Dutch police say a caller's app relayed victims' card chip data to an accomplice: 170 victims, about 380,000 euros
The Dutch police say two suspects ran a bank helpdesk fraud in which a recorded call, a script and an app sent victims' card chip data to a pinner at a machine: about 170 victims and 380,000 euros in three weeks. The release names no app and does not say how the PIN was obtained.
By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 23 min read
170 victims and about 380,000 euros in three weeks: what the police figure is, and is not
The Dutch police say a criminal group took about 380,000 euros from about 170 victims during the three weeks in which investigators could see the group's servers. That is about 2,235 euros a victim (derived: 380,000 divided by 170; the police give both figures as approximate). This briefing was written from the police release itself, a Dutch page on politie.nl that the police date 21 October 2026, read in Dutch from 12:04 GMT on Monday 26 October 2026, and not from the press coverage of it. The release says two suspects were arrested on 6 October and describes the method as a new form of bank helpdesk fraud: a recorded call, a person posing as a bank employee, an app on the victim's phone, and a card held against the phone.
What the figure does not establish matters as much. It is what the police saw in a window, not the total for the scheme. The release does not say how many people were called, how many pressed 1, how many attempts failed, or when the scheme began. It does not name the app, say how the victim received it, say how a PIN reached the person at the machine, or say whether the banks have refunded anyone. SecurityWeek reported the arrests on 26 October 2026 at 7:47 AM ET (about 11:47 GMT, derived), 20 days after the arrests and five days after the police page (derived), and its page links to no police source.
This is a story about a control that is not a technical one. The police advice at the end of the release is a behavioural rule, and so is most of what the security vendors advise on this fraud type. The sections below set out what the police say, set it against what the record leaves out, check the secondary reporting against the primary, and rank what a customer and a bank fraud team can do.
How the police say the scheme worked
The release is by the Rotterdam police Team Cybercrime, with the Public Prosecution Service leading the investigation. The sequence below follows it, with the police's own wording translated from Dutch. Where the release is silent, the diagram and the text say so.
- Signal. Mid September, Dutch banks told the Electronic Crimes Task Force, a body in which banks, police and prosecutors share signals, that they were seeing victims of a new kind of bank helpdesk fraud.
- Sight of the servers. Within a few days the team could see the digital infrastructure of the criminal group, which the police call a criminal collaboration.
- The call. Victims were phoned and played a sound clip. The fraudsters had used artificial intelligence to make dozens of clips with different voices, banks, companies and scenarios. The voice pointed to suspicious activity on the account and asked the victim to press 1 if they were not responsible. Hold music followed, then a supposed bank employee.
- The script. Victims were pressured with a fixed script: act quickly, by blocking the bank card. They were told to download an app and scan the card by holding it against the phone.
- The forward. Through the newly installed app, the criminals could temporarily send the data from the card's NFC chip, the chip used for contactless payments, to the app of a pinner (the police's word for the person at the machine). A pinner with the same app was ready at a cash or payment machine at the same time. Without the victims noticing, thousands of euros were taken.
- The roles. A technician and a coordinator were responsible for the technology and for starting the fake calls, and they also directed the pinners.
The police say the forwarding was done through the app. The word relay does not appear in the release. The security industry calls forwarding of this kind an NFC relay, and the section on how a relay works below uses that word, attributed to the vendors that use it.
The arrests, the roles and what the police say about tactics
On 6 October 2026 the police arrested two men: a suspect aged 23 and a suspect aged 25, ages the release prints. The 23 year old is suspected of being the technical person behind the fraud and of directing the others. The 25 year old is suspected of a coordinating role. The police took the servers offline for examination and seized the suspects' phones and laptops. On Tuesday 20 October the Rotterdam court's chambers decided that both stay in custody for at least 90 more days, pending the hearing of their case. These are suspects, not convicted people, and the release names no offence they will be charged with.
