P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Sony's So-net says 2,585,481 records leaked, 16 with bank account details, and gives no count of people

Sony Network Communications says an outside party accessed its So-net member database on 19 October 2026 and that 2,585,481 So-net and plala records leaked, 16 of them with bank account details. The notice counts records, not people, and says the cause is still under investigation.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 19 min read

2,585,481 records, 16 with bank account details, and no count of people

Sony Network Communications, the company behind the So-net internet service in Japan, says in its notice of 27 October 2026 that an outside party accessed its So-net member database on Monday 19 October. The notice lists 2,141,986 So-net records and 443,495 records for plala (S Course), the plala option within Docomo Hikari. They sum to 2,585,481 records (derived). Sony counts records, in the Japanese sense of cases or items, and gives no number of distinct people.

This briefing was read from 18:40 to 18:52 GMT on Wednesday 28 October 2026 from Sony's notice, Sony's questions and answers page, and NTT Docomo's notice for its plala customers. The first two are Sony's own words about its own breach, so every assurance in them is Sony's. Docomo outsources this service to Sony and has its own interest in how the incident reads. The news report that prompted this briefing, BleepingComputer's of 28 October, was read as a pointer only. All Japanese text was read in the original and is translated here by this site.

The opening number needs two cautions straight away. First, 2,585,481 rounds to 2.6 million, not the 2.5 million in the news headline (derived). Sony's questions page says up to 2.586 million (written 258.6 万 in Japanese). Second, the same notice lists three other items outside that sum: 54,401 mail addresses with their mail passwords, 16 bank account records and 7 password reset notice sheets. The bank account records matter because the news report says no banking details were exposed, and Sony's notice says 16 records were.

What the record does not establish is as important as what it does. Sony says the cause is a third party's unauthorised access and that the investigation continues. It does not say how the intruder got in, who it was, when the access ended, how the data was taken, how mail passwords were stored, or whether any of it has been used. As of 27 October neither Sony nor Docomo had confirmed any secondary damage. The sections below set out the dates, the counts, the data, the places where the news report and the notice disagree, and a ranked list of what to do.

Five dates that must not be merged, and three that are missing

The house rule for a breach is to keep the access window, discovery, containment, notification and publication dates apart. Sony's notice gives the first three of those as separate days, and Docomo and Sony's own release feed add two more. All dates are Japan time. The day numbers count from 19 October and are derived.

Dates in the incident, from Sony's notice and questions page (27 October 2026), Docomo's notice (27 October) and Sony's release feed. Day numbers and intervals are derived.

Date (JST)What the source saysSourceWhat is not stated
Mon 19 Oct (day 0)The So-net member database received unauthorised access from outside.Sony notice; Docomo notice calls it the date of occurrenceWhen the access ended, and whether it was one session or several
Fri 23 Oct (day 4)Sony confirmed the access, stopped the target servers and blocked communication from the source.Sony notice and questions pageWho or what detected it, and what the four quiet days looked like
Sat 24 Oct (day 5)The investigation found that personal information had leaked and established the items and counts.Sony noticeHow the leak was established
Mon 26 Oct (day 7)Sony reported the incident to Docomo.Docomo noticeThe date Sony reported to the Personal Information Protection Commission (PPC): the notice says only that it did
Tue 27 Oct, about 10:00 (day 8)Forced reset of mail passwords began, service by service.Sony questions pageWhether the old passwords were used in the four days before
Tue 27 Oct, 16:00 (day 8)Sony's notice, dated 27 October, carries a 16:00 JST time stamp in Sony's release feed (07:00 UTC, derived).Sony notice; Sony release feedWhether every affected person has been told
Wed 28 Oct, 16:45 UTCBleepingComputer publishes its report.BleepingComputer page dataNothing further from Sony in its feed when read

Read the table for what it does not say. Sony states a date on which access occurred, 19 October. It does not state a date on which access stopped. The news report writes that the breach occurred on 19 October and was detected four days later, which fits the notice's dates, but the notice describes the 19th as the day the database received access, not as the whole access window. The window between 19 and 23 October is at most four days (derived) and could be shorter, and the notice does not say.

