P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Reports say supermarket freezers were hit again; 'same method as France' is attributed to one installer

Stores in Belgium, Sweden, Ireland, Estonia and the Netherlands report refrigeration driven to extreme heat overnight on 1 to 2 November 2026. Reports say the method matches France's; the claim traces to one installer, and no agency has named a cause or an actor. Read at about 16:00 UTC.

By · LinkedIn · · 20 min read

Hit again 21 days after the alert, and a same method claim with one voice

CERT-FR, the French government's computer emergency response team, published an alert on 12 October 2026 telling owners of Danfoss AK-SM and AK-SC refrigeration controllers, and of Copeland and Dixell xweb supervisors, to take their management interfaces off the Internet. Its first version is 21 days (derived) before the night of 1 to 2 November, when stores in Belgium, Sweden, Ireland, Estonia and the Netherlands, and on some reports Luxembourg and Finland, reported refrigeration driven to extreme heat, with 50 degrees Celsius the figure most often printed. The gap is a measure of time and not a finding. No source read says that any unit hit on 2 November is a model, a firmware version or an Internet exposure that the October advice covered.

Press reports call this a second wave and say it used "exactly the same mechanism" as France's. Four of the seven reports read for this briefing carry that claim or its twin: Euronews, BleepingComputer, Tom's Hardware and Help Net Security. Traced back, they cite two things: Belga, the Belgian news agency, and the chief executive of Sabcobel, a refrigeration company, speaking to Belga and to the Belgian outlet RTL. No retailer, equipment maker, prosecutor or agency is quoted saying it. The Record says it is not known whether the same people were behind both. Sabcobel installs and manages units for retailers, so its account is informed but not independent: a remedy that needs physical modification is work for an installer (inference). It may well be right. What it cannot yet be is confirmed.

Read between 15:46 and about 16:05 UTC on Monday 2 November 2026, while the story is moving. Read at source: CERT-FR's alert and Copeland's bulletin, both in full, and the news pages of Ahold Delhaize, Musgrave and the Belgian Public Prosecution Service, which carried nothing about the incident at the time. Read as press reports: The Record, Euronews, Help Net Security, BleepingComputer, Tom's Hardware and NBC News. The Register was not read, because its robots file does not allow this newsroom's user agent. Not read: Danfoss's website and the Centre for Cybersecurity Belgium (CCB) answered with an access block, ICA's site did the same, Helsinki Times refused, and The Guardian's terms bar machine use, so none was fetched past the robots file. Nothing was bypassed. So every statement here by a retailer, a prosecutor or the CCB is second hand, and each is attributed to the report that relays it.

The two waves side by side, drawn by this site from CERT-FR's alert, Copeland's bulletin and the press reports read on 2 November 2026. Day counts are derived. Each fact carries its source.

What the October wave established, as the primaries put it

The primaries are about France in October, not about 2 November, and they are worth reading closely because the second wave is being described by reference to them. CERT-FR's alert, first published on 12 October and last updated on 16 October, says in its summary that the team "a connaissance de nombreuses compromissions" of Danfoss AK-SM and AK-SC remote controllers and of Copeland xweb and Dixell xweb ones (this site's translation: is aware of numerous compromises). It adds that exposing a management interface to the Internet is contrary to good practice. It names no CVE, no actor and no entry path. Its risk field reads "Non spécifié par l'éditeur". On 13 October it added other targeted equipment, and on 16 October it updated its recommendations.

Its warning is the line that matters for 2 November. For equipment with no security fix (end of life), it says that keeping it on the Internet exposes it to "une très forte probabilité de compromission" (a very high probability of compromise), and that a factory reset alone is not enough, because the unit stays vulnerable and "sera certainement de nouveau compromis" (will certainly be compromised again). It also says attack campaigns are probably still under way. Copeland's own bulletin of 14 October acknowledges a vulnerability in a discontinued generation of its XWEB EVO controllers that has reached end of life, and tells owners to remove every XWEB EVO from the public Internet at once.

