P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Apple's iOS 18 fix for a CoreGraphics flaw it says may have been exploited came 28 days after iOS 26's

Apple's iOS 18.7.11 fixes CVE-2026-86950, which Apple says may have been exploited against targeted individuals. The first fix shipped 28 days earlier, and none of the 286 CVEs on the iOS and macOS 27.2 pages carries that wording.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 17 min read

286 CVEs in the 27.2 releases, and none carries Apple's exploitation sentence

Apple's security pages for iOS 27.2 and macOS Golden Gate 27.2, both dated 26 October 2026, list 286 distinct CVE identifiers between them. The iOS page lists 163, the macOS page 263, and 140 appear on both (derived: 163 + 263 - 140 = 286). That is the figure SecurityWeek reports. None of the 286 carries Apple's wording that a flaw may have been exploited. The one flaw that does, CVE-2026-86950 in CoreGraphics, sits on a different page: iOS 18.7.11 and iPadOS 18.7.11, which lists three CVEs. Apple fixed the same flaw on 28 September in iOS 26.7.1, macOS Tahoe 26.7.1 and macOS Sequoia 15.8.1. The iOS 18 fix arrived 28 days later (derived).

What those numbers do not establish: that 286 bugs were being attacked (one flaw carries Apple's exploitation wording, which is 0.3 per cent of 286, derived); that any iPhone on iOS 18 was attacked (Apple's wording says only "versions of iOS before iOS 27"); who exploited it; or how many people were targeted. The headline pairing of a big count with an exploited flaw is two separate facts on separate pages.

This briefing reads Apple's own pages, the CVE record and the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities file, not the press coverage. SecurityWeek (article) and BleepingComputer (article) were read as pointers and for what they claim. Apple's pages were read in full from 14:13 GMT on Tuesday 27 October 2026 and read again at 14:24 GMT. No form was filled in and nothing was downloaded other than pages. Earlier briefings on this CVE are linked below and are not repeated: the exploitation sentence and the public crash test. The first of those said no older line had a fix. For the iOS 18 line that is now out of date, and this briefing is the update.

How the 286 is built, and where the exploited flaw sits

Each count below is this site's own, made by reading every Apple page saved from the primary and counting distinct CVE identifiers. The pages group fixes by component, so the number of entries is not the number of CVEs. Apple's wording about exploitation was searched for in every page.

Distinct CVE identifiers on each Apple security page, and whether the page carries the exploitation sentence. Counts are derived by this site from the pages read on 27 October 2026 (https://support.apple.com/en-us/149230, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149521, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149225, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149226, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149227 and the pages linked from https://support.apple.com/en-us/100100).

Apple page (26 October unless stated)Distinct CVEs (derived)Exploitation sentence
iOS 18.7.11 and iPadOS 18.7.113Yes: CVE-2026-86950
iOS 26.7.1 and iPadOS 26.7.1 (28 September)1Yes: the same CVE
macOS Tahoe 26.7.1 (28 September)1Yes: the same CVE
macOS Sequoia 15.8.1 (28 September)1Yes: the same CVE
iOS 27.2 and iPadOS 27.2163No
macOS Golden Gate 27.2263No
iOS 26.7.2 and iPadOS 26.7.2134No
macOS Tahoe 26.7.2213No
macOS Sequoia 15.8.2197No
tvOS 27.272No
watchOS 27.262No
visionOS 27.2125No
Safari 27.233No

The figures for the two 27.2 pages, and for the 26.7.2, macOS 26.7.2, macOS 15.8.2, tvOS, watchOS, visionOS and Safari pages, match the ones SecurityWeek prints. SecurityWeek's "roughly 140" shared between iOS and macOS is exactly 140 on this count. Two more derived figures: the ten pages dated 26 October list 1,265 CVE lines in all, and only 329 of them are distinct, because the same CVE appears on several pages. Adding tvOS, watchOS, visionOS and Safari to the two 27.2 pages gives 288 distinct CVEs, only two more than 286. So "286" is a count of identifiers across two operating systems, not a count of attacks, and not a count of the CVEs Apple fixed that day.

