P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Lumen says Volt Typhoon ran four confirmed zero day campaigns through disposable relay chains and prints no indicators

Lumen's Black Lotus Labs says Volt Typhoon used rotating chains of compromised devices for three years, with four confirmed and one likely zero day campaign and hundreds of victims notified. The report prints no addresses, domains or hashes, and the attribution is the vendor's judgement.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 18 min read

Two minutes to build, 4.1 hours to use, and no indicators printed

Lumen's Black Lotus Labs says a Volt Typhoon "Silent Train" chain can be assembled in under two minutes, and its Figure 3 puts the median session at 4.1 hours. On those two figures, building a chain costs about 0.8 per cent of a median session (derived: 2 minutes over 246). The report, published on 28 October 2026, says the Labs has tracked Silent Train for three years, notified hundreds of victims, and that its monitoring helped uncover "at least four confirmed and one likely" zero day vulnerabilities. Counted by this site from the full text, it prints no IP address, no domain name and no file hash.

What that does not establish. The report does not say how many of the hundreds of notified organisations were breached rather than targeted, it names no victim, and it gives no count of chains, sessions or compromised devices. It states the attribution to Volt Typhoon as fact without a stated confidence level, except for one campaign. And a Black Lotus Labs researcher told CyberScoop that the observations "should not be interpreted as a complete census of Volt Typhoon activity". Read the numbers below as what one vendor's telemetry saw.

This briefing follows Lumen's own post, read in full from about 18:41 UTC on 28 October 2026, the day its page data gives as the publication date. BleepingComputer and CyberScoop were read for what they add, and the CVE records and CISA's catalogue were read directly. Cisco's advisory page redirected to a sign in and Arista's advisory page answered a client challenge, so neither was read and nothing here relies on them.

Lumen sells network security. Its page points readers to its Lumen Defender product and describes the Labs' mission as to "leverage our network visibility to help protect customers". A report that shows what the vendor's own telemetry can see is also a showcase for that telemetry. That is not a reason to doubt the observations. It is a reason to read the attribution and the scale as the vendor's account.

What Silent Train is, and what it is not

Lumen describes Silent Train as a framework built around "rapidly rotating chains of compromised SOHO, IoT and enterprise devices", exploited on demand, used against carefully selected targets, cleaned up after each operation and continuously refreshed. It says that distinguishes it from traditional botnets, proxy networks and operational relay box (ORB) networks. It is a way of building and discarding a path, not a standing network. The researcher who spoke to CyberScoop said chains are assembled and dismantled every day, so the number of nodes at any one moment is "effectively close to zero", and that this makes it "fundamentally difficult to disrupt because there isn't one network to take down".

Drawn from Lumen's Black Lotus Labs report of 28 October 2026 (text and Figures 2, 3 and 5), read the same day. The 0.8 per cent is derived by this site.

The positions in a Silent Train chain and what the report says about each, from the Black Lotus Labs report of 28 October 2026.

PositionNamed in the reportWhat the report says
StartVirtual private servers (VPS) outside the U.S.An initial VPS as temporary staging, then a secondary VPS that adds geographic and provider diversity. Separate providers and locations, never a shared environment.
Overseas relaysCompromised non U.S. SOHO and IoT devices. Intelbras modems; TP-Link, Ruckus, SATO, Zyxel and Cambium appear among early devices.Intelbras modems only ever appeared as overseas relays. Device types were reserved for fixed positions for the three years observed.
U.S. hopNetgear Orbi devices served as the U.S. hops that interacted with victims.A domestic exit point helps malicious traffic blend in and bypass geo blocking and IP reputation filters.
Optional last hopFortinet, Cisco, PRTG, Mirth Connect and CyberPanel. Figure 5 ends at a FortiGate.Added over time as optional end of chain layers or as the final U.S. relay. These stayed active one to three months and served several intrusions, which made the framework a hybrid by early 2025.
Reverse tunnelsOpen source proxies Chisel and FRP.Some operations mixed in reverse tunnels alongside the SSH chaining. Both models ran in parallel.
The source's own figure: Lumen Black Lotus Labs, Figure 5, Silent Train example chain, from the report of 28 October 2026, read the same day. Not our drawing.

