P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

SpaceXSI says 130+ firms joined partner early access; 18 of 45 launch quotes name Cursor, which the post never explains

SpaceXSI says more than 130 companies joined early access to its partner network and prints 45 launch quotes; 18 of them name Cursor, a word the post's own text never uses. Read on 26 October 2026 from 09:45 GMT, this briefing sets out what the primaries establish and what they leave open.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 24 min read

18 of the 45 launch quotes name Cursor, and the post never says how Cursor relates to SpaceXSI

SpaceXSI, the name used across x.ai, published "Introducing the SpaceX Super Intelligence Partner Network" on 22 October 2026. It prints 45 launch partner quotes. Counting them (derived, from the saved page text, see calc.py) gives this: 18 of the 45 quotes, or 40.0 per cent, name Cursor, 29 name SpaceXSI, and 6 name Grok Build. The post's own sentences outside the quotes mention Cursor zero times. That is the checkable fact. It was read on Monday 26 October 2026 from 09:45 GMT and checked again at 10:00 GMT, when the post and the program pages read the same.

What the count does not establish: it does not say what Cursor is to SpaceXSI, and the post does not say either. Other primary pages do, and the next section sets them out, starting with Cursor's own blog post of 14 August 2026 that says Cursor has been acquired by SpaceX. The count also does not show that 18 partners built on Cursor rather than on Grok Build, because the quotes and the program pages use the product names loosely, as the table in that section shows.

The post's two headline numbers are floors. It says "more than 130" companies took part in early access and that Forward Deployed Engineer accreditation has trained engineers at "more than 30" organisations. Thirty over 130 is 23.1 per cent (derived), but because both figures are printed as lower bounds the ratio is not a rate. Forty five quotes against more than 130 means at most 34.6 per cent of early access firms are quoted (derived), so at least 85 are not. The post names none of them, names no customer, gives no outcome figure and prints no price.

The post is marketing, and this briefing treats it as such. SpaceXSI sells Grok and gains from a larger network of integrators and plugin publishers, and several of the quoted partners resell, integrate or build services around its products, so each quote is a partner's own statement of interest and not a finding. Nothing here says a partner's product fails. The question is what a security team can rely on before it approves the platform together with a partner's plugins or engineers, and where the record is silent.

What Cursor is to SpaceXSI, from the primary pages

The post does not state the relationship, so the table below reads the primary pages directly. Each wording is quoted from the page and each date is the page's own.

Cursor and SpaceXSI as the primary pages state it, read 26 October 2026. The partner post is silent; its own sentences never name Cursor.

Date and sourceWhat the page saysWhat it settles
2 Feb 2026, x.ai news post "xAI joins SpaceX""SpaceX announced today that it has acquired xAI."xAI belongs to SpaceX. x.ai text says SpaceXSI while its footer reads SpaceXAI LLC.
14 Aug 2026, Cursor blog "Cursor is now a part of SpaceX""Cursor has officially been acquired by SpaceX." It says this completes a process that began in April with a model training partnership with SpaceXAI.The acquisition closed on that date, in Cursor's own words. No price or terms are on the page.
22 Sep 2026, x.ai post on Grok Bot customer support"When Cursor became part of SpaceXSI on August 14"SpaceXSI confirms the date and keeps the name Cursor for the acquired company.
26 Aug 2026, x.ai post on Grok Bot plansGrok Bot is "now included with all SuperGrok, Cursor Pro, and Cursor Teams plans".The two products' plans are bundled.
26 Oct 2026, cursor.com pagesCursor is still sold as Cursor, lists SpaceXAI beside OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models, and its footer reads Anysphere, Inc.Cursor has not been renamed on its own site.
5 Oct 2026, updated 21 Oct, Endor Labs blogCalls the product "Grok Build (formerly Cursor)".A vendor's description only. x.ai introduced Grok Build on 25 May 2026 as a new terminal coding agent, and cursor.com still trades as Cursor.
22 Oct 2026, the partner postNames Cursor only inside partner quotes.Settles nothing about ownership, scope or which product a partner's work targets.