One passage is a statement of method by an investigator. Arresting pinners, the investigator says, often has little lasting effect if the aim is to prevent new victims, because pinners are easily replaced. The team chose instead to reach the top layer of the group, and says that stopped the criminals and their system. The release does not say that any pinner was arrested, found or identified, or that the person who spoke on the calls was identified. It gives the time from first signal to arrest as less than four weeks.
Stated and not stated: the record, line by line
The table sets what the police release states against what it does not. Not stated means not found in the release, which was read in full. It does not mean the information does not exist.
What the Dutch police release (politie.nl, dated 21 October 2026) states, and what it does not. Translated from Dutch by this site.
| The question | Stated by the police | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| How big? | About 380,000 euros of damage, about 170 victims, seen in the three weeks the team could see the servers. Victims of all ages from across the Netherlands, dozens in their twenties and thirties. | A total for the whole scheme, the start date, how many people were called, how many pressed 1, how many attempts failed. |
| The call? | Dozens of AI made clips with different voices, banks, companies and scenarios. Press 1, hold music, then a supposed bank employee with a fixed script. | Whether the voices were cloned or synthetic, which banks' names were used, whether numbers were spoofed, who spoke on the live calls. |
| The app? | An app the victim installs and scans the card with. A pinner holds the same app. | Its name, its delivery channel (link, text message, messaging app or store), the phone platform, whether it asked for a PIN, any hash or domain. |
| The forward? | Data from the card's NFC chip is temporarily sent on to the pinner's app. | How the PIN reached the pinner, whether the chip data was used for contactless or chip and PIN, any delay or distance check at the machine. |
| The cash out? | A pinner at a cash or payment machine, thousands of euros taken without the victim noticing. | Cash machine versus shop terminal, how many pinners, withdrawal limits, whether any pinner was caught, whether any were abroad. |
| The suspects? | Two arrested on 6 October, aged 23 and 25. A technical and directing role, and a coordinating role. Servers offline. 90 more days in custody. | The offences, other suspects, any accomplice abroad, money laundering, where the money went. |
| The banks? | Banks raised the alarm mid September through the task force. A banking association team lead praises the cooperation. | Which banks, how many customers each, whether victims are being refunded, how much was recovered. |
| The method's name? | A new form of bank helpdesk fraud, never met before by the team. | Any link to NFCGate, NGate or any named malware family. The release names no tool. |
The numbers, with the arithmetic
Every figure here is either printed in the release or derived from figures printed in it or in SecurityWeek. Derived figures are labelled. The police give the loss and the victim count as approximate.
Figures from the police release (21 October 2026) and SecurityWeek (26 October 2026), with derived figures marked.
| Figure | How it is obtained | What it can carry |
|---|---|---|
| About 2,235 euros a victim (derived) | 380,000 divided by 170 gives 2,235.29. | An average of rounded figures. The release says thousands of euros were taken in cases, but gives no spread. |
| About 18,100 euros and 8 victims a day (derived) | Three weeks taken as 21 days: 380,000 divided by 21 is 18,095, and 170 divided by 21 is 8.1. | A rough rate only. The release says three weeks loosely and does not say losses were even. |
| 15 days from arrest to the police page (derived) | 6 October to 21 October, the date printed on the page. The web address carries 20 October. | That the public heard 15 days after the arrests. |
| 20 days from arrest to SecurityWeek (derived) | 6 October to 26 October. Five days after the police page. | How late the secondary report is, not any error in it. |
| 14 days from arrest to the custody ruling (derived) | 6 October to Tuesday 20 October. | The suspects were held, at least, for the first two weeks. |
| Less than four weeks from signal to arrest | Stated by the police: from mid September to 6 October. | A police claim. Mid September to 6 October is about 21 days if the signal was on 15 September (derived, assumed date). |
| 1.12 dollars to the euro (derived) | SecurityWeek prints about 425,600 dollars for 380,000 euros: 425,600 divided by 380,000. | SecurityWeek's headline says 400,000 dollars or more. The rate is SecurityWeek's implied rate, not an official one. |
SecurityWeek and the police release, side by side
SecurityWeek's report is a fair summary of the release, and the differences are small. They matter because a reader who sees only the report would take several things as established that the police do not state. NL Times, the English language Dutch outlet whose report appeared on 21 October, was read as a second secondary source.