Drawn from Sony Network Communications' notice and questions page, NTT Docomo's notice and Sony's release feed, read on 28 October 2026. Day numbers and intervals are derived.

Two intervals deserve a flag. The mail passwords were reset on 27 October, four days after Sony stopped the servers and eight days after the stated access date (derived). Sony's questions page explains why it forced the reset without warning: with the leaked address and password, the third party could read and send mail through a mail program or webmail. That is Sony's own statement of capability. The record does not say whether any mailbox was opened in those days, and Sony does not say whether it can tell.

Counting records, mail addresses and people

Sony's notice gives its counts in blocks, and each can be checked by addition. The So-net block is 1,869,771 current members plus 272,215 former members who left in March 2026 or later, which is 2,141,986 (derived and matching the notice). The plala block is 422,365 current plus 21,130 former, which is 443,495 (derived and matching). The two blocks sum to 2,585,481 (derived). Sony states that nobody who left by the end of February 2026 is included.

The source's own page: the first page of Sony Network Communications' notice, 27 October 2026 (Japanese). Section 1 is the dates, section 2 the first count table.
The source's own page: the second page of the same notice. Items 3 to 5 are the plala table, the bank account records and the reset notice sheets.

Counts are records, and a record is not a person. The notice does not say whether one person who held both a So-net and a plala service appears twice, whether a household with one contract appears once for several people, or how many different people the former and current records cover. Docomo calls its plala figure 443,495 records of information about current customers and those who cancelled within six months. Sony says the former members are those who left from March 2026, which is about eight months before the notice (240 days from 1 March to 27 October, derived), not six. The two statements are not the same, and neither explains the gap.

Drawn from Sony Network Communications' notice of 27 October 2026. The sum and the rounding are derived.

The mail list is the one to read twice. Sony says passwords were leaked for 54,401 addresses on four mail services: 24,655 on the free Mail Service (G), 17,672 on the paid A-Box, 7,005 on Sony VAIO mail and 5,069 on PostPet mail. They add up to 54,401 (derived). That is 2.5 per cent of the So-net member records (derived), which is a small share and also the part with the highest consequence, because a mailbox password opens messages and password reset links. Sony's notice describes these addresses as belonging to current and former So-net members. That suggests they are already inside the 2,141,986, so they are not added to the total here, but the notice does not say so.

A last count concerns who is in the data at all. Former members are 293,345 of the 2,585,481 records, or 11.3 per cent (derived). Sony's questions page says it keeps information after cancellation for a period, for the final month's bill and for enquiries, and does not name the period. The notice does not explain why records from March 2026 are present while earlier ones are not.

What leaked, and what Sony says did not

The table below follows Sony's notice and questions page. Each row has a column for what Sony says was not taken. Those entries are Sony's assurances, not independent checks, and the questions page words some of them as the absence of confirmation, not the absence of a leak.

What Sony Network Communications says leaked and did not, from its notice and questions page (27 October 2026). Translations are this site's.

Data classLeaked, as Sony statesNot leaked, as Sony states
Member profile (2,141,986 So-net and 443,495 plala records)Full name, phone number, email address, user ID, date of birth, gender, and the internet connection IDPasswords for these records
Mail login (54,401 addresses on four services)Mail address and mail passwordThe basic free mailbox password; the My Page login password; connection passwords for some services
Bank accounts (16 records, So-net members)Institution name, bank number, branch name, branch number, deposit type, account number, account holder nameThe account PIN, which Sony says it does not hold; any plala member's bank data
Password reset notice sheets (7 records)Notice sheet information issued for password resetsNot stated; Sony reset the passwords
Cards and other servicesNot applicableCredit card information (Sony says it does not hold it); NURO and other services: no leak confirmed

The profile fields are the kind that make a convincing phone call or email: a name, a number, a date of birth and the email address together. The user ID is the My Page login name, and Sony says the matching password was not taken, so it is half of a credential pair. Docomo's notice lists the same fields for plala customers, adds a contact email address where registered, and says the email addresses in scope are only those in the so-net.ne.jp domain. Both companies tell customers to ignore unexpected email, SMS and calls and not to open links or attachments, which follows from the fields leaked (inference).