So, as of 26 October 2026, two primary pages state the same fact: SpaceX bought Cursor, with the acquisition completed on 14 August 2026 (69 days before the post, derived). They do not say who runs the Partner Network. One partner, SCX.ai, writes on its own blog that Cursor accepted it into a "Cursor Partner Network" early access program, which suggests the two names refer to one effort, but that is a partner's phrase and not a SpaceXSI or Cursor statement. The pages also do not say which terms govern a partner's work on Cursor, Grok Build or Grok Bot, or whether the three share one security program.

That is the friendly name problem in this story. A control described as living in SpaceXSI has to be pinned to a product and a version before anyone can review it. Grok Build is, per x.ai's posts of 25 May and 15 July, an open source coding agent that runs in the terminal. Cursor is an editor, command line tool and cloud agent product from Anysphere, Inc. Grok Bot is a cloud agent product. The same partner is quoted with different product names on two SpaceXSI pages, as the next table shows. An earlier briefing on Grok Voice 3.0 recorded the same split between the SpaceXSI brand and the SpaceXAI LLC footer.

Six partners quoted with a different product name on the announcement and on the program page (derived by comparing x.ai/news/partnernetworkannouncement with x.ai/partners/transformation and x.ai/partners/marketplace, read 26 October 2026).

PartnerAnnouncement, 22 OctProgram page
Booz Allen"With Cursor as a key partner in our AI ecosystem""With SpaceXSI as a key partner in our AI ecosystem"
Clear Measure"SpaceXSI, with Grok and Cursor""SpaceXSI, with Grok"
Tenex"what we're building with Cursor""what we're building with SpaceXSI"
Webflow"without leaving Cursor""without leaving SpaceXSI"
Mixpanel"MCP server inside Cursor""MCP server inside SpaceXSI"
Sinch"into the Cursor development process""into the SpaceXSI development process"

What the numbers support, and what they do not

Counts from the 45 launch partner quotes on x.ai/news/partnernetworkannouncement, read 26 October 2026. Whole word matches on the saved page text; every figure is derived and reproducible with calc.py.

MeasureResultNote
Launch partner quotes45Counted one by one
Quotes naming Cursor18 (40.0 per cent)26 mentions in all
Quotes naming SpaceXSI29SpaceX Super Intelligence appears in 2 more
Quotes naming Grok Build or Grok Bot6 and 4Grok Build is the open source terminal agent
Quotes naming Cursor and none of SpaceXSI, SpaceX Super Intelligence or Grok10Bird, Booz Allen, Mixpanel, NTT DATA, Omni, Revyl, SCX.ai, Sentry, Tenex, Token Security
Early access firms with no quote on the postat least 85More than 130 minus 45; a floor
Organisations with trained engineers against early access firms23.1 per cent30 over 130; both are floors, so not a rate

Two of the numbers deserve a second look. The post does not say how many engineers were trained, what the accreditation tests, or who audits it, so "more than 30 organizations" counts firms and not people. And the 130 is not a list. The public partner directory on partnerportal.x.ai shows 58 entries, every one labelled Transformation, and its header calls them "validated SpaceXSI partners" without defining the word. That is 44.6 per cent of 130 at most (derived), and the directory shows no Marketplace partner at all.

The post says there are two kinds of partner but does not label any of the 45. This table sorts them only where an x.ai page or the partner's own words say which kind it is (derived, read 26 October 2026).