SecurityWeek (26 October 2026, 7:47 AM ET) and NL Times (21 October 2026) set against the police release.
| Report says | Police release says | Difference |
|---|---|---|
| SecurityWeek: looted over 380,000 euros | 380,000 euros of damage at about 170 victims (zo'n 170). | The police say about. Over is SecurityWeek's. |
| SecurityWeek: the suspects called potential victims | AI made clips played first, then a supposed bank employee. The technician and coordinator were responsible for the technology and for starting the fake calls. | The release does not say that either suspect spoke on a call. |
| SecurityWeek: waiting at an ATM to withdraw money | A pinner at a cash or payment machine (geld of pinautomaat). | ATM versus shop terminal is not settled by the release. NL Times says cash machine or payment terminal. |
| SecurityWeek: the former likely built the infrastructure | Suspected of being the technical person and of directing the others. | Likely is SecurityWeek's word. The police say suspected. |
| SecurityWeek: both remain in custody pending investigation | At least 90 more days in custody, pending the hearing of their case. | A time limit is stated, and the stage is a hearing. |
| NL Times: a fake banking app | An app. | The release does not say the app imitated a bank, and the word fake banking is NL Times'. |
| SecurityWeek: Dutch authorities arrested two over a scheme that drained money | The release is dated 21 October, five days earlier, and SecurityWeek links no police page. | Timing and sourcing, not a factual error. |
Four friendly names, and what the record shows
A comforting or alarming label is not a control. Four appear in this story.
Labels in the story, what each suggests, and what the sources show.
| The label | What it suggests | What the record shows |
|---|---|---|
| Near field | That the card must be near the reader, so a faraway attacker cannot use it. | Kaspersky says that in a relay, from the terminal's side it looks as if a real card is tapped, even if the card is in another city or country. The distance is the part a relay removes. |
| AI generated audio | A sophisticated machine attack. | The police say AI made the clips. What took the money was a script, a person on the phone and a phone app. The release says AI made the clips and does not say it did more. |
| Press 1 | That a menu belongs to a bank. | A recorded menu, hold music and a person are the same trust cues a real bank line uses. The police tips name trust and pressure as the two elements that always return. |
| Contactless limit | That a contactless limit caps the loss. | ESET says that where an attacker has only physical access to a card, copying it is generally limited to small contactless payments under the issuer's limit, and that ATM withdrawals need the PIN. The release says thousands of euros were taken and does not say how the PIN was obtained. A limit is a control only on the path it applies to. |
The interests behind the sources are worth stating once each. The Dutch Banking Association, whose consumer security site is read below, speaks for banks, and its page says banks are not obliged to compensate customers who transfer money themselves. ESET, ThreatFabric and Kaspersky sell security products and publish research that supports the need for them. CERT Polska is the Polish national computer emergency team and sells nothing. None of this makes the findings wrong. It is a reason to separate what each source observed from what it recommends.
How an NFC relay works, at the level a defender needs
None of the sources below describes the Dutch case. The police name no tool and publish no sample, so any link between the Dutch group and a named family would be this site's guess, and none is made. What follows is what other published research says about the same technique, because it tells a bank or a customer what to look for.
Published research on NFC relay fraud, read on 26 October 2026. None is tied by its authors to the Dutch case.
