P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Enclave says a zero permission Android app could take Authenticator tokens; Microsoft rates CVE-2026-80097 8.6

Microsoft's advisory for CVE-2026-80097, fixed in Authenticator for Android 6.2606.4246, says the user must complete an authentication flow. The finder's post says no user step was needed.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 14 min read

Microsoft says a user step, the finder says none

Microsoft's data for CVE-2026-80097, read on 27 October 2026, scores user interaction as Required in its CVSS 3.1 vector (UI:R, base score 8.6), and its own FAQ says an attacker needs to convince the user to complete an authentication flow in Microsoft Authenticator. The research post by Enclave, dated 23 October, which is 45 days after Microsoft's advisory of 8 September (derived), says there was no user interaction beyond having the broker present with a signed in work account. Help Net Security's report of 27 October says the victim did not need to tap anything. Two primary pages therefore describe the precondition for the same flaw differently, and neither page reconciles the difference.

That difference does not decide whether the flaw is serious. Microsoft's score is high, and the fix is a single app version, 6.2606.4246, which the CVE record gives as the first version outside the affected range. What the record does not establish is any use against a real victim. Microsoft's data marks exploited No, its assessment reads Exploitation Less Likely, the CISA enrichment inside the CVE record lists exploitation as none (dated 9 September), and the CISA known exploited vulnerabilities file read at about 08:07 UTC, catalogue 2026.10.26 with 1,758 entries, does not list it. It does not state how many phones ran an affected build, and it names no iOS version. All of those are time stamped and can change.

Pages read from 08:06 to 08:16 GMT on Tuesday 27 October 2026: Microsoft's security update guide data feed, the CVE record, the NVD record, the CISA file, Enclave's research post and Help Net Security's article, plus Microsoft Learn pages for the admin controls. Microsoft ships and scores Authenticator, so its score and its fix are its own account. Enclave is a security company that publishes this research on a site that lists pricing, so the finding is its own account too. Help Net Security is the news outlet whose headline pointed to the research and is used here only as a pointer.

What the record states and what it leaves out

CVE-2026-80097 as printed by Microsoft's data feed, the CVE record and the NVD record, read on 27 October 2026. The last column is this site's reading of what no page says

ItemOn the recordNot stated
Product and rangeMicrosoft Authenticator for Android. The CVE record says affected from 6.0.0, lessThan 6.2606.4246iOS. Whether the Company Portal and Link to Windows apps, which Microsoft's Learn page says also include the broker, share the code
Fixed build6.2606.4246. Revision 1.1 of 15 September reads: Corrected fix build number. Informational change onlyThe earlier number, and what changed in the code
ScoreCVSS 3.1 base 8.6, vector AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H, assigned by Microsoft. Severity Important, impact Elevation of Privilege, CWE-287How Microsoft reached each metric, including the user interaction value
ExploitationExploited No. Exploitation Less Likely. CISA enrichment of 9 September: Exploitation none, Automatable no, Technical Impact total. Not in the CISA known exploited fileAny telemetry, victim count or sighting from Microsoft, CISA or Enclave
Disclosure flagPublicly disclosed No in the data read on 27 October, four days after Enclave's postWhen the flag was last reviewed. The latest revision date in the feed is 15 September
WorkaroundThe feed has no workaround or mitigation text. The action is to updateAny setting that reduces exposure before the update
TimelineReserved 25 August, published 8 September at 14:00 UTC. Enclave says Microsoft confirmed the issue and fixed itThe date Enclave reported it to Microsoft, so the time to fix cannot be computed

Microsoft's description is one sentence: Improper authentication in Microsoft Authenticator allows an unauthorized attacker to elevate privileges locally. Its FAQ says the attacker could gain the ability to authenticate against a remote host using the current user's credentials, and that exploitation means installing and running a malicious application on an affected Android device and convincing the user to complete an authentication flow in Microsoft Authenticator. The record does not publish what the code change was.

Microsoft's vector against Enclave's description

Each part of the vector can be set beside what Enclave says it did. Where the two agree the table says so. Where a metric has no support in the research post, the table says that too. The last column is this site's comparison and not a statement from either publisher.