BleepingComputer links the leak to a phishing campaign Docomo warned about on the same day, which imitates a points club and a theme park ticket draw. Docomo's separate warning was read in full. It describes the fake emails and sites and does not mention Sony, So-net, plala or any data leak. Docomo's breach notice, for its part, warns of suspicious contact in general. So the link between the two is the report's juxtaposition, not either company's statement. No evidence connects the two on the record.

The friendly name check applies to the word password. Sony's notice says no password leaked in the member records, and in the same notice 54,401 mail passwords leaked. Both statements are true because they are about different passwords. A customer who reads the first and stops reads the wrong answer. Credit cards are different again: Sony says it does not hold them, which is a design choice that works as a control, not a finding about this attack. The same applies to the account PIN. Neither tells the 16 account holders what a criminal can do with an institution, branch, account number and holder name, which is information a fraudster could use to impersonate the holder to a bank. That is inference, labelled as such, and Sony does not say it has seen any such use.

Where the news report and the notice disagree

BleepingComputer's report of 28 October 2026 is accurate on the main outline, and it credits Sony's announcement. Set beside the notice, four statements need correcting or qualifying. Its author is not named here because the point is the statement, not the person.

BleepingComputer, 28 October 2026 (16:45 UTC), set against Sony Network Communications' notice, its questions page and Docomo's notice, all read on 28 October 2026.

The report saysThe primary saysVerdict
About 2.5 million records exposed2,585,481 records (derived sum); the questions page says up to 2.586 millionRounded down; 2.6 million is the nearer figure
No banking, payment card or other account details exposed16 bank account records leaked; 7 password reset notice sheets leaked; no credit card informationWrong on banking; right on cards
The company advises users to change their passwordsSony itself reset the 54,401 mail passwords on 27 October; the old ones stopped working and users must set new ones to resume mailUnderstates what Sony did, and the action users need to take
The breach occurred on 19 October and was detected four days laterAccess occurred on 19 October; confirmed on 23 October; the end of access is not statedConsistent for the dates; the window is not stated
Docomo contracts Sony to provide Docomo HikariDocomo says Sony Network Communications is its contractor for the So-net member database serverConsistent
Neither company has confirmed misuse as of 27 OctoberBoth say no secondary damage was confirmed as of 27 OctoberConsistent

The difference that matters most is the bank account line. A reader who relied on the headline summary would conclude nothing financial was involved. The notice says 16 account records were, with the fields listed, and promises individual contact. Sixteen records in 2,585,481 is about six in a million (derived), and for those 16 people it is the whole story. A small count in a large breach is a reason for a separate notice, not a reason to leave it out.

Stated and not stated

What Sony Network Communications and NTT Docomo state, and what they do not, as of the notices of 27 October 2026 read on 28 October 2026.

QuestionStatedNot stated
Entry routeA third party's unauthorised access; cause under investigationVulnerability, stolen credential, misconfiguration or insider; the affected system beyond the member database
AttackerNothingIdentity, group, motive, or any claim of responsibility or sale
Access windowAccess on 19 October; confirmed 23 October; servers stopped and source blockedWhen access ended, how long data was taken for, whether it was one session
PasswordsMember passwords not leaked; 54,401 mail passwords leaked and reset on 27 OctoberHow mail passwords were stored, whether they were plain text or recoverable, and whether any were used
Payment dataNo credit card information; 16 bank account records without a PINWhether bank data was used
Counts2,141,986 So-net, 443,495 plala, 54,401 mail, 16 bank, 7 notice sheetsDistinct people; overlap between lists; how the count was derived
Leaked or possibly leakedThe notice says leak confirmed; the questions page says a high possibility of leak and up to 2.586 million recordsWhich wording is Sony's current position
Who is toldThe notice and Docomo say affected customers will be contacted individually; the questions page says the bank and notice sheet customers will beWhether the other 2.58 million records' owners will be told, and how they can check
RegulatorReported to the PPCThe date, the form of the report, and any order or inquiry
Independent checksNone readAny outside forensic firm or police report

The notice and the questions page differ on one point of substance. The notice says personal information leaked and lists the items as leaked. The questions page says a leak of customers' personal information is highly likely and that up to 2.586 million records may have leaked, while keeping a confirmed leak for the mail passwords. Whether the profile fields were taken or only exposed to taking is the open point. The notice's own date line, 24 October, says the leak was recognised and the counts known.