The Record adds that the Paris prosecutor's office told it there were around 700 victims in October's attack, and that after the French attack Danfoss and Copeland said the affected devices were mainly discontinued products that no longer received security updates. That is a press relay and not a primary; Danfoss's own pages could not be read today. For what the French wave did and did not establish when it broke, see this site's earlier briefing, written on 12 October before CERT-FR's updates. Nothing from it is restated here without a page read today.

Who counted what: the stores, by country and by source

The reports disagree on counts and on place names. The Record, published at 13:34 UTC, says more than 50 stores in Belgium and over a dozen others in Ireland, Estonia, the Netherlands and Luxembourg together. BleepingComputer, at 14:28 UTC, lists named chains from statements to it: ICA at least 4, Coop 7, Ahold Delhaize about 40 (Belgium and Luxembourg), Carrefour 15, Spar 5, Intermarche about 15, SuperValu 13 and Selver 1, with at least 17 in the Netherlands, and says more than 115 stores in all. Adding its own figures gives 100 for the named chains and 117 with the Dutch 17 (derived), so its total is consistent with its list. Euronews, updated at 15:12 UTC, gives 75 for Belgium, which equals 40 + 15 + 15 + 5 (derived), yet it also names a butchery group and an IKEA store that, it says, bring "the total to 75". Whether those two are inside the 75 or outside it cannot be told from the page. That the numbers rise with the time stamps is an inference: later reports may simply know more.

Store counts by country and source, drawn by this site from the six reports read on 2 November 2026, with what is not stated beside each. Sums are derived.

Stores and units by country as each source states them, read on 2 November 2026. Times are UTC. Derived figures are this site's arithmetic.

CountryWhat each source saysWhat does not agree or is missing
BelgiumEuronews, from Le Soir: about 40 Delhaize Proxy, 15 Carrefour Shop and Go, 15 Intermarche and 5 Spar Q8 service station stores, 75 in all. BleepingComputer: Delhaize about 40 (with Luxembourg), Carrefour 15, Spar 5, Intermarche about 15. The Record: more than 50. Sabcobel: about 20 units of the hundreds it manages.The first two give 75 by different routes (derived). Carrefour itself says 15 of its 700 stores, "not a single hypermarket", where Le Soir's label is Shop and Go. Units and stores are different things and no source says how many units a store has.
LuxembourgEuronews: Delhaize suspended its ordering systems there as a precaution. Help Net Security, citing RTL Today: Delhaize supermarkets "have also been hit".Hit, or paused as a precaution, depending on the report.
SwedenBleepingComputer: ICA at least 4, Coop 7 of more than 800 (11 or more, derived). NBC News: ICA a small number of stores outside its central network, Coop 6 (to Aftonbladet). The Record: a limited number of smaller stores.Coop 6 or 7. ICA's count is not given by ICA.
IrelandMusgrave, as relayed by NBC News, BleepingComputer and Euronews: 13 SuperValu stores. Euronews calls it a suspected cyber incident.None.
NetherlandsEuronews: at least seventeen companies, per a Danfoss spokesperson, none named. BleepingComputer: at least 17 butcher shops and neighbourhood stores.Who they are, and whether the 17 are units, customers or shops.
EstoniaEuronews and BleepingComputer: one Selver store. NBC News and The Record: a contractor or equipment maker said a client was hit and an older Danfoss system was accessed.Whether other Estonian firms were hit.
FinlandEuronews: several K Group supermarkets, per Finnish media. Help Net Security: the BBC reports Finland.Absent from The Record, BleepingComputer and NBC News. No count anywhere.
The temperatureEuronews: Belgian media first reported 17 degrees Celsius; Swedish stores 50. BleepingComputer: a manager told TV4 settings were changed to +50 and could not be modified. NBC News: one ICA Kvantum store said 122 degrees Fahrenheit, which is 50 degrees Celsius (derived).A setting and a measurement are different, and no source says where any food temperature was measured. The Record says freezers were "remotely set to 50°C".