| Source and date | What it reports | What it adds for a defender |
|---|---|---|
| ESET Research, 22 August 2024 | Malware it named NGate, built on NFCGate, a tool that students at the Technical University of Darmstadt designed to capture, analyse or alter NFC traffic. It relayed card data from a victim's phone through a server to an attacker's phone, which could emulate the card at an ATM. ESET says it was the first time it had seen Android malware with the capability in the wild. Victims did not need to root their phones, and the app asked for the card PIN. | The relay is a legitimate research tool misused. ESET lists turning off NFC when it is not needed among its steps. It notes that in the campaign it studied the attacker, who already had access to the victim's account, could change withdrawal limits. |
| ThreatFabric, 20 November 2024 | A cash out tactic it calls Ghost Tap, relaying NFC traffic from a device holding a stolen card to a mule at a shop terminal. It says detection is hard because transactions appear to come from one device and amounts can be small. | ThreatFabric suggests card readers should detect latency and the actual device in the transaction, and that payment services should check device and payment location. Its listed fraud signals are a card linked to a new device and transactions at places unreachable in the time between them. These are a vendor's suggestions. |
| Kaspersky, 13 January 2026 and 1 June 2026 | Describes a direct scheme, where the victim taps a card on an infected phone and enters the PIN, and a reverse scheme, where the victim's phone presents the attacker's card at a machine. Its telemetry blocked 35,600 attacks from malware families using NFC techniques from January to April 2026, against more than 12,300 in the same months of 2025, which Kaspersky calls a rise of 188 per cent. | Its advice includes never tapping a bank card on a phone at someone else's request and never following a stranger's instructions at a machine. The figures are the vendor's own telemetry. The Dutch case resembles the direct scheme in outline (inference). |
| CERT Polska, 3 November 2025 | Analysis of an NGate sample aimed at Polish bank customers, delivered after a phishing message and a call from a supposed bank employee. The app asked the victim to place the card against the phone and enter the PIN on a keypad, and sent the PIN with the NFC data to the attacker's device at an ATM or to a server. | It publishes the Android declarations that let the app act as a payment card, and five file indicators and a server address, reproduced in the technical section below. |
Two points follow, and the second is inference. First, three of the four sources (ESET, Kaspersky and CERT Polska) say the app that read the card also asked the victim for the PIN. The Dutch police release does not say whether it did, so how the pinner obtained a PIN is an open question rather than a settled one. Second, a relay needs the phone, the server and the pinner to talk in real time, so any delay or distance between the card tap and the machine is, in principle, a detection point. ThreatFabric says readers should look for latency, and none of the sources shows that any Dutch machine does.
Technical details
The police published no technical artefact. The release gives no app name, package name, hash, domain, address, server detail or detection rule, and the servers' data is still being examined. The first block therefore holds only the wording the police did publish, which is what a bank's customer messaging and a call centre script can be built against. The remaining blocks are artefacts that other organisations published about other NFC relay campaigns. They are given so a defender knows what published relay malware looks like. They are not indicators of the Dutch case, and finding one on a device would not link it to this group.
vroeg het slachtoffer om op '1' te drukken als hij/zij niet zelf verantwoordelijk was voor die verdachte activiteit.
Er moest snel gehandeld worden, door de bankpas te blokkeren
Daardoor konden de daders via de net geïnstalleerde app de gegevens van de NFC-chip van de bankpas tijdelijk doorsturen naar een app van de pinner
Je bank vraagt je nooit om een app te downloaden, je bankpas tegen je telefoon te houden of je pincode te geven.
The next block is the Android service declaration CERT Polska printed from the Polish NGate sample it analysed (3 November 2025). In plain words: it registers the app with Android as a host card emulation service, so the phone's NFC stack can hand the app a reader's commands and the app can answer as if it were a payment card. A managed fleet can inventory installed apps for a service with this action that is not a known wallet. CERT Polska's own caveat is that the app can be set as a payment service.
<service android:name="rha.dev.me.nfc.hce.ApduService"
android:permission="android.permission.BIND_NFC_SERVICE"
android:exported="true">
<intent-filter>
<action android:name="android.nfc.cardemulation.action.HOST_APDU_SERVICE"/>
<category android:name="android.intent.category.DEFAULT"/>
</intent-filter>
<meta-data android:name="android.nfc.cardemulation.host_apdu_service"
android:resource="@xml/hce"/>
</service>
CERT Polska's indicator list follows, as it printed it under the heading IOC: five hexadecimal values (it does not label the hash type on the page; 32 characters each), the address and port of the server the sample contacted, and the file hosting path the sample was delivered from. This site defanged the address by putting the last dot in brackets. A defender can search proxy, DNS and flow logs for the address and path, and treat a match as a lead and not as proof of the Dutch case.