For context only: on 11 July 2025 the same company announced that a third party had used stolen user IDs and passwords to change some customers' So-net email addresses. ScanNetSecurity's report says Sony found no leak of customer IDs or passwords from its own systems at that time. ScanNetSecurity's headline calls that a password list attack. This October event is described as unauthorised access to a member database. Nothing in the record connects the two.

The regulator, briefly

Sony says it reported the incident to Japan's Personal Information Protection Commission. The PPC's reporting page says to report promptly after discovery, and within 60 days of discovery where the incident may have been committed with a wrongful aim. It lists the cases that require a report, including unauthorised access that takes personal data from a server, and any leak affecting more than 1,000 people. The page is general guidance and does not mention this incident. No PPC statement about it was seen, so the record is Sony's word that it filed, with no date.

Technical details

Neither Sony nor Docomo prints an indicator of compromise: no address, domain, file name, hash, tool name, vulnerability identifier or log line. The only artifacts the primaries publish are the dates, the list of leaked fields, and the pattern of mail addresses on the four services whose passwords leaked. They are copied below exactly as printed, so a defender can match them against an identity export or a mail log. The English is this site's translation.

The first block is Sony's list of leaked profile fields, from its questions page. In English: name, phone number, email address, user ID, date of birth, connection ID used for internet access, and gender.

Text
氏名、電話番号、メールアドレス、ユーザーID、生年月日、インターネット接続に使用する接続用ID、性別
Sony Network Communications questions page, 'What specific information leaked', read 28 October 2026 (Japanese, copied as printed).

The second block is the four mail services whose address and mail password leaked, with the address patterns, price class and count, as printed in Sony's notice. The three asterisks stand for a subdomain string. A defender can use the patterns to find staff or customer accounts that use these addresses.

Text
メールサービス(G)  @***.gyao.ne.jp / @***.gate01.com / @***.pbc.ne.jp / @***.highway.ne.jp  無料  24,655
A-Box(追加メールボックス)  @***.so-net.ne.jp  有料  17,672
ソネット VAIO メール  @***.vaio.ne.jp  有料  7,005
PostPet メールアカウントサービス  @postpet***.so-net.ne.jp  有料  5,069
Sony Network Communications notice, 27 October 2026, item 2 part 2, table of the four services (Japanese, copied as printed; the questions page prints @abox***.so-net.ne.jp for A-Box and four asterisks in the VAIO pattern, so match on both).

The third block is the notice's own account of the dates, in the order Sony printed them. It is the nearest thing the primaries offer to a log.

Text
2026 年 10 月 19 日(月) So-net 会員データベースに対して外部から不正アクセスを受けました。
2026 年 10 月 23 日(金) 同アクセスがあったことを確認しました。
2026 年 10 月 24 日(土) 調査の結果、不正アクセスにより個人情報の漏洩が認められ、その項目および件数を把握しました。
Sony Network Communications notice, 27 October 2026, section 1 (Japanese, copied as printed).

What to hunt, derived from the notices and not from any indicator: logins and message reads on any mailbox on the domains above from 19 October 2026 onward, mail rules or forwarding added since then, and password reset emails sent to those addresses for third party accounts. Anything that asks a customer for a login, a code or a payment, and cites a Sony, So-net or Docomo incident, should be reported to the service desk first. Sony names no malware, no tool and no technique, so a detection rule cannot be written from this record, and none is offered here.

What to do, in order

The list serves three groups: people with a So-net, plala or Docomo Hikari service, organisations whose staff or customers use these addresses, and any operator that holds a member database. It uses only what the notices say and the derivations above.