KindQuoted partnersHow known
Transformation12: AHEAD, Alpha FMC, Booz Allen, Clear Measure, Exadel, Fabric, Galatiq, Metrocom, Ness Digital, Orion Innovation, Synechron, TenexQuoted on x.ai/partners/transformation (7) or listed in the public directory (10); 5 of the 12 are in both
Marketplace9: Atlan, CodeRabbit, Mixpanel, MongoDB, Opsera, SCX.ai, Sinch, Twilio, WebflowQuoted on x.ai/partners/marketplace (8); Twilio calls itself a "Marketplace Launch Partner"
Not stated24, including Databricks, NVIDIA, Snowflake, Endor Labs, Semgrep, Sonar and ZscalerNo page read says which program they are in

The program pages also quote three partners that the post does not: ZS Associates, Robosoft Technologies and Chainguard. At least 48 distinct partners have therefore been quoted in public across the three pages (derived). The program pages describe tiers called Select, Premier and Elite for both programs with qualitative definitions only (for example "larger trained teams", with no numbers), print no fees, and list "validation as an authorized partner" as a benefit. No program terms were on any public page read; the partner portal has a sign in that this briefing did not use.

Governance and security claims: which ones name a control

Twenty one of the 45 quotes make a claim about governance, audit, guardrails, security or accountability (derived: 12 chosen up front because their quotes make an explicit control claim, plus 9 more found by keyword search and read one by one). This site sorted them by one rule. A claim names a control (class M) when it says what does the checking and where it acts. It names a product and a benefit (class V) when it mentions a tool and a visibility or review gain but not what it can block. It is adjectives only (class A) when the words are secure, governed, guardrails or audit trail with no control named. The sorting is a judgement, printed here so a reader can disagree with a row.

The 12 explicit control claims, sorted by this site's rule from the quotes on the 22 October post (derived judgement, read 26 October 2026).

PartnerWhat the quote namesClass
Endor LabsAn extensible agent harness and hooks in Grok BuildM
SemgrepMCP and hooks so security checks happen automaticallyM
SonarThe SonarQube plugin for Cursor and Sonar Vortex, verifying code as it is createdM
TranscendA check on whether an action is allowed before it runs, and an audit trailM
ZscalerEndpoint identification of AI usage, runtime monitoring and policy enforcement on CursorM
OmniA semantic model that every agent query passes through before it runsM
AtScaleA semantic layer from which agents query certified metricsM
AtlanCertified business context agents start from; nothing that blocks an actionV
Token SecurityIdentity and risk context to see how agents operate; no enforcement namedV
CodeRabbitIndependent review in the workflow, with people in control of what shipsV
CoderCode and data staying inside customers' own walls; no control namedA
SnowflakeEvery action adhering to guardrails and strict audit trails; no control namedA

The other nine, Databricks, AHEAD, Booz Allen, EPAM, NTT DATA, Opsera, Sinch, Synechron and Webflow, use governance, secure, trusted or accountable as adjectives or outcomes (class A). The tally is 7 quotes that name a control, 3 that name a product and a benefit, and 11 that are adjectives only, out of 21. One in three, 33.3 per cent (derived), names a mechanism. A label such as "governed" or "guardrails" is not a control until a page says what is blocked, where, and what happens when the check itself fails.

Four integration claims checked against the vendors' own pages

These are the vendors' own statements, read on 26 October 2026, and each vendor sells the product it describes. They show whether the integration exists as described and when it was published. They are not independent tests.

Partner claim on the post against the partner's own page. Dates are the pages' own; day counts are derived.

