P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Claude Fable 5.1 may now hunt for vulnerabilities, but not exploit them. And the price cut is one cell in a table.

Anthropic loosened a cyber safeguard on purpose and said so. The 25% saving is a cache-read cut, which makes it a fact about your workload rather than about the model.

By Parminder Kumar Sharma · · 9 min read

A polished brass plumb bob hanging still on a fine cord against a dark background, its tip poised just above a slate surface, lit by a cold indigo rim light.

Anthropic released Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1 today. Most of the coverage will be about benchmarks and about the price falling roughly 25%. Two other things in the announcement matter more to anyone responsible for security, and neither is being reported.

The first is a sentence about safeguards. The second is that the price did not fall in the way the headline suggests, and the pricing table shows exactly why.

The line moved, and Anthropic said so plainly

Here is the sentence, in full: the newest safeguards "block 60% fewer false positives than before. In part, this is because Fable 5.1 can now be used to discover software vulnerabilities, though not to develop exploits for them."

That is a vendor publishing a deliberate relaxation of a security control, with the measured effect attached and the new boundary named. It deserves credit for being said out loud, and it deserves to be read carefully.

THE LINE ANTHROPIC JUST MOVED, IN ITS OWN WORDSOne sentence in the announcement, split into the two halves that matter.NOW PERMITTEDDiscover softwarevulnerabilities“Fable 5.1 can now be used to discoversoftware vulnerabilities…”STILL NOT PERMITTEDDevelop exploitsfor them“…though not to develop exploitsfor them.” Same sentence.THE MEASURED EFFECT OF THAT CHANGEThe newest cybersecurity safeguards block 60% fewer false positives than before.AND WHAT THAT MEANS THE CONTROL ACTUALLY ISFable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 are stated to be the same model, differing only in the level of safeguards.The cyber evaluation was run on that model with the cybersecurity safeguards switched off, and itshowed “the strongest cyber capabilities of any model we’ve released”.So the control is the safeguard layer, not the weights. That layer just moved on purpose.Anthropic commissioned external testing of the Fable 5.1 cybersecurity safeguards from two organisations, plus automated testing by GraySwan, and states: “we have not found evidence of a critical-severity jailbreak for these safeguards”.Read that wording as written. Not having found evidence of one is a narrower claim than there not being one, and it is the claim made.Quotations from Anthropic’s Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1 announcement, September 2026.
The relaxation is defensible and Anthropic argues for it openly: a model that refuses to look at a crash dump is useless to the defenders who need it most, and false positives were the cost. The point worth carrying is structural rather than critical. Capability and permission are now separate layers in this product, the permission layer is tuned, and a tuning is a thing that can be adjusted again.
One sentence from the announcement, split into its two halves, with the governance consequence underneath.

The change itself is defensible and the argument for it is strong. A model that refuses to look at a crash dump, a stack trace or a suspicious binary is useless to precisely the people who most need it, and false positives were the price of the old setting. Cutting them by 60% is a real improvement in a real workflow. Defenders spend their days handling material that looks, to a naive classifier, exactly like attacker material, because it is attacker material.

What is worth carrying away is structural rather than critical.

The capability is not in the safeguard

Anthropic states that Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 are the same model, differing only in the level of safeguards applied. It then reports that it evaluated the cyber capabilities of Mythos 5.1 "with cybersecurity safeguards off", and that the model "demonstrates the strongest cyber capabilities of any model we've released", while still falling within the lower risk category of its own Frontier Compliance Framework.

Put those two statements together and the architecture is clear. The thing that separates a general user from the strongest offensive-security capability Anthropic has shipped is a safeguard layer sitting in front of a model that already has it. That is a policy control, not a capability control, and a policy control is a thing that gets tuned. It has just been tuned.

This is not a criticism of the design. It is arguably the only workable design: you cannot train a model that can find vulnerabilities for defenders and cannot find them for attackers, because it is the same task. But it should change how a security team thinks about the assurance on offer. The assurance is about a classifier's behaviour, not about what the model can do.

Anthropic is careful about the assurance too, and the carefulness is worth noticing. It commissioned external testing of the Fable 5.1 cybersecurity safeguards from two organisations, added automated testing by Gray Swan, and reports that it has "not found evidence of a critical-severity jailbreak for these safeguards". Not having found evidence of one is a narrower claim than there not being one. The announcement makes the narrow claim, correctly, and a reader should quote it the same way.

Mythos 5.1, the version with the safeguards configured for cyber and life sciences work, is available only through trusted access programs. Currently that means "only a set of US organizations", with Anthropic saying it is coordinating with the US government to widen access to more domestic and international partners. So the frontier cyber capability is gated by vetting and by nationality, not by the weights. For a British or European defender, that is the operative fact in the whole release.

The model underneath that safeguard

A relaxed control on a weak model is a footnote. On the strongest model a vendor has shipped, it is a decision. So it is worth putting Anthropic's own capability numbers next to it, with one caveat stated up front: every figure below is Anthropic's, including the column for the competitor.

Anthropic's own numbers, and Anthropic chose the comparison

What it measuresFable 5.1Fable 5Opus 5GPT-5.6 Sol
Agentic scientific research, Terminal-Bench-Science 0.152.6%24.7%29.0%22.4%
Agentic coding, Terminal-Bench 4.055.8%, and 60.9% for Mythos 5.142.0%52.3%37.3%
Knowledge work, GDPval-AA v21853172318241711
Computer use, OSWorld 2.0, partial credit77.9%72.9%75.4%not reported
Computer use, OSWorld 2.0, strict41.7%36.1%39.6%not reported
Multidisciplinary reasoning, Humanity’s Last Exam, no tools60.9%57.8%56.6%not reported
Business workflows, AutomationBench31.4%17.1%26.9%19.6%
Agentic coding, CursorBench 3.2.073.4%70.5%70.0%67.2%
Figures from Anthropic's Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1 announcement, September 2026. A vendor-run benchmark is evidence of what the vendor measured, not an independent result, and the competitor column was selected by the party being compared to. Reproduced as data rather than as their chart.