Microsoft's CVSS 3.1 vector for CVE-2026-80097 (MSRC data, 27 October 2026) beside Enclave's post of 23 October 2026. The comparison is derived

Metric and Microsoft's valueWhat Enclave saysFit
Attack vector Local (AV:L)The attacker is an app on the same deviceMatches
Attack complexity Low (AC:L)A single request, no race or timing describedMatches
Privileges required None (PR:N)An app with zero permissionsMatches
User interaction Required (UI:R)No user interaction beyond having the broker present with a signed in work accountDiffers
Scope Changed (S:C)A rogue app obtains tokens for Microsoft services and the account's sign in methodsPlausible, not discussed
Confidentiality High, Integrity High (C:H, I:H)Mail, files, calendar and Teams messages read and sent. Passkey scopes obtainedMatches
Availability High (A:H)No availability effect is describedNot supported by the post

The two possible readings of the user interaction difference are both consistent with the pages. Microsoft's FAQ may be describing a flow the user completes in Authenticator that Enclave's test did not need, or Microsoft may have scored a narrower path than Enclave tested. Neither page says which. The honest position for a defender is to plan for the weaker precondition, which is the one in the research post, and to treat Microsoft's FAQ as the more cautious scoring.

How a rogue app got tokens, as Enclave describes it

Enclave says Microsoft Authenticator on Android exposes an activity, com.microsoft.identity.client.AccountChooserActivity, in its :auth process, marked android:exported="true", so any app on the phone can launch it. The only gate Enclave found is that a calling activity exists. The request fields, including the package name the caller claims to be, its client ID, its redirect URI and the scopes it wants, are all read from the caller's own data. The validation then compares the claimed redirect URI with the one derived from the claimed package's signature on the device. Because the claimed app, Teams in Enclave's test, is installed, its genuine signature gives the genuine redirect URI, so the check passes.

Drawn by this site from Enclave's research post of 23 October 2026. Names are as Enclave prints them. Microsoft has not published a description of the code.

The point of the second diagram is a design observation Enclave makes: Authenticator did know the real caller, because the activity reads the package name of the calling activity, and used it only for parallel request bookkeeping. The trust decision used the second answer, the one the caller supplied.

Drawn by this site from Enclave's research post and Microsoft's FAQ text in the MSRC data feed, read on 27 October 2026.

What the tokens carried depends on which app the test app claimed to be. Enclave lists three disguises and the scopes each returned. The list is Enclave's, and the table repeats it as printed.

What Enclave says it obtained, by the app it claimed to be. Source: Enclave research post, 23 October 2026, read 27 October

App claimedResource requestedScopes Enclave lists
TeamsMicrosoft Graph, graph.microsoft.comMail.ReadWrite, Mail.Send, Files.ReadWrite.All, Calendars.ReadWrite, ChatMessage.Send, Sites.ReadWrite.All, and more
The Teams chat backendapi.spaces.skype.comuser_impersonation
Authenticator's own clientNot statedUserAuthenticationMethod.ReadWrite, Passkey.Create, Passkey.Delete

Two statements about these tokens go further than the primary. Help Net Security writes that an attacker who can add a passkey to an account can keep getting in after the malicious app is removed. Enclave lists the passkey scopes but does not say a passkey was registered in its tests, so that is an inference from the scopes. The bundle Enclave describes also holds a refresh token. Microsoft's own page on revoking access explains why that matters: with a refresh token an app can silently get new access tokens when the old one expires, and access tokens last one hour by default. Neither Enclave nor Microsoft says whether any Conditional Access policy would have stopped the test. Microsoft's Learn page says brokers are how apps meet organisational Conditional Access policies, so the control and the flaw sit in the same component.

The dates: advisory first, research post 45 days later

The CVE record shows the identifier was reserved on 25 August and published on 8 September, 14 days later (derived). Microsoft's advisory carries the same release time, 14:00 UTC. Its second revision, on 15 September, seven days after release (derived), corrected the fix build number, which Microsoft calls an informational change. Enclave's post carries the date 23 October on the page, 45 days after the advisory (derived), although the page's own metadata says it was published at 13:27 UTC on 25 October. Help Net Security's article is dated 27 October, 49 days after the advisory (derived).

Drawn by this site from the CVE record, the MSRC data feed, the NVD record, Enclave's post and Help Net Security, read on 27 October 2026. Day counts are derived.

The gap matters for one reason. The advisory was public for 45 days before the technical post appeared, and 38 days after the corrected fix build number (derived). When build 6.2606.4246 reached Google Play is not stated in the pages read, so the time a patched build was available cannot be computed. The devices that mattered after 23 October are those that had not updated, and no page says how many that is.

Labels that do the work of controls

Four labels in this story sound like controls and are not, on the evidence in the pages.