The timing matters as much as the topology. Lumen says operators could assemble chains "in under two minutes", and that sessions "averaged about four hours, though some lasted only minutes". Each session typically involved one to five victims, often a single organisation. Activity ran Monday to Friday, mostly between 09:00 and 22:00 China Standard Time, which is 01:00 to 14:00 UTC (derived, from the UTC+8 label on Lumen's Figure 7), with multiweek reductions around Chinese New Year. Lumen reads that as people at work rather than automation, and as matching military rotational schedules. The second reading is inference.

The source's own figure: Lumen Black Lotus Labs, Figure 3, from the report of 28 October 2026. The figure gives a median of 4.1 hours. The text says sessions averaged about four hours. The alt text on Lumen's page describes most sessions as lasting 8 to 10 hours, which the figure itself does not show.

Lumen adds a point that cuts against the four confirmed zero days being the whole story: "Some relay device types lack known vulnerabilities, suggesting Volt Typhoon leveraged undisclosed zero-day exploits to set up a single relay". That is the vendor's inference about the relay side. It is not part of the count of four.

Five management platforms, four confirmed zero days, and what the public record says

Lumen's Figure 9 lists five campaigns against management and control plane platforms. Four it calls confirmed zero days and one, Quest KACE, a likely one. The table sets Lumen's windows beside what CVE.org and CISA's catalogue record for the same flaws. Lumen's caption says: "Time ranges indicate when vulnerabilities were assessed as zero-days, not the full exploitation duration by Volt Typhoon."

Lumen's Figure 9 windows beside the public records, read on 28 October 2026. Month counts are inclusive and derived. Scores are as assigned by the named record holder.

Platform and Lumen's windowCVE record (CVE.org)CISA catalogue (KEV)
Quest KACE. Likely zero day, moderate confidence. Nov 2023 to Oct 2025 (24 months). More than 30 victims; activity declined after Quest's October 2025 security updates.No CVE assigned (Figure 9). Lumen could not identify the flaw because of limited logs.None to match.
Versa Director. Confirmed. Jun to Aug 2024 (3 months). Lumen documented it publicly in mid 2024.CVE-2024-39717, published 22 Aug 2024, assigner HackerOne. Dangerous file type upload. CVSS 3.0 base score 6.6.Added 23 Aug 2024, due 13 Sep 2024 (21 days, derived).
N-able N-central. Confirmed. Aug 2024 to Jul 2025 (12 months). A chain of two flaws.CVE-2025-8875 (insecure deserialization) and CVE-2025-8876 (command injection), both published 14 Aug 2025 by N-able. Each CVSS 4.0 base score 9.4. Affected: before 2025.3.1.Both added 13 Aug 2025, due 20 Aug 2025 (7 days, derived).
Cisco Catalyst SD-WAN. Confirmed. Dec 2025 to Feb 2026 (3 months). Exploited before Cisco's February 2026 disclosure and, Lumen says, well after it.CVE-2026-20127, published 25 Feb 2026 by Cisco. Peering authentication bypass. CVSS 3.1 base score 10.0 (Cisco).Added 25 Feb 2026, due 27 Feb 2026 (2 days, derived).
VeloCloud Orchestrator. Confirmed. Jun to Jul 2026 (2 months). The third SD-WAN platform after Versa and Cisco.CVE-2026-16812, published 27 Jul 2026 by Arista. OS command injection in on premises VeloCloud Orchestrator. CVSS 3.1 base score 10.0. The record says it "is known to be actively exploited".Added 27 Jul 2026, due 30 Jul 2026 (3 days, derived).
The source's own figure: Lumen Black Lotus Labs, Figure 9, from the report of 28 October 2026, read the same day. Blue is a confirmed zero day, orange a likely one.
Our drawing from Lumen's Figure 9 month labels and the CVE.org publication dates, read 28 October 2026. Month counts are derived. The CISA dates are from its catalogue feed dated 27 October 2026.