2cee3f603679ed7e5f881588b2e78ddc
701e6905e1adf78e6c59ceedd93077f3
2cb20971a972055187a5d4ddb4668cc2
b0a5051df9db33b8a1ffa71742d4cb09
bcafd5c19ffa0e963143d068c8efda92
91.84.97[.]13:5653
files[.]fm/u/yfwsanu886
The last block is what ESET printed about the 2024 Czech NGate samples (22 August 2024): the shared package name of the analysed samples, the SHA-1 fingerprint of the one developer certificate that signed all six, and three domains, already inactive at the time of writing. ESET also says NGate used port 5566 to communicate with its server to exfiltrate NFC traffic. The first two lines are an app package name and a certificate fingerprint, which a mobile device management tool can match. The domains are history.
rb.system.com
0C799950EC157BB775637FB3A033A502F211E62E
raiffeisen-cz[.]eu
app.mobil-csob-cz[.]eu
nfc.cryptomaker[.]info
What to hunt and harden, at defender level and drawn from the sources above. For a bank: signals of a card newly linked to a device and of transactions in places that cannot be reached in the time between them (ThreatFabric), and any machine logic that checks the delay of a contactless exchange (ThreatFabric's suggestion, unproven for Dutch machines). For a managed fleet: installs from outside the official store, apps that register as a payment card service, and a changed default payment app (Kaspersky). For a call centre: the exact promise in the police advice, that the bank never asks for an app, a card scan or a PIN, said by the bank first, before the fraudster says the opposite.
What the Dutch bank and police advice says, and what it leaves out
The police tell the public that the bank never asks you to download an app, to hold your bank card against your phone or to give your PIN, and to hang up if the call does not feel right. Their tips name two elements that always return, trust and pressure, and say to check the sender's number, not to press unknown links or download apps from a link in a text or messaging app, and to contact the organisation on the official number from its own website. A victim is told to contact the bank at once, ask it to check whether money has actually left the account, have the account blocked if needed, and report to the police.
The Veilig Bankieren page on bank helpdesk fraud, whose copyright line is the Dutch Banking Association's, adds that a bank never asks by phone or text for PINs, passwords or other security codes, and never asks to install software or apps on a computer, tablet or smartphone. It says banks are not obliged to compensate this type of damage because the customer moves the money, but usually do so from goodwill under conditions, the main ones being a police report, a private account and a first occurrence. The page was read on 26 October 2026 and does not mention NFC or card scanning, so it was written before this variant was reported, and whether the goodwill terms apply to a card scan that moves no transfer is not stated anywhere read.
What to do, in the order worth doing
The list is for readers worldwide: customers first, because the fraud depends on one person's reaction during one call, then the bank fraud teams that can act before the call. Items that are this site's inference rather than a source's advice are marked.
Take this with you
Actions, in order
- Never install an app because a caller asks, whoever the caller says they are. The Dutch police say the bank never asks for this.
- Never hold your bank card against your phone because a caller or an app asks. The police say the bank never asks for this, and Kaspersky says legitimate apps do not use the phone's NFC reader for your own card.
- Never give a PIN to a caller or type it into an app a caller asked you to install.
- Hang up on a call you did not expect, and call the bank on the number printed on its own website or its own card, never on a number the caller gives. Treat an unexpected recorded call that asks you to press 1 as a warning sign, not as proof that the caller is your bank.
- If you already installed the app or scanned the card, call the bank at once from another line, ask it to block the card and check the account, and report to the police. The police describe the account being emptied remotely and directly.
- Turn off NFC on the phone when you are not using it, as ESET advises, and check which app is set as the default contactless payment app, as Kaspersky advises.
- Bank fraud teams: say the control in advance, in every channel the fraud uses, in the exact words of the police rule, so that a stranger repeating the opposite is recognised as one.
- Bank fraud teams: watch for a card newly linked to a device and for transactions in places that cannot be reached in the time between them (ThreatFabric).