Claim on the postWhat the vendor's own page saysNot established
Endor Labs: an extensible agent harness and hooks bring security into the loop within Grok BuildBlog dated 5 Oct 2026, updated 21 Oct: hooks "record every MCP tool call, shell command, and file operation" and block confirmed malicious packages at install time. It dates a hooks integration to December 2025, at least 145 days before x.ai introduced Grok Build on 25 May 2026, and calls Grok Build "formerly Cursor".How the hooks behave when they time out (x.ai's docs say a call then proceeds). Which product the December 2025 work targeted.
Semgrep: with MCP and hooks, checks happen automaticallyBlog dated 5 Oct 2026, 17 days before the post: the integration uses a hook that triggers a scan and returns findings to the agent, and it tells readers to download Semgrep Guardian from the Grok Build marketplace.The xai org plugin catalog file read on 26 Oct lists 36 plugins and none named semgrep, endor, sonar or zscaler, so the listing may sit in another catalog.
Sonar: SonarQube plugin for Cursor and Sonar Vortex, zero trust verificationBlog dated 24 Jun 2026, 120 days before the post and before the 14 Aug acquisition: a plugin for Cursor installed from Cursor's marketplace, with hooks that block prompts containing recognised secrets. Sonar's docs say Vortex needs a paid subscription. Neither page mentions SpaceX or Grok.Any Grok Build version of the integration. What the zero trust wording means beyond the hooks described.
Zscaler: runtime monitoring and policy enforcement on Cursor across developer endpointsPartner blog dated 18 Oct 2026, 4 days before the post: Zscaler can identify Cursor deployments on managed devices, track tools, extensions and integrations, and apply endpoint policies. The page names no SpaceXSI or Grok product.Which policies, what is blocked, and any independent test. Whether it covers Grok Build at all.

Two things follow. First, the integrations are real as described, but two of the four (Sonar and Zscaler) describe Cursor and never mention SpaceXSI, and Sonar's predates the acquisition by 51 days and the post by 120 days (derived). A quote on a partner program page is not evidence that the integration was built for, or tested with, the program. Second, Endor Labs' wording that its hooks "enforce your policies before each action runs" and are "deterministic" describes the verdict logic. What the platform does when a hook fails is set by the platform, and x.ai's own page says it lets the call through, as the Technical details section prints.

SCX.ai and the CLOUD Act: what the statute covers

SCX.ai's quote says enterprise and government teams can run the coding platform with code, prompts and context that never leave Australian shores, with "no Cloud Act exposure". SCX.ai's own blog says the plugin points Cursor at its Australian endpoint and that every completion, agent step and tool call "resolves on SambaNova ASIC infrastructure in Sydney", with no input or output logging. SCX.ai sells that service. Note that the same chief executive's quote on x.ai's Marketplace page does not contain the Cloud Act phrase: it appears in one of the two SCX.ai quotes on x.ai pages (derived).

The statute is 18 U.S.C. section 2713, added on 23 March 2018 by Public Law 115 141, division V, the enactment commonly called the CLOUD Act. As printed by Cornell's Legal Information Institute and read on 26 October 2026, it requires a provider of electronic communication service or remote computing service to preserve, back up or disclose communications and records within its "possession, custody, or control", "regardless of whether" they are located inside or outside the United States. The test in the text is the provider's possession, custody or control, not where a data centre stands. The text does not name Australia or any hosting model, and it does not say which providers fall under United States jurisdiction. That is a question for counsel and this note is not legal advice.

What the record does not establish is the scope of the claim. The quote and the blog describe the inference leg. The editor, as SCX.ai writes, is still Cursor, a product now owned by SpaceX, and the pages read say nothing about what Cursor itself stores or processes when a model endpoint is replaced. A buyer who relies on the phrase needs the full data flow and a lawyer's reading, not the quote.

Marketplace plugins: four descriptions of review, none in the post

Marketplace Partners are the plugin publishers, so how a plugin is reviewed is the supply chain question for agent tools. The post is silent. The pages read give four different descriptions, and the pages do not say which catalog a Marketplace Partner's plugin lands in. The plugin submission form on x.ai offers three places to be listed: Grok (marked coming soon), Grok Bot and Cursor.

What each primary says about reviewing plugins, read 26 October 2026.