Three readings, each derived from the table. First, the longest confirmed window, N-central at 12 months, is four times the Versa window of 3 months. Second, the four confirmed windows add to 20 campaign months (3 + 12 + 3 + 2, overlapping in August 2024), and each window ends at or near the CVE's publication, so a patch applied on the day of the vendor's notice came after all of those months. Third, disclosure did not end the exposure: CISA gave due dates of 2 to 21 days, and Lumen says Cisco exploitation continued well after February 2026. The report does not say how Lumen confirmed each zero day, only that notifications led to incident response investigations that uncovered them. Of the other devices it names, it says its telemetry "could not always determine whether access involved known or undisclosed vulnerabilities". This site covered the VeloCloud flaw and a later one in an earlier briefing.

Stated and not stated: the record, line by line

"Not stated" means not found in Lumen's post, read in full, or in the two news reports. It does not mean Lumen does not know.

What Lumen's report of 28 October 2026 states and does not state. News reports are named where they are the only source.

The questionStatedNot stated
Who is behind it?Volt Typhoon, described as a state sponsored actor from the People's Republic of China, stated as fact. Lumen cites device roles, weekday working hours in China Standard Time, victim choice and continuity with the KV botnet.A confidence level for the attribution as a whole. How each chain or zero day is tied to this group. Any government attribution of Silent Train.
How many victims?Hundreds notified over three years. More than 30 for the likely KACE campaign. Sectors and the three most targeted states: California, Texas and Hawaii.Names. A count per sector (Figure 10 has bars with no scale). How many were breached. Whether any victim is outside the U.S.
How big is it?More than 27 device classes. Chains of four to six hops. Sessions of one to five victims.Sessions, chains or devices compromised, in total or per year. The researcher says size cannot be measured.
What was done to victims?Credential theft, in memory web shells, abuse of native features such as endpoint control and remote file transfers, and erased or altered logs in several cases. On KACE the actor stayed on the server and took credentials.What was taken. Which downstream customers were reached. Any disruption or destructive act.
Were they zero days?At least four confirmed and one likely. Windows by month. A moderate confidence assessment for KACE.How each was confirmed. The exploit steps. Whether other relay or edge access used unknown flaws, beyond a suggestion about relays.
Was it disrupted?The Labs "quietly disrupted" a covert operational framework since 2023.What was done, when, how much, or whether Volt Typhoon's capability was reduced.
What can I search for?Hunting advice by behaviour. Open source tools Chisel and FRP. Ports in the example figures.Any IP address, domain, hash, detection rule or list of compromised nodes.
Why Hawaii, California and Texas?Targeting is consistent with pre positioning access for a crisis in the Indo Pacific region. That is Lumen's reading.The reason. The report itself says it is unclear.

Attribution deserves a separate line. In the report, only the KACE campaign carries a stated confidence, "moderate-confidence assessment that Volt Typhoon exploited a zero-day vulnerability". Lumen's 2024 post on the Versa flaw attributed that exploitation "with moderate confidence to the Chinese state-sponsored threat actors known as Volt Typhoon and Bronze Silhouette". The 2026 report states no such hedge for Versa and says Volt Typhoon throughout. The working hours are circumstantial: a weekday day shift in UTC+8 shows where operators work or where they want to look as if they work, and the report does not say which. The joint advisory AA26-113A, released on 23 April 2026 by the UK's National Cyber Security Centre with 15 named partner bodies (derived count), names Volt Typhoon among the Chinese state sponsored actors that use covert networks of compromised devices. As read, it does not mention Silent Train. It also warns of what it calls "indicator of compromise (IOC) Extinction": a threat group can now come from one of many covert networks, so static lists of malicious addresses work less well.