On the 163 for iOS 27.2, this site counted nine CVEs whose stated impact includes arbitrary code execution, 22 that mention the kernel and 23 that mention access to sensitive user data (all derived from the Impact lines; one CVE can be counted in more than one group). Apple states no exploitation for any of them. They are listed to show what kind of fixes the 286 include, not to rank them.

What Apple, the CVE record and CISA each say about CVE-2026-86950

Apple's iOS 18.7.11 page lists the entry under CoreGraphics with the impact "Processing a maliciously crafted file may lead to arbitrary code execution". It then says Apple "is aware of a report that this issue may have been exploited in an extremely sophisticated attack against specific targeted individuals on versions of iOS before iOS 27". The description is "An out-of-bounds write issue was addressed with improved bounds checking", and the credit is to Meta Product Security. The credit says who found the bug. It does not say who reported the exploitation, which Apple attributes only to "a report". The credit names a team inside Meta; the record states no link between the flaw and any Meta product or service.

Apple's own page, as rendered on 27 October 2026 (support.apple.com/en-us/149225), cropped to the CoreGraphics entry. Note the Available for line, where the text for iPad 7th generation runs into text from a longer device list.

The CVE record, published by Apple as the CVE Numbering Authority, gives these dates: reserved 8 September 2026, published 28 September, last updated 26 October at 20:35 UTC (record). The record now names the iOS 18.7.11 build: its affected ranges read iOS and iPadOS from version 0 up to but not including 18.7.11 and up to but not including 26.7.1, and macOS up to but not including 15.8.1 and 26.7.1. The CVSS 3.1 base score of 8.8 (vector AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R) and the weakness class CWE-787 are not Apple's. They sit in the record's CISA ADP container, so CISA assigned them. The same container records CISA's SSVC value for exploitation as "active", and the KEV date added as 2026-09-29.

CISA's KEV file, read on 27 October (catalogue 2026.10.26), lists the CVE as "Apple Multiple Products Out-of-Bounds Write Vulnerability", added 29 September with a due date of 13 October, ransomware use "Unknown" and forensic triage "No" (file). Its notes cite Apple's 26.7.1, Tahoe and Sequoia pages. They do not cite the iOS 18.7.11 page. The due date binds US federal civilian agencies under BOD 26-04, which says remediation may be done by patching, decommissioning or another action; anyone else can read it as a priority signal. Our earlier briefing on the public crash test recorded a due date of 2 October in its readings on 29 September and 1 October. The file now says 13 October, and the file does not say when or why it changed.

28 days, and 13 days past the KEV due date

The dates are all on the record: reserved 8 September, fixed on 28 September, listed in KEV on 29 September, due 13 October, and fixed on the iOS 18 line on 26 October. From 28 September to 26 October is 28 days (derived). From the KEV due date of 13 October to 26 October is 13 days (derived), so a federal agency holding an iPhone XS, XS Max or XR could not meet the due date by patching: no build with the fix existed for that model. Our earlier briefing on the public crash test recorded that Calif published a crash test for this CVE on 30 September. That is 26 days before the iOS 18.7.11 date (derived); it is that briefing's finding, not something read again here, and the test did not show code execution.

Drawn by this site from Apple's advisories and release list, the CVE record and the CISA KEV file, all read on 27 October 2026, and from this site's earlier briefing on the public crash test. Day counts are derived.

Which device got which fix, and which has none listed

"Backported to iOS 18" covers less than it sounds. Apple's release list names four devices for iOS 18.7.11 and iPadOS 18.7.11: iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR and iPad 7th generation. Apple's iOS 26.7.1 list starts at iPhone 11 and iPad 8th generation. So for these four, the iOS 18 line is the only line Apple lists a fix on (derived from the two availability lists).

Drawn by this site from Apple's release list (100100) and advisories 149225, 149226 and 149227, read on 27 October 2026. Day counts are derived.

Fix status by device group on Apple's own lists, read 27 October 2026 (https://support.apple.com/en-us/100100). Days are counted to 26 October 2026 and derived. No fix listed does not mean unaffected: Apple is silent on those lines.