The retailers' own words are the firmest part. Carrefour told Euronews and BleepingComputer that 15 of its 700 stores in Belgium were affected, that it "only concerns a few refrigeration units, mainly freezers" and that all stores stayed open. Ahold Delhaize spoke of "several dozen stores" and an "IT incident". Coop's statement to BleepingComputer is the least expected: the problems "ranged from completely shut-down refrigerators and freezers to partially functioning units, and in one case, the system beginning to generate heat". That is not a wave of uniform heating, and it sits oddly with a headline of 50 degrees everywhere. It is one retailer's account of its own stores, and the 50 degree figure comes from other stores.

What is said about the mechanism, and by whom

Every statement about how the freezers were heated comes through the press. The table sets each against its speaker, and says what kind of evidence it is.

Statements about the mechanism, the equipment and the cause of the second wave, as relayed by the reports read on 2 November 2026. None is a primary.

StatementSaid by, as relayedWhat it is, and what it leaves open
Units' evaporators were switched to defrost mode, remotelySabcobel's chief executive to Belga (Euronews, NBC News); Belga's own words (Help Net Security, Tom's Hardware); BleepingComputer, citing the same executive to RTLAn installer's account, second hand. No controller model, no entry path.
The mechanism is the same as in France; the same vulnerability was usedBelga, "said to be exactly the same" (Help Net Security); Sabcobel's chief executive (Euronews, BleepingComputer)Four reports, one origin.
Temperature and defrost time were overriddenTom's Hardware, in a paragraph that follows its summary of the Belga report; the sentence names no speakerThe nearest any report comes to the removed limit that the story file suggests. Not attributed to a named speaker.
A software update alone is not enough; physical modifications are neededSabcobel's chief executive (Euronews, BleepingComputer, The Record, Help Net Security)Four reports, one speaker. Danfoss, as relayed by Euronews from VTM Nieuws, says the vulnerability lies primarily in outdated software and that customers had been urged to move to new software. The two descriptions of the remedy do not match.
Customers who had not updated their software were affected; Danfoss supplied the software in both incidentsA Danfoss spokesperson to VTM Nieuws, relayed by EuronewsDanfoss as a party. Which Danfoss product, which version, and whether any unit was on the newest software are not stated.
Copeland equipment was also targeted in BelgiumDutch broadcaster NOS, relayed by The RecordOne relay, not read at source.
Attackers accessed a computer controlling refrigeration; an older Danfoss system was accessedAn Estonian contractor or equipment maker, via ERR (NBC News) and The RecordThe only place a vendor is tied to a specific 2 November incident by someone close to the equipment. One store.
The impacted freezers are all management interface facing Internet, the same issue as last time, many end of life with no patchA security researcher, quoted by Help Net SecurityA named expert's claim, offered without evidence. It may be right. It is not a finding.
The stores affected "use an external supplier and have their connectivity outside ICA's central network"ICA, to NBC NewsA statement about network ownership, not about how the attacker got in.
The CCB is "concerned about the rising number of incidents, partly due to the targeted use of AI"; it did not yet know whether AI was used in these attacksA CCB spokesperson, to The RecordA concern about a trend. It is not a finding that AI was used here, and Tom's Hardware's linking of the two is its own inference.

Sabcobel's role is itself described four ways: an installer (Euronews, The Record), a refrigeration fitter (Tom's Hardware), a company that manufactures and installs industrial refrigeration equipment (Help Net Security), and the vendor of refrigeration systems across several of the impacted locations according to RTL (BleepingComputer). BleepingComputer says it contacted Sabcobel and was waiting for a response. The difference matters, because a manufacturer's remote service and an installer's remote access are different doors.

The defrost control path as the sources describe it, with an independent sensor path beside it, drawn by this site. The top row is stated by sources. The green boxes are this site's suggestion and are not described by any source for these stores.

Stated and not stated: the record, line by line

"Not stated" means not found in what was read. It does not mean the information does not exist.

What the sources state about the second wave on 2 November 2026, and what they do not. Read between 15:46 and about 16:05 UTC.

