being Google's own finds. The reported on dates run from 8 September to 8 October, which is 26 to 56 days before the post date (derived). The post does not say whether any of the seven is being used in attacks. It does not rank the seven against each other either: Critical is one label.

The bounty field: $31,000 on 9 lines, and TBD on 39

The nine dollar amounts are three of $1,000, four of $2,000 and two of $10,000, which is $3,000 plus $8,000 plus $20,000, or $31,000 (derived). That matches the "$31,000 in rewards" that SecurityWeek reports, but the post itself prints no total, so $31,000 is the sum of the printed amounts and not a stated figure for money paid. SecurityWeek says Google "has not determined" the bounties for 39 flaws; the post prints [TBD] on 39 lines and does not define the word, so that is the outlet's reading of it.

Table 4. The bounty field on the 213 lines, Google's post of 3 November 2026 (derived counts, dollar amounts as printed).

Field as printedLinesBy severity labelOn which credits
A dollar amount9Critical 2, High 2, Medium 4, Low 1. Sum $31,000All 9 on outside credits
[TBD]39High 13, Medium 12, Low 14. None CriticalAll 39 on outside credits, none Google, none AI named
[N/A]165Critical 5, High 62, Medium 59, Low 39130 Google, 21 AI named, 11 name only, 3 other outside

Read across, the pattern is clean. All 130 Google lines say [N/A]. Of the 83 lines credited to someone else, 9 carry an amount (10.8%), 39 say [TBD] (47.0%) and 35 say [N/A] (42.2%), all derived. Every one of the 21 lines that name an AI tool says [N/A], and so does every one of the 11 name only lines described below. The post gives no reason for any [N/A]. For comparison, our briefing on Chrome 155 counted 11 of the 14 AI named lines in that release as [TBD] and 3 as [N/A]. In Chrome 157 the figures are 0 and 21. Nothing in either post explains the change, and this build did not re-read the Chrome reward rules, so it offers no explanation.

Figure 1. The credit group of each of the 213 lines and the bounty field printed on it. Counts derived by this site from Google's post of 3 November 2026; the grouping is this site's.

Who is credited, and what an AI named credit does and does not show

The post's credit strings fall into five groups, shown in Table 5. The group names are this site's. The strings are Google's. "AI credited" is the credit text and not a finding about what any AI system can do: a credit line is the reporter's own statement, and the post does not say what "assisted by" covered.

Table 5. The 213 credit strings by group, Google's post of 3 November 2026 (derived counts). Reporters' names are left out.

Credit as printedLinesWhat the post statesWhat it does not state
Google130A name only. Critical 2, High 36, Medium 55, Low 37. [N/A] on allWhich team or tool found it, how many finders, whether AI was used
A researcher, "(Anthropic), assisted by Claude"14A reporter, an employer and a named AI model that assisted. Critical 1, High 11, Medium 1, Low 1. [N/A] on allWhat the assistance was: finding, a test case, triage
"OpenAI Codex Security", then a handle in brackets7An OpenAI product name as the credit. High 5, Medium 1, Low 1. [N/A] on allThat the product is an AI system, what it did, who ran it
A name only, matching a name on the Claude assisted lines11The same string on 9 lines and a lowercase first name only on 2. Critical 1, High 8, Medium 2. [N/A] on allWhether it is the same person, and whether any tool assisted
Other outside credits51Names, handles and teams. 9 lines print an organisation or team: depthfirst, Neonix Security, 360 Vulnerability Research Institute, Serotav, Team Allied, SYZD ResearchAny use of AI. 3 of the 51 are dated before 2026, back to May 2020

On a strict reading, 21 of the 213 lines name an AI product in the credit (9.9%), and 17 of the 84 Critical and High lines do (20.2%), all derived. That is the count of people who chose to say so. It is not the share of AI in Chrome's security work: 130 lines say only Google, and the post does not say how Google found them. The same counting rule was used in our Chrome 155 briefing, where 14 of 247 lines named an AI product (5.7%) and Google's share was 74.9% against 61.0% here.