Label, what it suggests and what the pages show

LabelWhat it suggestsWhat the pages show
Signature checkThe app asking for tokens is verifiedEnclave says it compared a claim with the signature of the app the caller claimed to be, which an installed app always matches. The real caller was not used
Zero permissionsAn app that asks for nothing can do nothingEnclave's test app needed no permission. The activity was reachable by any installed app, so Android permissions were not the gate
Publicly disclosed: NoNo technical detail is publicThe flag read No on 27 October, four days after Enclave's post. The feed's latest revision is 15 September
Elevation of Privilege, locallyA contained, on device problemPer Enclave, the tokens are for the user's work account across mail, files, calendar, Teams and sign in methods, so the effect leaves the device

Technical details

Everything in this section is printed by one of the primaries and is copied exactly from the page saved on 27 October 2026. Nothing is proof of concept code. Enclave's post also prints a block of its test app's code, which this site does not reproduce. Neither Microsoft nor Enclave prints indicators such as hashes, domains or detection rules, and Microsoft prints no workaround. What follows is what a defender can match against an app inventory or a code review, and the settings and commands Microsoft documents.

First, the range in the CVE record. This is the version string a defender compares against the installed Authenticator version. The record's cpe entry names the product without an Android qualifier, and the MSRC feed names Microsoft Authenticator for Android.

Text
criteria: cpe:2.3:a:microsoft:authenticator:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*
versionStartIncluding: 6.0.0
versionEndExcluding: 6.2606.4246
vectorString: CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:U/RL:O/RC:C
cvssV3_1 baseScore: 8.6
CVE record for CVE-2026-80097 (CVE Program, Microsoft as CNA), fields as printed, one per line. Read 27 October 2026

Second, Microsoft's own FAQ text from the MSRC data feed. This is the text that sets the user step. Quote it when you reconcile it with the research post.

Text
An attacker who successfully exploited this vulnerability could potentially gain the ability to authenticate against a remote host using the current user’s credentials.
An attacker could exploit this vulnerability by installing and running a malicious application on an affected Android device and convincing the user to complete an authentication flow in Microsoft Authenticator. Successful exploitation could allow the attacker to obtain authentication tokens and access resources as the affected user.
Microsoft Security Response Center data feed, FAQ entries for CVE-2026-80097, text as printed. Read 27 October 2026

Third, the component and the flawed check, as Enclave prints them. The first block is the exposed component and the gate. The second is the validation Enclave says was the only comparison made. A defender uses these names to ask a mobile security or code review tool whether a non Microsoft app references the Authenticator package and this class. That use is this site's idea and neither primary offers it as a detection.

Text
com.microsoft.identity.client.AccountChooserActivity
android:exported="true"
getCallingActivity() != null
Enclave research post, 23 October 2026: the exported component and the only gate, lines as printed. Read 27 October 2026
Text
platformUtil.isValidCallingApp(getRedirectUri(), getCallerPackageName());
String brokerRedirectUri = PackageHelper.getBrokerRedirectUri(this.mContext, claimedPackage);
return StringUtil.equalsIgnoreCase(claimedRedirect, brokerRedirectUri);
Enclave research post, 23 October 2026: the validation, as printed. Read 27 October 2026

Fourth, what comes back. Enclave says the activity returns the broker result to whoever launched it, in a bundle holding the tokens in plaintext. The names below are the result handling lines and the bundle field names as printed. A refresh token in the bundle is why the response needs session revocation and not only the update.

Text
intent.putExtras(bundleFromAuthenticationResult);
setResult(2004, intent);
broker_result_v2_compressed
access_token
refresh_token
id_token
client_info
Enclave research post, 23 October 2026: how the result is returned, as printed. Read 27 October 2026

Fifth, the admin settings and commands Microsoft documents. Neither page is about this CVE. They are the controls the checklist below refers to, and the first is a setting name and its actions as Microsoft prints them on its Intune page. Microsoft says the Min app version setting accepts the formats major.minor, major.minor.build and major.minor.build.revision. Whether the setting can be pointed at Authenticator is not established, and the next section says why.

Text
Min app version
Warn - The user sees a notification if the app version on the device doesn't meet the requirement. This notification can be dismissed.
Block access - The user is blocked from access if the app version on the device doesn't meet the requirement.
Wipe data - The user account that is associated with the application is wiped from the device.
Microsoft Learn, app protection policy settings for Android (Intune), setting and actions as printed. Read 27 October 2026
powershell
Connect-MgGraph -Scopes "User.ReadWrite.All","Directory.AccessAsUser.All"
$User = Get-MgUser -Search UserPrincipalName:'johndoe@contoso.com' -ConsistencyLevel eventual
Revoke-MgUserSignInSession -UserId $User.Id
Microsoft Learn, Revoke user access in Microsoft Entra ID, commands as printed. Read 27 October 2026

The Microsoft page's example account name, johndoe, is Microsoft's placeholder and not a person. The page says Revoke sessions on the user's overview page in the Entra admin center does the same for one user.

A ranked checklist for an administrator

The order below puts the fix first, then the questions the record leaves open, then the clean up. Where a control is not shown to work against this flaw the item says so.