The questionStatedNot stated
Who did it?No claim of responsibility (The Record, NBC News). A CCB spokesperson to The Record: "It is not known who is behind this attack, and it may never be possible to identify them." Sweden's national cybersecurity centre said it could not speculate (NBC News).Any actor or motive. Whether the October and November waves share one.
What was done?Freezers set to 50 degrees Celsius and could not be adjusted (a Swedish manager to TV4). Evaporators switched to defrost (Sabcobel, via Belga).Who did it, with what, and whether the same in every store. Coop's own account includes shut down units.
Which equipment?Danfoss software in both incidents (Danfoss via VTM Nieuws, relayed). An older Danfoss system in Estonia (contractor). Copeland in Belgium (NOS, relayed). CERT-FR for October: Danfoss AK-SM and AK-SC, Copeland and Dixell xweb.The model and firmware in any 2 November store. Any Danfoss notice or advisory for the second wave (Danfoss's site could not be read).
How was it reached?ICA stores use an external supplier and sit outside ICA's central network. A researcher says the management interfaces face the Internet. CERT-FR for October: Internet exposure of a management interface.Whether any 2 November unit was exposed, or reached through a vendor, installer or contractor account. A CVE or flaw for the second wave.
Is it the same as France?Sabcobel's chief executive says the mechanism is exactly the same.Confirmation by an agency, a prosecutor or a vendor.
What did it cost?Food discarded in stores. Delhaize warned managers by SMS around 4 a.m. and some stores used refrigerated trucks (RTL, via BleepingComputer). All Carrefour stores stayed open.Tonnes, euros, safety consequences, insurance, whether any data was taken.
What have officials done?Belgium's federal prosecutor's office has opened an investigation, per a spokesperson (Euronews). The CCB is aware and has no further information. Sweden's centre is working on several incidents. The European Commission said the attacks show how digital threats affect citizens (NBC News).A prosecutor's release (the Public Prosecution Service's news page had none at about 16:00 UTC). A CERT or agency advisory about 2 November. A statement on Danfoss's or Ahold Delhaize's or Musgrave's own pages.

Five labels doing the work of findings

Each phrase below is true as a description of what a source said. Each can be mistaken for a finding.

Labels used in the reports of 2 November 2026 and the question each one hides. The right column is this site's reading, not a source's wording.

LabelWhere it appearsThe question it hides
"Cyberattack"Carrefour Belgium's spokesman: "It's a cyberattack, there is no other reason." Delhaize and Ahold Delhaize say "IT incident". Musgrave says "cyber incident", and Euronews calls it suspected. Colruyt and Intermarche confirmed "technical problems" without naming a cause (Help Net Security).Which of these is a cause that someone established, and which a word for something that failed overnight?
"50 degrees"Swedish managers, an Estonian client, the headline of Tom's Hardware.A set point is what a controller was told. Nobody says where a food temperature was logged.
"Second wave"The Record's headline and most of the press.One campaign, a copy, or a second actor using the same published weakness? No source says.
"Secure internet connection"Sabcobel's chief executive: the simplest solution is to manage the fridges over a secure Internet connection, and most customers moved to it after France.CERT-FR asks for a secure VPN or a protected network. Is a secure connection a tunnel, a vendor cloud or a port on a firewall? Whether any unit hit had already moved to one is not stated.
"Outside ICA's central network"ICA, to BleepingComputer and NBC News.Whose network is it, who patches it, and who can see into it? A retailer's central network is not the same thing as the store's refrigeration network.

What to do, in the order worth doing

For facility and security teams at retailers and food businesses. Items marked as this site's suggestion are not in any primary. Defender level only: this lists what to find and harden, not how anything is broken.