- Bank fraud teams: ask the machine and terminal side whether a delay or distance check on contactless exchanges is possible, as ThreatFabric suggests (this is a vendor suggestion, and it is not established for any machine).
- Bank fraud teams: review limits and alerts on cash withdrawals made with a contactless exchange, since the cardholder may be nowhere near the machine (inference: the release gives no limits).
- Managed fleets: flag apps outside the official store that register as a payment card service, and alert on a changed default payment app (inference from the CERT Polska declaration and Kaspersky advice).
- Share signals across banks and with the police quickly. In this case the police credit a task force for going from the first signal to an arrest in under four weeks.
What could not be verified
- The app. Its name, its channel, its platform and any indicator are not in the release.
- The PIN. How the pinner obtained a PIN, if one was needed, is not stated. The Dutch advice lists the PIN among things a bank never asks for.
- Cash machine or shop terminal. The release says a cash or payment machine and says thousands of euros were taken. It does not separate the two.
- Voices. Whether the audio used cloned voices or synthetic speech is not stated.
- Refunds, limits, other suspects, offences, accomplices abroad. Not stated. No Dutch bank statement on card limits was found, and no statement from the Dutch Authority for Consumers and Markets on this fraud type was found.
- An English police release. None was found. The Dutch page was read in Dutch and translated by this site. The Public Prosecution Service and Europol pages were searched and no item on this case was found.
- A UK angle. No UK body's guidance on this fraud type was found, so there is no UK section.
- Time stamped. The police page was read from 12:04 GMT and read again at 12:15 GMT on Monday 26 October 2026. Custody, charges and bank statements could change within hours.
The question that exposes the gap
If a voice that sounds exactly like your bank tells a customer tonight to hold a card against a phone, which control other than that customer's own judgement, under pressure, in the middle of one call, would stop it becoming cash taken somewhere else?
Key facts
Sources
- PrimaryThe Rotterdam Team Cybercrime release 'Twee verdachten aangehouden in onderzoek naar nieuwe vorm van bankhelpdeskfraude', dated 21 October 2026 on the page (the address carries 20 October). Read in Dutch in full: the figures, the method, the arrests, the roles and the advicePolitie (Dutch police)accessed 2026-10-26
- PrimaryThe banking sector's consumer page on bank helpdesk fraud, copyright line the Dutch Banking Association: what a bank never asks, the goodwill refund conditions, and the absence of any NFC wordingVeilig Bankieren (Dutch Banking Association)accessed 2026-10-26
- PrimaryESET's 22 August 2024 analysis of NGate: the NFCGate based relay, the PIN prompt, the attack scenario, prevention steps and indicators for a 2024 Czech campaign. A vendor's research, not tied to the Dutch caseESET Researchaccessed 2026-10-26
- PrimaryThreatFabric's 20 November 2024 report on Ghost Tap: NFC relay used for cash out, why it is hard to detect, and the detection signals it proposes. A vendor's researchThreatFabricaccessed 2026-10-26
- PrimaryKaspersky's 13 January 2026 explainer on NFC relay and NFCGate, with the direct and reverse schemes and protection advice. A vendor's guidanceKasperskyaccessed 2026-10-26
- PrimaryKaspersky's press release dated 1 June 2026: 35,600 blocked NFC technique attacks from January to April 2026 against more than 12,300 a year earlier, by its own telemetryKasperskyaccessed 2026-10-26
- PrimaryCERT Polska's 3 November 2025 analysis of an NGate sample aimed at Polish banks: the call, the PIN pad, the payment service declaration and the indicatorsCERT Polskaaccessed 2026-10-26
- Reported bySecurityWeek, 26 October 2026, 7:47 AM ET: the news report that prompted this briefing. It links no police page. Used for what it states, then checked against the police releaseSecurityWeekaccessed 2026-10-26
- Reported byNL Times, 21 October 2026: an English language report of the police release. Read as a second secondary source for the date and its wordingNL Timesaccessed 2026-10-26