Device or systemFix on Apple's listLast build and age
iPhone 11 and later, iPad 8th generation and later, and the other iPads on the 26.7.1 listiOS and iPadOS 26.7.1 on 28 September; 26.7.2 on 26 October carries no new entry for itFixed on 28 September
iPhone XS, XS Max, XR and iPad 7th generationiOS and iPadOS 18.7.11 on 26 OctoberFixed 28 days after the first fix; previous build 18.7.10, 17 August (70 days earlier)
Any iPhone 11 or later still on iOS 18Not named in the 18.7.11 row; the 26.7.1 path applies (derived)Apple does not say what an iOS 18 build on these models should be
iPhone 8 and X, and the iPads on iOS 16.7.16None listed16.7.16, 11 May 2026, 168 days
iPhone 6s and 7, iPhone SE 1st generation, iPad Air 2, iPad mini 4, iPod touch 7th generationNone listediOS 15.8.8, 11 May 2026, 168 days
iPad Pro 12.9 inch 2nd generation, iPad Pro 10.5 inch, iPad 6th generationNone listediPadOS 17.7.11, 11 May 2026, 168 days
macOS Sequoia and macOS Tahoe15.8.1 and 26.7.1 on 28 SeptemberFixed; 15.8.2 and 26.7.2 followed
macOS Golden Gate 27 and iOS 27, 27.0.1 to 27.2No entry for this CVE on the 27 or 27.2 pagesApple's sentence limits the report to before iOS 27; it does not say 27 is unaffected
macOS Sonoma 14 and macOS Ventura 13None listedSonoma 14.8.9, 6 August, 81 days; Ventura 13.7.8, 20 August 2025, 432 days

One detail on the page needs care. In the iOS 18.7.11 advisory, the "Available for" line of every entry reads "iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, iPad 7th generationAir 4th generation and later, iPad 9th generation and later, and iPad mini 6th generation and later". The words run together at "generationAir". The second half matches wording on Apple's 27.2 pages, so it looks like text pasted from a longer list. Apple's release list, which is the cleaner source, names only the four devices. BleepingComputer repeats the longer wording as the list of devices that now have the fix. The record does not settle which Apple meant. Whichever it is, the newer iPads in that second half can already take 26.7.1 or later, so they are not the group that waited.

Four labels doing the work of evidence

A label, alarming or comforting, is not a measurement. Four appear in the coverage of this release.

Labels in the SecurityWeek and BleepingComputer headlines and text (read 27 October 2026) set against Apple's pages.

The labelWhere it appearsWhat the record shows
"Backported"Both headlinesNone of the Apple pages read uses the word. The record shows a new build on a separate release line, iOS 18.7.11, for four device types, carrying the same one sentence description as the 26.7.1 entry. Whether the code change is the same is not stated.
"Zero day"SecurityWeek text, BleepingComputer headlineApple says only that a report says the flaw "may have been exploited" on iOS before iOS 27. When the attacks happened, and against which build, is not stated. For the iPhone XS and XR line, no fix existed for 28 days after the first fix.
"Older iPhones"BleepingComputer headlineApple's list names iPhone XS, XS Max and XR, and one iPad. iPhone 8, X, 7 and 6s are older still and have no fix listed.
"Patch 286 bugs"SecurityWeek headline286 CVE identifiers across the iOS and macOS 27.2 pages, 140 of them on both. None carries exploitation wording. The exploited flaw is on a three CVE page.

SecurityWeek also writes that iOS and macOS 27 "do not appear to be affected". That is its reading. Apple's page limits its sentence to iOS before iOS 27 and lists no 27 entry; the CVE record lists no 27 build as affected. None of that is Apple saying 27 is unaffected.

Stated and not stated

"Not stated" means not found in any page read, in full. It does not mean the information does not exist.

What Apple's pages, the CVE record and the CISA KEV file state about CVE-2026-86950, and what they do not (read 27 October 2026).