Take this with you

Ranked checklist

  • Inventory every networked refrigeration controller, supervisor and gateway: vendor, model, firmware, support status, owner and the way it connects. Check each against the vendor's advice and CERT-FR's alert, which names Danfoss AK-SM and AK-SC and Copeland and Dixell xweb. Treat anything the vendor calls end of life as a replacement project with a date, as Copeland does for XWEB EVO.
  • Take every management interface and every vendor or contractor remote path off public addresses: no port forwarding, no DMZ, no direct public address (Copeland). Restore access only through a secure VPN or a protected network (CERT-FR). Add multi-factor authentication and named accounts: unique named accounts are Copeland's advice, multi-factor authentication is this site's suggestion. Test from outside the site, as Copeland describes.
  • Before cutting a contractor's data uplink, check the insurance conditions (CERT-FR), and agree in writing with the contractor how a single store is isolated remotely and who may order it.
  • Alarm on defrost cycles, set point changes and temperature ceilings from an independent sensor path that the controller cannot overwrite: this site's suggestion. Musgrave told NBC News that its monitoring systems alerted it, which is the point. Copeland tells owners to trigger a test alarm to prove notifications arrive.
  • Keep a manual and food safety runbook: who checks temperatures overnight, where stock can go (Delhaize stores used refrigerated trucks, per RTL via BleepingComputer), who decides what is discarded, and who records it for insurers.
  • Report to the national CERT and the equipment vendor, and keep a backup of controller configuration off the unit, with screenshots taken before any change (Copeland). Also this site's suggestion: ask each vendor in writing whether any of your units matches a 2 November report.

Technical details

What the primaries publish is advice, and what the press publishes is quotation. Neither CERT-FR nor Copeland, the two primaries read, covers the 2 November incidents, and no source read gives a CVE, a hash, a domain, an address or a command line for the second wave. There are therefore no indicators to defang. The blocks below are copied exactly from saved pages. French text is the primary's own, with this site's translation in the prose above each block.

The header of CERT-FR's alert. This tells a defender which products the team names, that its risk field is unspecified, and when each version was written. The label and value pairs are joined with a colon by this site; every value is as printed.

Text
Référence: CERTFR-2026-ALE-012
Date de la première version: 12 octobre 2026
Date de la dernière version: 16 octobre 2026
Risque: Non spécifié par l'éditeur
Systèmes affectés: Copeland xweb
Systèmes affectés: Danfoss série AK-SC
Systèmes affectés: Danfoss série AK-SM
Systèmes affectés: Dixell xweb
12 octobre 2026: Version initiale
13 octobre 2026: Ajout d'autres équipements ciblés
16 octobre 2026: Mise à jour des recommandations
CERT-FR alert CERTFR-2026-ALE-012, header fields and version history, read 2 November 2026. Labels joined to values by this site.

The summary and the warning. The first sentence is the alert's whole factual claim. The last paragraph is the one for owners of end of life units: a factory reset removes what an intruder left behind but leaves the unit open.

Text
Le CERT-FR a connaissance de nombreuses compromissions des controleurs à distance d'installation de réfrigération Danfoss série AK-SM, AK-SC ainsi que Copeland xweb et Dixell xweb.
De manière générale l'exposition d'une interface de gestion sur Internet est contraire aux bonnes pratiques.
CERT-FR alert CERTFR-2026-ALE-012, summary, read 2 November 2026.
Text
ATTENTION : Des campagnes d'attaques sont probablement toujours en cours visant ces équipements. Maintenir une exposition Internet à un équipement sans correctif de sécurité (End of Life - EOL) est l'exposer à une très forte probabilité de compromission. N'effectuer qu'un Reset Factory est dans ce cas insuffisant, les persistances d'une instance compromise seront supprimées mais l'équipement restera vulnérable et sera certainement de nouveau compromis.
CERT-FR alert CERTFR-2026-ALE-012, closing warning, read 2 November 2026.

The actions for units that are not compromised. Note the second line, on insurance, and the third, which asks owners to check the whole configuration and in particular the defrost windows (plages de dégivrage). The compromised case adds a restart or a restore.

Text
Si les équipements ne sont pas compromis :
Sortir de la zone de danger :
Supprimer l’exposition Internet des unités concernées et de toutes les unités exposées sur une adresse IP publique.
Vérifier les conditions contractuelles d’assurance avant de couper la remontée des données Internet vers le prestataire frigoriste.
Vérifier l’intégralité de la configuration, notamment les plages de dégivrage.
Rétablir le service :
Rétablir l’accès uniquement via un VPN sécurisé ou un réseau protégé.
Dans l'urgence, un simple filtrage des IP sources des prestataires frigoristes sur un pare-feu est possible, mais cette solution ne doit pas être considérée comme pérenne.
Mettre en place les bonnes pratiques recommandées par le constructeur (mise à jour du firmware, etc.).
Exemple pour les équipements Danfoss : mettre à jour le firmware, configurer le niveau de sécurité en mode Strict, s'assurer que les mots de passe par défaut ont été changés, etc.
CERT-FR alert CERTFR-2026-ALE-012, actions for equipment that is not compromised, read 2 November 2026.