Labels that stand in for a control

Five labels in this story sound like a control or a boundary. None is one.

Labels in the story, what each suggests, and what the record shows.

The labelWhat it suggestsWhat the record shows
"Silent Train network" (BleepingComputer: a "relay network")A network that can be mapped, listed and blocked.Lumen: a framework, not a standalone network. The number of nodes at any moment is close to zero, and the Labs' researcher says there is no one network to take down.
Geo blocking and IP reputation filteringAdmin interfaces are safe if only the right countries and clean addresses reach them.Lumen says the U.S. based exit hop was chosen to blend in and pass exactly those filters. The advisory AA26-113A says static lists are less effective against covert networks.
"Patched"A fixed version means the exposure has ended.For each of the four confirmed flaws the window in Figure 9 ends at or near the CVE's publication (derived from Figure 9 and CVE.org), so a patch on the day of the vendor notice was too late for the months before it. For Cisco, Lumen says exploitation continued well after February 2026.
"Trusted" peering and the management planeTraffic between management components is already authenticated.The Cisco CVE record describes peering authentication that is "not working properly". Lumen says the group targeted trusted peering mechanisms, and that one platform gives reach into downstream customers without lateral movement.
"Ephemeral"The attacker leaves nothing to find.Lumen saw the chains through backbone telemetry. Enterprise last hops lasted one to three months. On the victim side, in several cases logs were erased or altered, which is the reason to keep them elsewhere.

Method is separate from accusation. A vendor describing what its telemetry saw is a legitimate method, and the report is specific about the architecture, the timing and the products. The accusation, that this was Volt Typhoon and was aimed at strategic access, rests on circumstantial patterns and the vendor's judgement, and the report says the reason for the geographic focus is unclear. Lumen also has a commercial reason to be believed, as set out at the start.

Technical details

The Lumen report prints no indicators of compromise, no detection rule and no command. The artifacts below are what the primary sources do print: the port labels on two of Lumen's example chains, the tools and techniques it names, the hunting advice as written, the affected and fixed versions from the CVE records, the CISA catalogue entries, and the detection steps in Lumen's 2024 post on the Versa flaw. Each block is attributed to its source and the day it was read. Nothing here is an exploit or a working indicator list, and no address is given.

The first two blocks are this site's transcription of the labels drawn on Lumen's Figures 5 and 6. They are examples of single sessions, not a fixed profile. Several ports in the examples are high numbers, such as 8236, 8103 and 14737, and the two figures do not share them, so a rule keyed to one port is a weak control (this site's inference). A defender can use them to ask which management and edge devices answer SSH or HTTPS on unexpected ports, and from where. The asterisks on two device labels in Figure 5 are not explained in the text read. The alt text on Lumen's page places two of the Figure 5 labels on a different hop from the drawn figure; the blocks follow the drawn figure.

Text
Volt Typhoon > UCloud
UCloud > Alibaba Cloud : SSH/22, SSH/8236
Alibaba Cloud > TP-LINK WR* : HTTPS/443, SSH/2222
TP-LINK WR* > Alibaba Cloud : HTTP/8281 (return arrow)
TP-LINK WR* > Netgear Orbi* : HTTPS/8443, SSH/2222
Netgear Orbi* > Fortigate : HTTPS/10443
Fortigate > Victim
Bracket Non-U.S. : Volt Typhoon to TP-LINK WR*
Bracket U.S. : Netgear Orbi* to Victim
Lumen Black Lotus Labs, Figure 5, Silent Train Example Chain, as drawn, transcribed by this site from the image in the report of 28 October 2026 (read the same day).
Text
Volt Typhoon > UCloud
UCloud > Huawei Cloud : SSH/22, SSH/8103
Ruckus vSZ > Huawei Cloud : Chisel, TCP/8999 (arrow points back toward the cloud server)
Ruckus vSZ > Cambium cnPilot : HTTPS/8443, SSH/14737
Cambium cnPilot > Victim
Bracket Non-U.S. : Volt Typhoon to Ruckus vSZ
Bracket U.S. : Cambium cnPilot to Victim
Lumen Black Lotus Labs, Figure 6, Silent Train Example Reverse Chain, as drawn, transcribed by this site from the image in the report of 28 October 2026 (read the same day).