SourceWhat it saysWhat it leaves open
Partner post, 22 OctMarketplace Partners "build the plugins and product integrations". Nothing on review.Standard, reviewer, update handling
x.ai/partners/marketplace"A curated catalog, with each listing reviewed by SpaceXSI to maximize traction and adoption by enterprise customers."The stated purpose of the review is traction and adoption; security is not mentioned
xai org plugin marketplace on GitHubREADME: xAI does not author, control, endorse or verify third party plugins and makes no guarantee of their security. CONTRIBUTING: submissions are statically reviewed for supply chain and execution risk, remote sources must pin a full commit SHA, and a code owner must review.A static review is not a guarantee; the README disclaims one. 36 entries read, 32 remote and all 32 pinned
Cursor Marketplace security page and Publisher TermsEvery plugin is manually reviewed before listing for security, data handling and quality, and each update is reviewed. The Publisher Terms say approval "does not constitute endorsement of the Plugin or certification of its security or functionality".Applies to the Cursor Marketplace; listing is free to publishers under the terms

The friendly words here are curated, reviewed, validated and authorized. Each is a label until a page says what was checked, by whom, and what the reviewer will not promise. Two of the four sources say plainly that review is not certification, which is the more useful sentence for a security team.

Stated and not stated

What the post and the program pages state against what they do not, read 26 October 2026.

ItemStatedNot stated
Who took partMore than 130 firms in early access; 45 quoted; 58 listed in the public Transformation directoryThe 130 names; any Marketplace partner list
Engineer trainingForward Deployed Engineer accreditation; engineers trained at more than 30 organizationsHow many engineers; what is tested; who audits it
Partner assuranceDirectory: "validated"; program page: "validation as an authorized partner"What validation checks. No SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report for any partner is mentioned. The partner portal footer's SOC 2 line describes SpaceXAI LLC, and Cursor's footer lists its own certifications; neither covers a partner
LiabilityNothingWho is liable when a partner's engineer or plugin causes harm; no program terms were found on the public pages read
Customers and outcomes"from startups to Fortune 20 companies"No customer named, no outcome figure beyond 130 and 30, no Fortune 20 name
PriceNo fee printed on the program pages; Cursor's Publisher Terms list plugins free of chargeProgram fees, margins, co sell terms
Plugin security reviewFour descriptions, see the table aboveWhich catalog and which standard apply to a Marketplace Partner's plugin
ProductGrok, Grok Build, Grok Bot and Cursor are all named somewhereWhich one a partner's integration targets; the post never names Cursor outside quotes

Technical details

The post prints no configuration. The documentation does, and it answers the question a security hook raises: what can it read, what can it block, and what happens when it fails. Everything below is copied from x.ai and docs.x.ai pages for Grok Build and Grok Bot, read on 26 October 2026 between 09:45 and 10:00 GMT, or from the xai org plugin marketplace repository. Where a statement is this site's reading, it says so. The documents cover Grok Build and Grok Bot; the Cursor product has its own documentation, which this briefing read only for the marketplace pages.

A hook is a shell command or an HTTP endpoint that Grok Build calls on a lifecycle event. It receives the event as JSON on standard input, with hookEventName, sessionId, cwd, workspaceRoot and, for tool events, toolName and toolInput, and a PreToolUse hook decides by printing a verdict. The docs name PreToolUse as the only blocking event and say a timeout, a crash or malformed output lets the call proceed, with the failure recorded in the session. The default timeout is 5 seconds. Project hooks need a trust decision (the /hooks-trust command or the --trust flag), and Grok Build also reads Claude Code and Cursor hook files. A defender uses this to see that a hook is a gate that opens when it breaks.

json
{
  "hooks": {
    "PreToolUse": [
      {
        "matcher": "Bash",
        "hooks": [{ "type": "command", "command": "bin/safety-check.sh", "timeout": 10 }]
      }
    ]
  }
}
Hook configuration, as printed on docs.x.ai/build/features/hooks, read 26 October 2026. Personal hooks live in ~/.grok/hooks and project hooks in the project's .grok/hooks folder.
json
{ "decision": "deny", "reason": "Unsafe command detected" }
PreToolUse verdict, as printed on docs.x.ai/build/features/hooks, read 26 October 2026. The docs say exit code 0 allows and exit code 2 denies.