Copeland's bulletin, dated 14 October 2026 on its letterhead and hosted on the French Dixell site. The first block is its acknowledgement and its summary. It concerns XWEB EVO, a generation Copeland says is discontinued and at end of life. It is a defender document and prints no exploit detail.

Text
Nous reconnaissons l’existence de la vulnérabilité identifiée sur une génération de contrôleurs XWEB EVO dont la
commercialisation est arrêtée et qui est parvenue en fin de vie. Une enquête approfondie a été engagée ; les
recommandations qui suivent permettent de remédier à cette vulnérabilité et de garantir la sécurité des systèmes de
nos clients.
Recommandations pour une utilisation sûre des superviseurs XWEB
Synthèse
Retirez immédiatement toutes les unités XWEB EVO de l’Internet public, puis recherchez toute activité suspecte depuis le
réseau local et restaurez les appareils si nécessaire.
Le présent avis énumère des mesures complémentaires permettant de réduire le risque de cybersécurité lié aux superviseurs
XWEB EVO et explique comment remettre en état une unité ayant pu faire l’objet d’un accès non autorisé.
Copeland Controls bulletin on XWEB supervisors, 14 October 2026, acknowledgement and summary, read 2 November 2026.

The immediate measures, which Copeland says apply to every XWEB EVO whether or not unauthorised access is suspected. These are the closest thing any primary offers to a precise exposure rule.

Text
Mesures immédiates de réduction des risques
Appliquez ces mesures à chaque XWEB EVO, que vous soupçonniez ou non un accès non autorisé.
• Retirez les unités XWEB EVO de l’Internet public. Aucune redirection de port, aucune DMZ et aucune adresse
IP publique directe.
• Restreignez l’accès physique au seul personnel autorisé (par exemple, en limitant l’accès aux locaux techniques
et en utilisant des serrures à clé lorsque c’est possible).
• Utilisez un service VPN pour l’accès à distance, afin que le XWEB ne soit joignable qu’au travers d’un tunnel
chiffré et restreint.
Copeland Controls bulletin, immediate risk reduction measures, 14 October 2026, read 2 November 2026.

Copeland's network and exposure advice, including a check an owner can run from outside the site without any tool, and the alarm test. Both are for defenders. Neither reveals how an attacker proceeds.

Text
Accès à distance
• Utilisez un service VPN. Consultez votre service informatique pour mettre en œuvre le service VPN approuvé par
votre organisation.
Réseau
• Placez le XWEB sur un segment réseau dédié (VLAN), distinct des réseaux bureautiques, des réseaux des points
de vente et des réseaux Wi-Fi invités.
• N’autorisez que le trafic sortant nécessaire au XWEB (par exemple, serveur de messagerie, DNS, NTP et serveur
de mises à jour Copeland) et bloquez tout le reste.
• Vérifiez l’exposition depuis l’extérieur : à partir d’une connexion extérieure au réseau du site, par exemple un
téléphone dont le Wi-Fi est désactivé, saisissez l’adresse IP publique du site dans un navigateur. La page de
connexion du XWEB ne doit pas s’afficher.
Copeland Controls bulletin, additional access advice, 14 October 2026, read 2 November 2026.
Text
7. Vérifiez la gestion des alarmes.
o Des catégories d’alarme existent et sont affectées aux variables d’alarme des appareils.
o Le cas échéant, les catégories d’alarme sont associées à un niveau qui déclenche l’envoi de notifications
par e-mail ou SMS, ou l’activation de relais d’alarme.
o Les destinataires des notifications par e-mail et SMS sont renseignés et corrects.
o Déclenchez une alarme de test pour vérifier que les notifications sont effectivement reçues.
Copeland Controls bulletin, step 7 of the restore procedure, 14 October 2026, read 2 November 2026.