The report describes what the operators left on a relay for the length of a session, and what they took away. This is the sentence as printed, followed by the line on reverse tunnels.

Text
its operators exploit exposed web interfaces on SOHO, IoT and other relay devices, then deploy only the tooling needed to enable chained SSH access through the compromised node. This included temporary SSH services, keys, configuration files and "live off the land" utilities. At the end of each session, operators removed all artifacts and dismantled the chain.

some operations mixed in reverse tunnels via open-source proxies like Chisel and FRP, sending traffic from compromised devices to upstream infrastructure.
Lumen Black Lotus Labs report, 28 October 2026, section on operational discipline and section on hybrid operations, copied as printed.

What Lumen says it found on the management platforms after exploitation, and its hunting advice. A defender can turn each line into a search of the platform's own audit log, API log and file transfer history.

Text
Post-incident analysis with partners uncovered in-memory webshells, credential harvesting and abuse of native features such as endpoint control and remote file transfers. In several cases, the actors also erased or altered logs and other evidence of exploitation and operator activity.

Monitor and investigate unusual administrative logins, network or endpoint administration activity, abnormal API usage, remote file transfers and configuration changes.
Hunt for suspicious "live off the land" activity that falls outside normal administrative timeframes or workflow patterns.
Centralize logging, extend retention and export security telemetry wherever possible.
Lumen Black Lotus Labs report, 28 October 2026, post incident analysis paragraph and the Hunt for abuse of trusted platforms recommendations, copied as printed.

The version strings below are from the CVE records as published by the CNA named in each, read on 28 October 2026. Cisco's and Arista's own advisory pages could not be read, so no fixed Cisco version is given here. The VeloCloud record's solution text names three release trains while its affected list has a fourth, 7.0.0 before 7.0.0.1; the record does not settle what that means for the 7.0 train.

Text
CVE-2025-8875  N-able N-central. Assigner N-able. Published 2025-08-14.
  Deserialization of Untrusted Data vulnerability in N-able N-central allows Local Execution of Code.
  This issue affects N-central: before 2025.3.1.
CVE-2025-8876  N-able N-central. Assigner N-able. Published 2025-08-14.
  Improper Input Validation vulnerability in N-able N-central allows OS Command Injection.
  This issue affects N-central: before 2025.3.1.
CVE-2026-16812  Arista Networks, VeloCloud Orchestrator On-Prem. Assigner Arista. Published 2026-07-27. CWE-78.
  Affected: 5.2.0 before 5.2.3.14; 6.1.0 before 6.1.3.4; 6.4.0 before 6.4.2.4; 7.0.0 before 7.0.0.1
  Fixed in the following releases: VCO 5.2.3.14 and later in the 5.2 train; VCO 6.1.3.4 and later in the 6.1 train; VCO 6.4.2.4 and later in the 6.4 train
  Workaround bullets (three of four):
    Restrict access to the VCO web interface to trusted administrative networks.
    Monitor for unexpected outbound network activity from the VCO host.
    Review recent administrator activity for unexpected changes.
CVE-2026-20127  Cisco. Assigner cisco. Published 2026-02-25. CVSS 3.1 base score 10.0.
  A vulnerability in the peering authentication in Cisco Catalyst SD-WAN Controller, formerly SD-WAN vSmart, Cisco Catalyst SD-WAN Manager, formerly SD-WAN vManage, and Cisco Catalyst SD-WAN Validator, formerly SD-WAN vBond, could allow an unauthenticated, remote attacker to bypass authentication and obtain administrative privileges on an affected system.
CVE-2024-39717  Versa Director. Assigner hackerone. Published 2024-08-22. CVSS 3.0 base score 6.6.
  The "Change Favicon" (Favorite Icon) option can be mis-used to upload a malicious file ending with .png extension to masquerade as image file.
CVE.org records via the CVE services API (cveawg.mitre.org), read 28 October 2026 at about 18:42 UTC. Version fields copied; descriptions shortened to the first sentence.

CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities feed, version dated 27 October 2026, holds an entry for each of the five CVE ids. The dates are CISA's.

Text
CVE-2026-16812 | Arista VeloCloud Orchestrator | dateAdded 2026-07-27 | dueDate 2026-07-30
CVE-2026-20127 | Cisco Catalyst SD-WAN Controller and Manager | dateAdded 2026-02-25 | dueDate 2026-02-27
CVE-2025-8876 | N-able N-Central | dateAdded 2025-08-13 | dueDate 2025-08-20
CVE-2025-8875 | N-able N-Central | dateAdded 2025-08-13 | dueDate 2025-08-20
CVE-2024-39717 | Versa Director | dateAdded 2024-08-23 | dueDate 2024-09-13
CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities JSON feed, dateReleased 2026-10-27T19:00:02Z, read 28 October 2026. Five entries, fields cveID, product, dateAdded and dueDate.

Lumen published detection steps for the Versa flaw in August 2024. They are the only concrete detections in the sources read, and they are for one product. The first is a network pattern, the others are file and port checks.

Text
We assess the short timeframe of TCP traffic to port 4566 immediately followed by moderate-to-large sessions of HTTPS traffic over port 443 from a non-Versa node IP address (e.g. SOHO device) as a likely signature of successful exploitation.
Blocking external/northbound access to ports 4566 and 4570, ensuring these ports are only open between the active and standby Versa Director nodes for HA-pairing traffic.
Searching the Versa webroot directory (recursively) for files ending with a ".png" extension that are not valid PNG files.
Expedited patching of Versa Director systems to version 22.1.4 (or later), or apply a hotfix as described in Versa's security advisory sent to customers on August 8, 2024.
Lumen Black Lotus Labs, post on the Versa Director zero day exploitation (August 2024), recommendations and telemetry sections, copied as printed, read 28 October 2026.

From the joint advisory AA26-113A (23 April 2026), the baselining advice for any organisation that is a target of covert networks, copied as printed.

Text
Map and understand network edge devices, developing a clear understanding of organizational assets and what should be connecting to them.
Baseline normal connections, especially to corporate virtual private networks (VPNs) or other similar services.
Would you expect connections from consumer broadband ranges?
Implement multifactor authentication for remote connections.
Joint advisory AA26-113A, Defending Against China-Nexus Covert Networks of Compromised Devices, CISA page, All organizations list, read 28 October 2026.

Not printed in any source read: file hashes, domains, IP addresses, YARA, Sigma or Suricata rules, the KACE vulnerability details, and any list of the devices Lumen says were compromised.

What to do, in the order worth doing it

Every step is advice Lumen or the joint advisory already gives, or follows directly from the CVE records. None needs an indicator list, which is the point: the report gives none.

Drawn from Lumen's report of 28 October 2026 and AA26-113A, read the same day. The ordering of the five checks is this site's.