The questionStatedNot stated
Was it exploited?Apple: aware of a report it "may have been exploited". CISA lists it in KEV and records SSVC exploitation as "active".The evidence behind either. Apple does not say it confirmed exploitation.
Against whom?"Specific targeted individuals".Who, how many, which country or sector.
By whom?Nothing.Any actor, vendor or kit. KEV records ransomware use as "Unknown".
On which builds?"Versions of iOS before iOS 27".Whether any iOS 18 device was attacked, and which builds.
On a Mac?The same sentence appears on the Tahoe and Sequoia pages.Any attack on macOS. The sentence names iOS only.
How did the file arrive?"Processing a maliciously crafted file".The file type, the app, the delivery channel.
How do I detect it?Nothing: no indicator, log line or detection method is printed on any page.Any way to check a device for past compromise.
Is 18.7.11 the same fix?Same description: "An out-of-bounds write issue was addressed with improved bounds checking".Whether the code change is the same, or whether the iOS 18 code needed a different one.
Who has no fix?Apple lists no fix for iOS 16, iOS 15, iPadOS 17, macOS Sonoma or Ventura.Whether those lines contain the flaw. The CVE record's ranges, read literally, include them.

Technical details

Apple, the CVE record and CISA print no indicators of compromise, no hashes, no file names, no network addresses and no detection rule for this flaw, and no proof of concept is reproduced here. What the primaries do print is the advisory entries, the record fields and the KEV entry, copied below exactly from the saved pages. Researcher credits on other Apple entries are not reproduced; the credit on these entries is a company team.

The first block is the iOS 18.7.11 entry as Apple printed it. A defender uses it to see which build carries the fix and to match the exact sentence in a ticket or asset record. The stray text in the Available for line is Apple's, not a transcription error.

Text
CoreGraphics
Available for: iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, iPad 7th generationAir 4th generation and later, iPad 9th generation and later, and iPad mini 6th generation and later
Impact: Processing a maliciously crafted file may lead to arbitrary code execution. Apple is aware of a report that this issue may have been exploited in an extremely sophisticated attack against specific targeted individuals on versions of iOS before iOS 27.
Description: An out-of-bounds write issue was addressed with improved bounds checking.
CVE-2026-86950: Meta Product Security
Apple, iOS 18.7.11 and iPadOS 18.7.11 security content, released 26 October 2026, entry as printed. Read 27 October 2026 from https://support.apple.com/en-us/149225.

The second block is the first fix, on iOS 26.7.1 and iPadOS 26.7.1, released on 28 September. The Available for line here is clean and starts at iPhone 11. A defender compares it with the block above to see which models are on which path.

Text
CoreGraphics
Available for: iPhone 11 and later, iPad Pro 12.9-inch 3rd generation and later, iPad Pro 11-inch 1st generation and later, iPad Air 3rd generation and later, iPad 8th generation and later, and iPad mini 5th generation and later
Impact: Processing a maliciously crafted file may lead to arbitrary code execution. Apple is aware of a report that this issue may have been exploited in an extremely sophisticated attack against specific targeted individuals on versions of iOS before iOS 27.
Description: An out-of-bounds write issue was addressed with improved bounds checking.
CVE-2026-86950: Meta Product Security
Apple, iOS 26.7.1 and iPadOS 26.7.1 security content, released 28 September 2026, entry as printed. Read 27 October 2026 from https://support.apple.com/en-us/149226.

The third block is selected fields of the CVE record. It shows the dates, the affected ranges and the content of the CISA ADP container. The score, weakness class and SSVC values belong to CISA's container (CISA ADP), not to Apple. A defender uses the ranges to build a version query.

Text
cveId: CVE-2026-86950
assigner: apple
dateReserved: 2026-09-08T16:43:41.881Z
datePublished: 2026-09-28T19:13:52.603Z
dateUpdated: 2026-10-26T20:35:08.412Z
affected, iOS and iPadOS: version 0, lessThan 18.7.11; version 0, lessThan 26.7.1
affected, macOS: version 0, lessThan 15.8.1; version 0, lessThan 26.7.1
references: https://support.apple.com/en-us/149225, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149226, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149228, https://support.apple.com/en-us/149229
ADP (CISA-ADP) problem type: CWE-787 Out-of-bounds Write
ADP CVSS 3.1: 8.8 HIGH CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
ADP SSVC: Exploitation active; Automatable no; Technical Impact total (timestamp 2026-09-30T03:55:58.823862Z)
ADP kev dateAdded: 2026-09-29
CVE Program record CVE-2026-86950, fields selected by this site from the JSON read on 27 October 2026 at https://cveawg.mitre.org/api/cve/CVE-2026-86950. Values as printed; the layout is this site's.