The statements of 2 November that matter most, as printed in English by the reports that carry them. These are press quotations and are not primaries. Each line is a full paragraph of its report.

Text
The chief executive of refrigeration installer Sabcobel, which manages Delhaize's fridges and freeze systems, told the Belga news outlet that the Belgian attack involves exactly the same mechanism as the previous French cyberattack.
He said the incident happened when the units' evaporators were switched to defrost mode.
The refrigeration executive said a software update alone is not enough to address the vulnerability, with physical modifications required instead.
Euronews, 2 November 2026 (updated 16:12 CET): the Sabcobel account as relayed from Belga. Paragraphs copied whole, except that the executive's name is replaced by the role in the first line.
Text
Danfoss, the company that supplied the software for the refrigeration systems affected in both the latest incident and the one in France in October, said customers who had not updated their software were affected.
In the Netherlands, the freezing and cooling systems of at least seventeen companies were attacked last night, according to a spokesperson for supplier Danfoss. The identities of the companies were not disclosed.
Euronews, 2 November 2026: Danfoss as relayed from VTM Nieuws.
Text
“We can confirm that we have been informed of an incident overnight affecting a small number of ICA stores operating outside ICA’s central network,” stated ICA’s press officer.
“We have identified an IT incident affecting the refrigeration systems in several dozen stores,” the company's communications department said, adding that the company "immediately took the necessary measures to keep our stores operational."
"We can confirm that a small number of stores were affected overnight into Monday - specifically 7 out of more than 800 stores," Coop told BleepingComputer.
"The impact at Carrefour is very limited: currently 15 of our 700 stores are affected, both in Flanders and Wallonia," Carrefour stated.
An ICA store manager told TV4 that temperature settings had been changed overnight to +50°C (122°F) and could not be modified, forcing the store to discard frozen food.
BleepingComputer, 2 November 2026 (09:28 US Eastern): the retailers' statements, copied whole.
Text
In Ireland, food wholesaler Musgrave said that a cyber incident had affected refrigeration systems in 13 of its SuperValu stores, forcing it to remove some chilled and frozen products from sale.
“Our monitoring systems alerted us to the issue and we took immediate action,” it said in a statement. “Our investigation is ongoing.” The company did not immediately respond to a request for comment from NBC News.
In Estonia, a company that makes the affected technology said that one of its clients had been hit by a cyberattack in which attackers accessed a computer controlling refrigeration and also turned up the temperature to 122 degrees Fahrenheit, public broadcaster ERR reported.
NBC News, 2 November 2026 (updated 10:01 US Eastern): Musgrave and the Estonian account, copied whole.

The arithmetic behind the counts and the gap, so a reader can re-run it. Every line is derived by this site from the figures printed by the sources named.

Text
Gap: CERT-FR first version 12 October 2026 to the night of 1 to 2 November 2026 = 19 days to 31 October + 2 = 21 days
Gap: CERT-FR last version 16 October 2026 to 2 November 2026 = 17 days
Gap: Copeland bulletin 14 October 2026 to 2 November 2026 = 19 days
Euronews Belgium: 40 + 15 + 15 + 5 = 75
BleepingComputer Belgium: 40 + 15 + 5 + 15 = 75 (the 40 for Delhaize covers Belgium and Luxembourg)
BleepingComputer named chains: 4 + 7 + 40 + 15 + 5 + 15 + 13 + 1 = 100
BleepingComputer with the Netherlands: 100 + 17 = 117 (its text says more than 115)
Sweden, BleepingComputer: 4 + 7 = 11 or more
Temperature: (122 - 32) x 5 / 9 = 50 degrees Celsius
Derived by this site, 2 November 2026, from the saved pages.