Take this with you

Ranked checklist for owners of management and control plane platforms

  • List every management and control plane system you run: SD-WAN orchestrators and controllers, endpoint and remote management suites, out of band platforms. Find each one whose administrative interface is reachable from the internet.
  • Take those interfaces off the internet. Lumen's advice is to restrict direct access through VPNs, access control policies, jump hosts or a dedicated management network, and the joint advisory adds multifactor authentication for remote connections.
  • Check each platform against the records: N-central is affected before 2025.3.1, VeloCloud Orchestrator needs 5.2.3.14, 6.1.3.4 or 6.4.2.4 or later in its train, and Versa Director needs 22.1.4 or later per Lumen's 2024 post. For Cisco SD-WAN, use Cisco's advisory, which this briefing could not read. For KACE, apply Quest's October 2025 and later updates; the report names no version.
  • Look backwards, not only forwards. If you ran any of the five platforms in the windows in Figure 9, treat the platform as possibly entered before the patch existed, and search its audit and API logs for the window if retention reaches that far.
  • Send the platform's logs to a store its administrators cannot edit, and extend retention. Lumen says logs were erased or altered in several cases, and the windows above run to 24 months.
  • Hunt on behaviour: unusual administrative logins, abnormal API use, remote file transfers, configuration changes and living off the land activity outside normal hours. Baseline whether you would expect a login from a consumer broadband range. As a lens only, Lumen's sessions started mostly between 01:00 and 14:00 UTC on weekdays (derived).
  • Stop treating geo blocking and address reputation as the control for administrative access. Use allow lists for the interfaces that must stay reachable.
  • Map what each platform can reach downstream, including customers and partners if you are a telecom or managed service provider. A platform is a gateway to everything it manages, and Lumen reports no lateral movement was needed.
  • If Lumen or a government body has notified you, treat it as real. If not, do not read that as clearance: the researcher says the report is not a complete census.

For the wider pattern of covert networks and the Chinese companies the advisory says build them, see this site's earlier briefing on the Integrity Tech seizure affidavit, which concerns the company the advisory names as having controlled and managed the Raptor Train network.

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimarySilent Train: uncovering Volt Typhoon's operational framework for zero-day exploitation and strategic access, page dated 28 October 2026. The primary. Read in full: the framework, the chains, Figures 1 to 11, the zero day campaigns, the victimology and the defender recommendationsLumen Technologies, Black Lotus Labsaccessed 2026-10-28
  2. PrimaryTaking the crossroads: the Versa Director zero day exploitation (August 2024): CVE-2024-39717, moderate confidence attribution, detection and mitigation steps. Read in fullLumen Technologies, Black Lotus Labsaccessed 2026-10-28
  3. PrimaryJoint advisory AA26-113A, Defending Against China-Nexus Covert Networks of Compromised Devices, 23 April 2026: IOC extinction, protective advice. Read in fullCISA with NCSC-UK and international partnersaccessed 2026-10-28
  4. PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2025-8875: description, version range before 2025.3.1, CVSS 4.0 base scoreCVE Program (N-able CNA record)accessed 2026-10-28
  5. PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2025-8876: description, version range before 2025.3.1, CVSS 4.0 base scoreCVE Program (N-able CNA record)accessed 2026-10-28
  6. PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-20127: peering authentication bypass, publication date, CVSS 3.1 base score 10.0CVE Program (Cisco CNA record)accessed 2026-10-28
  7. PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-16812: OS command injection, affected and fixed releases, workaround text, actively exploited statementCVE Program (Arista CNA record)accessed 2026-10-28
  8. PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2024-39717: Versa Director dangerous file type upload, publication date, CVSS 3.0 base scoreCVE Program (HackerOne CNA record)accessed 2026-10-28
  9. PrimaryKnown Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogue feed, dateReleased 27 October 2026: the five entries and their added and due datesCISAaccessed 2026-10-28
  10. Reported byCyberScoop, 28 October 2026: quotes from a Black Lotus Labs researcher on build time, node count and the report not being a census, and the claim of hundreds of sensitive systems. SecondaryCyberScoopaccessed 2026-10-28
  11. Reported byBleepingComputer, 28 October 2026: summary of the report, the CVE list, and the relay roles. Secondary; the CVE id for Versa matches Lumen's Figure 9BleepingComputeraccessed 2026-10-28

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.