Anthropic sells Claude, OpenAI sells Codex Security, and Google sells Gemini and makes Chrome. Each has a commercial interest in how AI assisted security work is counted, which is a reason to count the credit strings as printed and to claim nothing more. A word on timing, also derived: the 21 AI named lines were reported between 24 September and 25 October. Fifteen are dated 24 to 30 September, 34 to 40 days before the post date, and six are dated 15 to 25 October, 9 to 19 days before it. Chrome 155's AI named lines were all reported within 12 days of that release, as that briefing counted. In this one the median age is 36 days, against 48 for the Google lines and 37 for the other outside lines. The post prints no fix date, so none of these is a time to fix.

SecurityWeek's figures against the post

SecurityWeek's article of 4 November 2026 is a secondary source, read on the same day. Its figures were each re-derived from the post, and Table 6 gives the result. Nearly everything matches. The differences are about words, and about one name.

Table 6. SecurityWeek's article of 4 November 2026 checked line by line against Google's post of 3 November 2026. Counts are this site's.

SecurityWeek saysThe post givesResult
213 vulnerabilities, seven critical memory safety bugs213 lines. 7 Critical: 4 use after free, 2 buffer overflow, 1 memory corruptionMatches. "Memory safety" is the outlet's grouping
Dawn buffer overflow earned $10,000; ANGLE memory corruption $1,000The same two lines, $10,000 and $1,000Matches
No rewards for the other five. Google reported two, one named researcher two, another the fifthFive lines say [N/A]. Two say Google. One prints "(Anthropic), assisted by Claude". One prints the same name string with no employer. One prints a different nameDiffers on one point: the post prints the employer on one of the two lines SecurityWeek attributes to that researcher
77 high severity, "more than a dozen" from external researchers77 High, of which 41 are credited to someone other than GoogleCount matches. 41 is more than a dozen, and understates it
Bounties disclosed for two High lines: $10,000 incorrect authorization, $2,000 out of bounds readThe same two High linesMatches
$31,000 "per Google's advisory"; bounties not determined for 399 printed amounts that sum to $31,000. [TBD] on 39. No total, no word advisoryMatches as a sum. "Advisory" and "not determined" are the outlet's words
Common types: incorrect or missing authorization 51, use after free 45, UI misrepresentation 19, type confusion 13, information leak 13, out of bounds read or write 11, improper input validation 9, uninitialized resource 9Incorrect authorization 37 plus missing authorization 14 is 51. Use after free 45. UI misrepresentation 19. Type confusion 13. Information leak 13. Out of bounds read 10 plus write 1 is 11. Improper input validation 9. Uninitialized resource 9Matches, with two labels merged into one
No mention of exploitation in the wild. Versions 157.0.8103.38/.39 and .38No such wording. The same versionsMatches

One finding sits beneath that table. The 51 authorization lines are the largest class by label once the two are merged, and they are mostly low in Chrome's own ratings: Medium 27, Low 19 and High 5 (derived). The largest class is not mostly the most serious one. Counting the post's type words that name memory errors (use after free 45, out of bounds read 10, buffer overflow 7, memory corruption 2, out of bounds write 1, use of released resource 1) gives 66 lines, 31.0% of the 213, and includes all 7 Critical lines and 45 of the 77 High (derived, and this grouping is this site's, which leaves out type confusion and uninitialized resource).

Whose label is it?

Table 7. The labels in the headlines and who owns each one.

LabelWhose it isWhat it is
213 security fixesGoogle, in its postA count of fixes, matched by 213 listed lines
Critical, HighChrome's severity labels, printed on each lineA vendor rating. No CVSS score in the post, and none was read for this briefing
Memory safetySecurityWeekA grouping of type words. The post prints type names such as use after free
AI creditedThe credit text in the postA reporter's statement of assistance, not an audit of method
Bounty not determinedSecurityWeek, for [TBD]The post prints [TBD] and does not define it
AdvisorySecurityWeekThe source is a Chrome Releases blog post

None of these is a control. A Critical label does not tell you whether your build is exposed, and a count of 213 does not tell you whether the build on your laptop contains the fixes. The post's own sentence on rollout is the one that decides that: the update "will roll out over the coming days/weeks".