What could not be verified, and what was checked and set aside

Take this with you

Limits of this reading

  • Danfoss's website, the CCB and ICA's site answered with an access block, and Helsinki Times refused. None was fetched past that. Danfoss's statements here come from Euronews and The Record.
  • The Register was not read: its robots file allows only named agents and not this newsroom's, so nothing from it is used.
  • The Guardian's terms bar machine use of its content, and Bloomberg and the BBC pieces were not fetched. The Finnish count rests on Euronews and a one line mention in Help Net Security.
  • Belga, RTL, Le Soir, VTM Nieuws, NOS, TV4, ERR, Aftonbladet and The Local are cited only through the reports that relay them.
  • No retailer, prosecutor or CCB release was found at source. The Public Prosecution Service's news page, Ahold Delhaize's newsroom and Musgrave's site had no item on the incident at about 15:50 to 16:00 UTC. A release could appear at any time.
  • Danfoss's October 2025 newsletter on end of service, mentioned by The Record, and the dates of the European Cyber Resilience Act, were not checked at source and are not used.
  • Time stamped: read between 15:46 and about 16:05 UTC on 2 November 2026. A claim of responsibility, a CERT-FR update, a Danfoss notice or a revised count could appear within hours.

The question that exposes the gap

CERT-FR told owners in plain words, 21 days before this, that a management interface on the Internet was the problem and that an end of life unit left there would very probably be compromised. Whatever the second wave turns out to be, that advice stood for three weeks. A retailer cannot find out from the press whether it applies to its own cabinets. Only an inventory can.

Which of your refrigeration controllers can be reached from the Internet today, who could say so without checking, and what would tell a person at midnight that one had started to heat?

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimaryAlert CERTFR-2026-ALE-012, first version 12 October, last 16 October 2026: the products named, the summary, the actions and the end of life warning. Read in full; it covers the October incidents and does not mention 2 NovemberCERT-FR (ANSSI)accessed 2026-11-02
  2. PrimaryThe alerts list, read at about 15:50 UTC on 2 November 2026: the refrigeration alert is the only item on the subject and its last version is dated 16 OctoberCERT-FR (ANSSI)accessed 2026-11-02
  3. PrimaryProduct bulletin of 14 October 2026 on XWEB supervisors (French, 5 pages): XWEB EVO at end of life, remove from the public Internet, the restore steps and access advice. Read in fullCopeland Controlsaccessed 2026-11-02
  4. PrimaryNewsroom read at about 15:55 UTC: latest press release 30 October 2026 on an acquisition; nothing on the refrigeration incidentAhold Delhaizeaccessed 2026-11-02
  5. PrimaryGroup website read at about 15:55 UTC: latest news 15 October 2026; no statement on the SuperValu refrigeration incidentMusgrave Groupaccessed 2026-11-02
  6. PrimaryPublic Prosecution Service homepage read at about 15:55 UTC: latest news item dated 30 October 2026; no release on the refrigeration investigationOpenbaar Ministerie (Belgium)accessed 2026-11-02
  7. Reported byReport published 13:34 UTC on 2 November 2026: more than 50 stores in Belgium, the CCB spokesperson's words, the Paris prosecutor's 700 victims, the Estonian contractor and NOS reportsThe Record from Recorded Future Newsaccessed 2026-11-02
  8. Reported byReport published 11:25 CET and updated 16:12 CET on 2 November 2026: counts from Le Soir, the retailers' statements, Sabcobel as relayed from Belga, Danfoss as relayed from VTM Nieuws, the federal prosecutorEuronewsaccessed 2026-11-02
  9. Reported byReport published 14:28 UTC and updated 15:25 UTC on 2 November 2026: Belga's same mechanism sentence, Luxembourg, Sweden, the researcher's comment, the BBC mention of FinlandHelp Net Securityaccessed 2026-11-02
  10. Reported byReport published 09:28 US Eastern on 2 November 2026: statements to it from ICA, Coop, Ahold Delhaize, Colruyt and Carrefour, the per chain counts and the RTL account of SabcobelBleepingComputeraccessed 2026-11-02
  11. Reported byReport published 10:49 UTC and updated 12:17 UTC on 2 November 2026: its summary of the Belga report, including the override of temperature and defrost timeTom's Hardwareaccessed 2026-11-02
  12. Reported byReport by NBC News and Reuters, published 11:56 UTC and updated 15:01 UTC on 2 November 2026: ICA, Colruyt, Coop, Musgrave statements, the Estonian account and the Swedish centre's commentNBC Newsaccessed 2026-11-02

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.