Permissions decide whether a tool call runs, in ask, auto or always approve mode, and deny rules beat ask rules, which beat allow rules. The docs say a remembered always allow grant still prompts for dangerous patterns such as rm and git push, but an explicit allow rule in configuration or on the command line auto approves them, and under always approve they run unless a deny rule exists. The sandbox is separate and is off by default.

Text
[permission]
rules = [
  { action = "allow", tool = "bash", pattern = "git *" },
  { action = "allow", tool = "read" },
  { action = "deny",  tool = "bash", pattern = "rm -rf *" },
]
Allow and deny rules, as printed on docs.x.ai/build/features/permissions, read 26 October 2026.

For managed fleets the docs describe a system layer at /etc/grok/requirements.toml whose pinned values cannot be overridden by user configuration, environment variables or remote settings. The lock on always approve is honoured only from root owned sources, and the docs say a Claude Code lockdown file does not carry over to Grok Build. These two blocks are the settings a security team would pin.

Text
[ui]
disable_bypass_permissions_mode = true
Lock always approve off, as printed on docs.x.ai/build/enterprise, read 26 October 2026. The docs say the lock is honoured only from root owned sources such as /etc/grok/requirements.toml.
Text
[sandbox]
profile = "workspace"
Pin a sandbox profile, as printed on docs.x.ai/build/enterprise, read 26 October 2026. The sandbox page lists the off profile, the default, as unrestricted for read, write and child network.

MCP servers are declared in configuration, with secrets expanded from the environment, and the docs say tokens for servers that need OAuth are stored under ~/.grok/mcp_credentials.json. Project scope servers ship with the repository, and a project server with the same name as a user one replaces it entirely. Grok Build also loads MCP configuration from Claude and Cursor files. A defender hunts for unexpected entries in these files and treats the credentials file as a secret store.

toml
[mcp_servers.filesystem]
command = "npx"
args = ["-y", "@modelcontextprotocol/server-filesystem", "/path/to/dir"]
env = { API_KEY = "${MY_API_KEY}" }   # ${VAR} expands at load time
startup_timeout_sec = 30              # default 30
tool_timeout_sec = 6000               # default 6000

[mcp_servers.linear]
url = "https://mcp.linear.app/mcp"
headers = { "x-mcp-session-id" = "{{session_id}}" }
MCP server declarations, as printed on docs.x.ai/build/features/mcp-servers, read 26 October 2026.

A plugin bundles skills, slash commands, agents, hooks, MCP servers and language servers. In the xai org catalog a remote plugin is only an index entry, pinned to a full commit, and x.ai's launch post says Grok Build verifies the pin at install time. The install commands below are as printed in that post. The README warns that plugins "may execute code and access data on your system" and that xAI does not verify them.

json
{
  "name": "my-plugin",
  "description": "What the plugin does.",
  "category": "development",
  "source": {
    "source": "url",
    "url": "https://github.com/my-org/my-plugin.git",
    "sha": "0000000000000000000000000000000000000000"
  },
  "homepage": "https://github.com/my-org/my-plugin",
  "keywords": ["my-plugin"],
  "domains": ["example.com"]
}
A remote plugin catalog entry, as printed in the README of github.com/xai-org/plugin-marketplace, read 26 October 2026. The sha shown is the README's placeholder.
bash
grok plugin marketplace list
grok plugin install <name> --trust
Install commands, as printed in x.ai/news/grok-plugin-marketplace (11 June 2026), read 26 October 2026.

Grok Bot, the cloud agent product, has a different control: inference hooks send each governed model request to a security server and wait for a verdict. The docs describe this as a beta that covers Grok Bot only, and not the command line tool, editor agents or Cloud Agents. A deny stops the next model call, not an action already taken. The mode decides what a failure does.

Inference hook modes, as printed on docs.x.ai/grok-bot/inference-hooks, read 26 October 2026 (the page describes Cursor as the sender and operator of this feature).