Take this with you

Ranked checklist for an Android fleet that uses Microsoft Authenticator

  • Find every Authenticator for Android install below 6.2606.4246. That is the fixed build in the CVE record and the MSRC feed. Use the app inventory your device management gives you, and confirm the version string on a test phone.
  • Push or require the update through the channel you already use for Google Play apps. Help Net Security advises that device management enforce the minimum version. Check that the minimum is enforced on the app itself, because the Intune supported apps page read on 27 October lists no Authenticator entry, so an app protection Min app version rule may not apply to it. Treat that as unverified until tested.
  • Decide on the user step before you set the deadline. Microsoft says the user must complete an authentication flow. Enclave says none was needed. Plan for the weaker precondition and set the update deadline as if no user step protects you.
  • For devices that were below the fixed build after 8 September, list the apps installed from outside the managed store or that you do not recognise, and remove them. Help Net Security advises care with sideloaded and unfamiliar apps.
  • Review the affected users' authentication methods for passkeys added or removed since 8 September, and review the Entra audit log, which Microsoft says records changes applied to the tenant. This follows from the passkey scopes Enclave lists. No page says a passkey was registered.
  • Review the Entra sign in logs for those users. Microsoft says the logs show who signed in, the client application and the resource. The research post does not describe what a stolen token looks like in the logs, so this is a review for anything unexpected, not a rule.
  • For any account on a device that ran an unfamiliar app while below the fixed build, revoke sessions and refresh tokens, then remove the app. Microsoft's page says access tokens last one hour by default and that refresh tokens renew them.
  • Do not treat device compliance or Conditional Access as the control until you have tested it. Microsoft says brokers are how apps meet those policies, and neither page says whether they stopped the test.
  • Ask Microsoft in writing whether the Company Portal and Link to Windows apps, which its Learn page says include the broker, carry the same code. The advisory lists only Authenticator for Android.

No regulator or agency guidance on this CVE was found in the pages read, so none is cited. The control that matters is a version string on a phone. If an update to the fixed build is not on every managed device by now, 49 days after the advisory (derived), a report of 100 per cent patched needs the version number behind it.

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimaryData feed behind the update guide page for CVE-2026-80097: release 8 September 2026, CVSS 3.1 base 8.6 and vector, FAQ text, Exploitation Less Likely, exploited No, publicly disclosed No, revision 1.1 of 15 SeptemberMicrosoft Security Response Centeraccessed 2026-10-27
  2. PrimarySame feed, affected product: Microsoft Authenticator for Android, fixed build number 6.2606.4246Microsoft Security Response Centeraccessed 2026-10-27
  3. PrimaryThe update guide page for the CVE (a script driven page; the data above is what it renders)Microsoft Security Response Centeraccessed 2026-10-27
  4. PrimaryCVE record JSON: description, affected range 6.0.0 to below 6.2606.4246, CVSS 3.1 vector, CWE-287, CISA enrichment exploitation noneCVE Program, Microsoft as CNAaccessed 2026-10-27
  5. PrimaryNVD API record: Analyzed, Microsoft's CVSS 3.1 score, last modified 24 September 2026NIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-10-27
  6. PrimaryKnown exploited vulnerabilities file read on 27 October 2026: catalogue 2026.10.26, 1,758 entries, the CVE not listedCISAaccessed 2026-10-27
  7. PrimaryEnclave research post dated 23 October 2026 on its page: the exported activity, the gate, the validation, the three disguises and scopes, the tokens returned. A vendor's own researchEnclaveaccessed 2026-10-27
  8. PrimarySSO on Android with MSAL: the broker is included in the Authenticator, Company Portal and Link to Windows apps, and is how apps meet Conditional Access policiesMicrosoft Learnaccessed 2026-10-27
  9. PrimaryIntune app protection policy settings for Android: the Min app version setting, its actions and formatsMicrosoft Learnaccessed 2026-10-27
  10. PrimaryMicrosoft Intune protected apps list, read in full for the word Authenticator; no entry foundMicrosoft Learnaccessed 2026-10-27
  11. PrimaryRevoke user access in Microsoft Entra ID: access and refresh token behaviour, one hour default, Revoke sessions and Revoke-MgUserSignInSessionMicrosoft Learnaccessed 2026-10-27
  12. PrimaryWhat are Microsoft Entra sign in logs: who, how and what details, and the audit log descriptionMicrosoft Learnaccessed 2026-10-27
  13. Reported byNews report of 27 October 2026 that points to Enclave's research: the passkey persistence statement, the no tap statement and the advice on minimum versions. SecondaryHelp Net Securityaccessed 2026-10-27

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.