The fourth block is the CISA KEV entry. The required action text and due date set the clock for US federal civilian agencies; the notes field is where CISA lists the vendor pages it relies on, and it does not list the iOS 18.7.11 page.

Text
cveID: CVE-2026-86950
vendorProject: Apple
product: Multiple Products
vulnerabilityName: Apple Multiple Products Out-of-Bounds Write Vulnerability
dateAdded: 2026-09-29
shortDescription: Apple iOS, macOS, and iPadOS contain an out-of-bounds write vulnerability in CoreGraphics that may lead to arbitrary code execution.
requiredAction: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
dueDate: 2026-10-13
knownRansomwareCampaignUse: Unknown
forensicTriage: No
notes: https://support.apple.com/en-us/149226 ; https://support.apple.com/en-us/149228 ; https://support.apple.com/en-us/149229 ; BOD 26-04: https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/directives/bod-26-04-prioritizing-security-updates-based-risk ; Forensics Triage Requirements: https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/directives/bod-26-04-implementation-guidance-prioritizing-security-updates-based-risk ; https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-86950
cwes: CWE-787
CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogue, version 2026.10.26, entry as printed in the JSON. Read 27 October 2026 from https://www.cisa.gov/sites/default/files/feeds/known_exploited_vulnerabilities.json.

The fifth block is how to check a build and what to expect. The steps are Apple's own, from its update page (page); the expected builds are this site's reading of Apple's advisories and are marked derived. To find a model, Apple's identify your iPhone model page lists them by model number.

Text
Open Settings.
Tap General.
Tap Software Update. The currently installed version of iOS is shown, and whether an update is available.

Expected build for CVE-2026-86950 (derived):
iPhone XS, XS Max, XR, iPad 7th generation: iOS or iPadOS 18.7.11
iPhone 11 and later: iOS or iPadOS 26.7.1 or later on the 26 line (26.7.2 is current), or any 27 build
macOS Sequoia 15.8.1 or later (15.8.2 is current); macOS Tahoe 26.7.1 or later (26.7.2 is current)
iOS 16, iOS 15, iPadOS 17, macOS Sonoma, macOS Ventura: no fix listed
Apple, Update your iPhone or iPad (published 15 September 2026), steps as printed, read 27 October 2026 from https://support.apple.com/en-us/118575; the expected builds are derived by this site from https://support.apple.com/en-us/149225 and https://support.apple.com/en-us/149226.

What to do, in the order worth doing it

The order below follows the record: find who is on which path first, because the path differs by model, then close the gaps in order of exposure.

Take this with you

Actions, in order

  • List every iPhone, iPad and Mac by model and installed build. Use the device management report where there is one; otherwise Settings, General, Software Update shows the version.
  • Update every iPhone XS, XS Max, XR and iPad 7th generation to iOS or iPadOS 18.7.11 first. For these models it is the only build Apple lists with the fix, and it arrived 28 days after the first fix.
  • Update every iPhone 11 or later, and the iPads on the 26.7.1 list, to 26.7.1 or later on the 26 line, or to iOS 27.2. A device on iOS 18 that can take iOS 26 should move, because the 18.7.11 row names only four models.
  • Update Macs: Sequoia to 15.8.1 or later, Tahoe to 26.7.1 or later, and Golden Gate to 27.2. Apple's sentence names iOS only, which is a reason to put phones first, not a reason to skip Macs.
  • Flag every device on iOS 16, iOS 15, iPadOS 17, macOS Sonoma or Ventura as unpatched for this CVE. Apple lists no fix and does not say whether those lines are affected, so the cautious reading, which is this site's inference, is that they are exposed.
  • For those devices, replace them, or take them off any account, mail or messaging use that handles untrusted files, and record the decision with an owner and a date.
  • For people who may be personally targeted, update first, then consider Lockdown Mode. Apple says it is for people who might be personally targeted and that you should update to the latest software before turning it on. Apple does not say whether it blocks this flaw.
  • Turn on automatic updates (Settings, General, Software Update, Automatic Updates) so the next iOS 18 or 26 build arrives without a ticket.
  • Do not hunt for indicators. Apple, CVE.org and CISA print none. The only control you can verify is the installed build.
  • If you report to US federal rules, note that the KEV due date of 13 October passed before any build existed for the iPhone XS, XS Max and XR, and record how those assets were handled.