ModeOn a denyWhen the check fails
Shadow Mode (default)Lets the request throughLets the request through
Allow the RequestBlocks the requestLets the request through uninspected (fails open)
Block the RequestBlocks the requestBlocks the request (fails closed)
json
{
  "action": "deny",
  "deny_reason": "This message contains a customer account number. Remove it and try again.",
  "reference_id": "policy-7f3c21"
}
Inference hook verdict a security server returns, as printed on docs.x.ai/grok-bot/inference-hooks, read 26 October 2026. The verdict timeout accepts 1 to 10,000 ms and defaults to 5,000.

What each control can and cannot do, per the docs read on 26 October 2026 (the right column is the documents' own limits).

ControlCan do, per the docsLimit, per the docs
Grok Build hookRead the tool name and input; deny a call before it runsOnly PreToolUse blocks; a timeout, crash or malformed output lets the call proceed
PluginBundle hooks, MCP servers, skills, agents and commandsREADME: not verified by xAI; may run code and reach data on the machine
PermissionsAllow, ask or deny by tool and pattern; deny winsAn explicit allow rule auto approves dangerous patterns; always approve runs them unless denied
SandboxLimit reads, writes and child network (Landlock on Linux, Seatbelt on macOS)Off by default; child network blocking enforced on Linux only; built ins do not permanently protect ~/.ssh
Managed policyPin settings from /etc/grok/requirements.tomlUser level pins in ~/.grok are weaker; the always approve lock needs a root owned source
Grok Bot inference hookAllow or deny the next model request, with an audit logBeta; Grok Bot only; does not check actions as they run; Shadow mode blocks nothing

A ranked checklist for approving an agentic coding platform and its partners

This is for a security team anywhere that is asked to approve the platform together with partner plugins or partner engineers. The order is the order worth doing them in.

Take this with you

In order

  • Fix the scope in writing first. Name the product (Grok Build, Cursor or Grok Bot), the version and the catalog, because the post, the program pages and the partners use SpaceXSI, Cursor and Grok Build as if they were one thing.
  • Pin policy from root owned sources, not user config. For Grok Build use the system requirements file to lock always approve off, pin a sandbox profile and force team login; for Cursor use the dashboard controls for marketplaces and local plugin imports. Then test that a developer cannot override them.
  • Treat every security hook as failing open until you have shown otherwise. Kill the hook, make it time out, return malformed output, and record what the agent does. Pair hooks with deny rules and a sandbox profile that do not depend on the hook.
  • Allowlist plugins and refuse open marketplace installs by default. Read each plugin's hooks, MCP servers and skill text, require a pinned commit, and treat a partner's name on a listing as no evidence of review, since the README says xAI does not verify third party plugins.
  • Scope tokens. Give MCP servers and hooks short lived, least privilege credentials, find the stored OAuth tokens and protect them, and add deny rules for SSH keys, environment files and key files because the built in profiles do not protect them permanently.
  • Log what the agent does and where hook failures go. Send tool calls, hook errors and plugin installs to your SIEM. Where Grok Bot is in scope, run inference hooks in Shadow mode first and build rules on the failed open event names.
  • Put data residency and retention in the contract: zero data retention at team level, regional endpoints and the sub processor list. Read the legal text yourself, because a partner's claim of no Cloud Act exposure covers one hop and not the tool.
  • Write terms for forward deployed engineers who work inside your repositories: named accounts, least privilege, no shared credentials, access logging, a right to audit, intellectual property and confidentiality, liability and insurance, and removal within a day of the engagement ending. The post and program pages say none of this.
  • Ask each partner for its own evidence: its report scope for SOC 2 or ISO 27001, a security contact, and how it reviews its own plugin updates. A platform footer is not a partner certification.
  • Pilot before roll out: one repository, one team, one month, with the logging above and a written exit plan.

The question the record leaves open

If a partner's forward deployed engineer, working in your repository, installs a marketplace plugin whose security hook times out and lets the call through, and an agent then ships the change, which document says who answers for it: SpaceXSI's terms, Cursor's terms, the partner's contract, or none of them? The post names 45 firms and does not say.