What to do, in order

Defender level only: the post gives no bug detail and none is added here. Items marked as this site's suggestion are standard practice, not statements in Google's post. The Android build and its sentence on shared fixes come from Google's Android post of the same date.

Take this with you

In order of value

  • Set the floor from the post: Chrome 157.0.8103.38 or later on Linux, and 157.0.8103.38/.39 on Windows and Mac. Google's Android post of the same date gives 157.0.8103.38 for Android and says Android releases carry the same security fixes as the matching desktop release unless otherwise noted.
  • Check the build in use. This site's suggestion: open chrome://settings/help, let it check, and relaunch the browser. The post says nothing about restarts or about a manual check, so an installed build may not be a running one.
  • Expect a staged rollout. The post says it "will roll out over the coming days/weeks" and the Android post says Google Play will have it "over the next few days", so a machine that shows no update today is not necessarily behind.
  • Check other Chromium based browsers and apps that embed Chromium on their own pages. The post says nothing about them. This site's suggestion: ask each vendor which Chromium it ships and when it takes these fixes.
  • For administrators: the post's text mentions no enterprise update channel and no Extended Stable build. This site's suggestion: take fleet versions from your management tool, not from the post, and find the machines that have not relaunched.
  • Do not wait for bug detail. The post says details and links may stay restricted until most users have updated, so there may be nothing public to read for some time.
  • Do not set patch priority from the count of Critical lines or the count of AI credits. This site's suggestion: update the build, and take urgency from your own policy and from whatever Google or CISA later say about attacks.

Technical details

The post prints versions, CVE ids, component names and type words. It prints no indicators, no queries, no configuration and no exploit detail, and none is added here. The first block is the version text as the Chrome Releases posts print it. The second is the seven Critical entries copied as printed from the CVE id onward, with the bounty field, the bug number and the reporter left out. A defender can use the first to set a version floor in a management tool, and the second to match CVE ids against an inventory scanner.

Text
Chrome 157.0.8103.38 (Linux) 157.0.8103.38/.39 Windows/Mac
Chrome 157 (157.0.8103.38) for Android
Version strings as printed in Google's Chrome Releases desktop post of 3 November 2026 (first line) and its Android post of the same date (second line), read on 4 November 2026.
Text
Critical CVE-2026-121156: Buffer overflow in Dawn
Critical CVE-2026-121229: Memory corruption in ANGLE
Critical CVE-2026-121246: Use after free in WebGL
Critical CVE-2026-121035: Use after free in Prerender
Critical CVE-2026-121247: Buffer overflow in Dawn
Critical CVE-2026-121203: Use after free in Geometry
Critical CVE-2026-121126: Use after free in Core
The seven Critical entries from Google's Chrome Releases desktop post of 3 November 2026, read on 4 November 2026. Each line is copied from the severity word to the end of the label; the bounty field, bug number and reporter that precede and follow it in the post are omitted.

CVE ids and records for these entries were not looked up on CVE.org or NVD for this briefing, so no score or affected range from those databases is stated. The ids are exactly as the post prints them.

The question that exposes the gap

Google's page counts 213 fixes, lists every one, prices nine of them and says nothing about whether anyone is attacking any of them. That is a good page for a statistician and a thin one for a defender.

For the laptop you are reading this on, does your inventory record the Chrome build that is installed, or the build that is running?

Sources

  1. PrimaryStable Channel Update for Desktop, Tuesday 3 November 2026: Chrome 157.0.8103.38 and .39, 213 security fixes, all 213 entry lines parsed by script for severity, credit, bounty field and reported on date. Read in full on 4 November 2026 from 11:13 UTC after reading robots.txt (HTTP 200, all agents allowed except /search and /share-widget)Chrome Releases (Google)accessed 2026-11-04
  2. PrimaryChrome for Android Update, Tuesday 3 November 2026: Chrome 157 (157.0.8103.38) for Android, and the sentence that Android releases contain the same security fixes as the matching desktop release unless otherwise noted. Read in full on 4 November 2026Chrome Releases (Google)accessed 2026-11-04
  3. Reported byNews article of 4 November 2026 on Chrome 157, used only as a pointer: each of its figures was re-derived from Google's post and the differences are in Table 6SecurityWeekaccessed 2026-11-04

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.