Take this with you

Actions, ranked

  • If you use a mailbox at one of the four affected services, set a new mail password now, because Sony has stopped the old one, and change it anywhere else the same password was used.
  • Open the mailbox and look for what a person with the old password could do since 19 October: messages read or deleted, mail rules, forwarding, sent items you do not recognise.
  • List every account that uses one of those addresses to sign in or to reset a password, and treat each as exposed until the mailbox review is done. Change the passwords and turn on a second factor on the important ones first.
  • Treat any call, SMS or email that mentions a Sony, So-net, plala or Docomo problem as suspect, because the leaked fields are the ones an impersonator needs. Do not follow links or open attachments. Go to the provider's site or app by typing the address yourself.
  • If your bank account was held for So-net billing, expect an individual notice. Watch the account, and ask the bank, using the number on your card, what it can do about unexpected debits. Do not give account details to anyone who calls you first.
  • If you manage staff or customers in Japan, ask which of your suppliers or users have So-net, plala or Docomo Hikari contracts, and add the four mail domain patterns to the phishing watch list.
  • Read Sony's questions page again and release feed before acting on any count in this briefing. The notice says the investigation continues, and the counts and wording may change.
  • If you run a member database, check that the data of people who have left is held for a stated period and a stated reason, and that mail and login passwords are stored so they cannot be recovered. Sony has not said how it stored its own.

How this was read, and what was not

Read in full from the original: Sony Network Communications' notice (a three page PDF dated 27 October 2026), its questions page, Docomo's two notices of 27 October (the plala breach notice and the separate phishing warning), and the PPC's reporting page. Sony's release feed was read for the 16:00 JST time stamp on the notice. BleepingComputer's page was read as a pointer. ScanNetSecurity's 2025 report was read for the earlier incident only.

Not read: The Japan Times report that BleepingComputer links, because the site answered with a bot check and this briefing does not get past one; and Sony's own 2026 release listing page, which did the same. No PPC filing, police report, forensic report or independent account was found. A few web searches for further reporting in English and Japanese found nothing on this incident. Everything about the cause is therefore Sony's, and nothing about the leak has been independently verified.

The question the notice leaves open

Sony's notice counts 2,585,481 records, names a date on which the access began, and says the mail passwords of 54,401 addresses were in a third party's hands until they were reset eight days later (derived from the stated dates). If the data of 2,585,481 records cannot yet be turned into a number of people, and the mail logs are the only way to tell whether any of those 54,401 mailboxes were opened, who has checked those logs, and what did they find?

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimarySony Network Communications' notice, 27 October 2026, a three page Japanese PDF: dates, the counts, the leaked fields, the mail address patterns, the 16 bank account records, the 7 notice sheets, the response and the customer requests. Read in fullSony Network Communicationsaccessed 2026-10-28
  2. PrimarySo-net questions and answers page on the incident: the leaked fields, the mail service forced reset from about 10:00 on 27 October, the capability to read and send mail, the 258.6 万 maximum, retention after cancellation. Read in fullSony Network Communications (So-net)accessed 2026-10-28
  3. PrimaryDocomo's notice of 27 October 2026 for plala (S Course) Docomo Hikari customers: 443,495 records, the fields, Sony's report to Docomo on 26 October, no secondary damage confirmedNTT Docomoaccessed 2026-10-28
  4. PrimaryDocomo's separate 27 October 2026 warning about fake emails and sites imitating a Docomo ticket campaign. It does not mention Sony, So-net or a data leakNTT Docomoaccessed 2026-10-28
  5. PrimarySony Network Communications' press release RSS feed: the 27 October 2026 notice carries the time stamp 16:00 JSTSony Network Communicationsaccessed 2026-10-28
  6. PrimaryThe PPC's page on reporting leaks: prompt report, 60 days where a wrongful aim is possible, and the cases that require a reportPersonal Information Protection Commission (Japan)accessed 2026-10-28
  7. Reported byBleepingComputer, 28 October 2026 (16:45 UTC): the report that prompted this briefing; used as a pointer and for the points where it differs from the noticeBleepingComputeraccessed 2026-10-28
  8. Reported byScanNetSecurity, 16 July 2025: Sony Network Communications' 11 July 2025 announcement that stolen IDs and passwords changed some customers' So-net email addresses. Context onlyScanNetSecurityaccessed 2026-10-28

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.