Method, interest and what could not be verified

Apple writes the advisories, so they are also the record of what Apple chose to say; its own pages state that it does not disclose, discuss or confirm security issues until patches or releases are available. SecurityWeek and BleepingComputer are secondary sources, read here as pointers. Every figure above is from Apple's pages, the CVE record or the KEV file, read by this site, or is derived and labelled.

The question that exposes the gap

On 28 September Apple said it knew of a report that this flaw may have been exploited, and shipped a fix for iPhone 11 and later. For the next 28 days, which of your iPhones could not take that fix, and what did anyone decide to do about them?

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimarySecurity content of iOS 18.7.11 and iPadOS 18.7.11, released 26 October 2026: the three CVEs, the CoreGraphics entry with the exploitation sentence, the device list with stray textAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  2. PrimarySecurity content of iOS 26.7.1 and iPadOS 26.7.1, released 28 September 2026: the first fix for CVE-2026-86950Appleaccessed 2026-10-27
  3. PrimaryApple security releases page: release dates and the device list for each build, used for who gets which fix and the last build per lineAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  4. PrimarySecurity content of iOS 27.2 and iPadOS 27.2: 163 distinct CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  5. PrimarySecurity content of macOS Golden Gate 27.2: 263 distinct CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  6. PrimarySecurity content of iOS 26.7.2 and iPadOS 26.7.2: 134 CVEs, no entry for CVE-2026-86950Appleaccessed 2026-10-27
  7. PrimarySecurity content of iOS 27 and iPadOS 27, released 14 September 2026: no entry for CVE-2026-86950Appleaccessed 2026-10-27
  8. PrimarySecurity content of macOS Tahoe 26.7.1, released 28 September 2026: the same CVE and sentenceAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  9. PrimarySecurity content of macOS Sequoia 15.8.1, released 28 September 2026: the same CVE and sentenceAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  10. PrimarySecurity content of macOS Tahoe 26.7.2: 213 CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  11. PrimarySecurity content of macOS Sequoia 15.8.2: 197 CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  12. PrimarySecurity content of tvOS 27.2: 72 CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  13. PrimarySecurity content of watchOS 27.2: 62 CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  14. PrimarySecurity content of visionOS 27.2: 125 CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  15. PrimarySecurity content of Safari 27.2: 33 CVEs counted by this siteAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  16. PrimaryUpdate your iPhone or iPad: the steps to check the installed version and turn on automatic updatesAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  17. PrimaryIdentify your iPhone model: how to match a device to its modelAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  18. PrimaryAbout Lockdown Mode: who it is for, and the advice to update before turning it onAppleaccessed 2026-10-27
  19. PrimaryCVE-2026-86950 record: dates, affected ranges, references and the CISA ADP container with CVSS, CWE and SSVCCVE Program (CVE.org record API)accessed 2026-10-27
  20. PrimaryKnown Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogue file, version 2026.10.26: the entry for CVE-2026-86950CISAaccessed 2026-10-27
  21. PrimaryBOD 26-04, Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk: scope and the meaning of remediationCISAaccessed 2026-10-27
  22. Reported bySecurityWeek, 27 October 2026: the 286 figure and the backport claim. Used as a pointer and checked against Apple's pagesSecurityWeekaccessed 2026-10-27
  23. Reported byBleepingComputer, 27 October 2026: the backport claim and the longer device list. Used as a pointerBleepingComputeraccessed 2026-10-27

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.