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimaryThe partner network post dated 22 October 2026: the 45 launch quotes, more than 130 early access firms, more than 30 organizations with trained engineers. Read in full, first from a saved browser copy and then by urllibSpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  2. PrimaryThe Partner Network landing page: the two programs and the ecosystem tiersSpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  3. PrimaryTransformation Partner Program page: Select, Premier and Elite tiers, no fees, nine partner quotesSpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  4. PrimaryMarketplace Partner Program page: tiers, the curated catalog sentence, nine partner quotesSpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  5. PrimaryPublic partner directory: 58 entries, all Transformation, the word validatedSpaceXSI partner portalaccessed 2026-10-26
  6. PrimaryxAI joins SpaceX, 2 February 2026: SpaceX announced that it has acquired xAISpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  7. PrimaryCursor is now a part of SpaceX, 14 August 2026: the acquisition completedCursor (Anysphere, Inc.)accessed 2026-10-26
  8. PrimaryHow SpaceXSI is using Grok Bot to scale customer support, 22 September 2026: Cursor became part of SpaceXSI on 14 AugustSpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  9. PrimaryGrok Bot included with SuperGrok, Cursor Pro and Cursor Teams plans, 26 August 2026SpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  10. PrimaryGrok Build is now open source, 15 July 2026SpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  11. PrimaryGrok Build Plugin Marketplace launch post, 11 June 2026: the install commands and the pinned commit statementSpaceXSI (x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  12. PrimaryREADME, CONTRIBUTING and the catalog file for the Grok Build plugin marketplace: the third party disclaimer, the static review wording, SHA pinning, 36 entriesxAI (GitHub)accessed 2026-10-26
  13. PrimaryGrok Build hooks: configuration, events, the script contract and the failure behaviourSpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  14. PrimaryGrok Build permissions: modes and allow and deny rulesSpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  15. PrimaryGrok Build sandbox: profiles, defaults and limitationsSpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  16. PrimaryGrok Build MCP servers: configuration and credential storageSpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  17. PrimaryGrok Build skills, plugins and marketplaces, including Claude Code compatibilitySpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  18. PrimaryGrok Build enterprise deployments: managed policy layers, the always approve lock, zero data retentionSpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  19. PrimaryGrok Bot inference hooks: modes, coverage, verdict format and audit logSpaceXSI (docs.x.ai)accessed 2026-10-26
  20. PrimaryCursor Marketplace security: manual review of every plugin and updateCursor (Anysphere, Inc.)accessed 2026-10-26
  21. PrimaryCursor Marketplace Publisher Terms: approval is not certification, listing is freeCursor (Anysphere, Inc.)accessed 2026-10-26
  22. PrimaryEndor Labs blog dated 5 October 2026, updated 21 October: the hooks integration, the timeline and the words formerly CursorEndor Labsaccessed 2026-10-26
  23. PrimarySemgrep blog dated 5 October 2026: the Grok Build integration built on hooksSemgrepaccessed 2026-10-26
  24. PrimarySonar blog dated 24 June 2026: the SonarQube plugin for Cursor and its hooksSonaraccessed 2026-10-26
  25. PrimarySonar documentation for the Cursor plugin: the hooks and the paid Vortex subscriptionSonaraccessed 2026-10-26
  26. PrimaryZscaler partner blog dated 18 October 2026: endpoint visibility and policy for CursorZscaleraccessed 2026-10-26
  27. PrimarySCX.ai blog on Cursor and sovereign inference: the plugin, the Sydney infrastructure and the Cursor Partner Network wordingSCX.aiaccessed 2026-10-26
  28. Primary18 U.S.C. section 2713, required preservation and disclosure of communications and recordsCornell Legal Information Instituteaccessed 2026-10-26
  29. PrimaryCursor plugin documentation: marketplace review statement, team marketplaces and installation modesCursor (Anysphere, Inc.)accessed 2026-10-26

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.