Two rows in that table deserve more attention than the headline.

The first is the science row. Within the Fable line, Terminal-Bench-Science moves from 24.7% to 52.6%, which is more than a doubling rather than an increment, and it beats Opus 5's 29.0% by a wide margin. It is also the row that sits closest to the safeguard that was relaxed. A model that is substantially better at agentic scientific work is also a model that is substantially better at reading a crash dump.

The second is that OSWorld appears twice. The same model on the same benchmark scores 77.9% under partial credit and 41.7% under strict. Anthropic publishes both, which is to its credit. But the number that will travel is the first one, and it is nearly double the second. Whenever you see a computer-use figure quoted without its scoring mode, that is the missing half.

Anthropic also published a demonstration rather than a benchmark for the science claim, and it is worth watching for what it does not assert.

Nothing loads from YouTube until you press play. The claim in it is narrower than a benchmark row and stronger in one respect: the verification happened at a bench rather than in a scoring harness. It is also, unavoidably, a vendor demonstration of its own model, chosen by the vendor from the results it obtained.

The price did not fall. One line item did.

Now the money, because the reporting on this is going to be wrong in a way that matters to anyone writing a budget.

One cell changed, and it is the whole price cut

ONE CELL CHANGED. IT IS THE WHOLE PRICE CUT.US dollars per million tokens, from Anthropic’s published pricing table.INPUT5M WRITE1H WRITECACHE READOUTPUTClaude Fable 5$10$12.50$20$1.00$50Claude Fable 5.1$10$12.50$20$0.25$50Claude Opus 5$5$6.25$10$0.50$25the only figure that movedSO THE HEADLINE SAVING IS A FACT ABOUT YOUR WORKLOAD, NOT ABOUT THE MODELA cache read fell 75%. Anthropic reports a typical bill falling 25%, so cache reads were a third of it.They report an agentic bill falling 45%, so on that workload cache reads were 60% of the total.your saving = 0.75 × your cache-read share of the billAND ONE MODEL IS NO LONGER PRICED LIKE THE OTHERSA cache read costs 0.1× base input on every Claude model, and 0.025× on Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1.Fable 5.1 reads cache at half the price of Opus 5, while its input costs twice as much.Rates and the 0.025× multiplier from Anthropic’s own pricing documentation. The two workload figures are from the announcement,measured at default effort over four weeks of actual usage in August 2026.
The formula is the useful part. Cache reads are a line item in the console, so a reader can take their own share and get their own number rather than the average of somebody else’s four weeks. A team doing short, varied, low-context work will see very little of the 25%; a team running long agentic sessions over a large codebase will see more than it.
Rates in US dollars per million tokens from Anthropic's published pricing table, with the arithmetic the announcement implies but does not state.

Fable 5.1 costs $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens. So did Fable 5. The five-minute cache write is $12.50 in both. The one-hour cache write is $20 in both. Every published rate is identical, to the cent, except one: a cache read fell from $1.00 to $0.25.

That single change is the entire "25% cheaper" headline, and it makes the saving a fact about your workload rather than about the model.

The arithmetic is straightforward and Anthropic supplies both ends of it without joining them. A cache read fell 75%. If a typical bill falls 25%, then cache reads must have been a third of that bill. If a highly agentic bill falls 45%, cache reads were 60% of it. Generalise and you get a line any team can apply to its own console figures:

Your saving equals 0.75 multiplied by the share of your bill that is cache reads.

If your work is short, varied and low-context, your cache-read share is small and you will see very little of the 25%. If you run long agentic sessions over a large codebase, you may see more than 45%. The averages in the announcement are measured "at default effort over four weeks of actual usage in August 2026", which is a genuinely useful disclosure and also, necessarily, somebody else's four weeks.

There is a caveat in the announcement that cuts the other way, and it is easy to miss. Fable 5.1 defaults to High effort in Claude Code, and to Medium in Claude Cowork and on Claude.ai. A higher effort setting means more tokens. A team measuring its bill after the upgrade is measuring two changes at once, and only one of them is a reduction.

The pricing footnote nobody has picked up

There is one more thing in the pricing documentation that did not make the announcement. Anthropic publishes a general rule for what a cache hit costs: 0.1 times the base input price. That rule now carries a parenthetical exception. It reads: "0.1x base input price (0.025x on Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1)".

Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 are the only models in the table not priced on the standard multiplier, and since Mythos is available to almost nobody, Fable 5.1 is the one most readers will meet. The consequence is a genuine oddity. Fable 5.1 input costs $10 per million tokens against Opus 5's $5, and its output costs $50 against $25. On both of those it is exactly twice the price. But its cache reads cost $0.25 against Opus 5's $0.50, which is half.

For a workload dominated by cache reads, and Anthropic's own figure says an agentic workload is 60% cache reads, the relative economics of the two models are no longer what the headline rates imply. That is worth modelling before assuming the cheaper-looking model is the cheaper one.

The footnote under the table, which changes what some of it measures

Beneath the benchmark chart, in smaller type, Anthropic prints this:

"Fable 5.1 was evaluated with its production safeguards enabled. On tasks where these safeguards intervened, Fable 5.1 and Fable 5 scored a zero on OSWorld 2.0, and Fable 5 scored a zero on AutomationBench. In all other interventions from our safeguards, cybersecurity tasks were completed by Claude Opus 4.8, and biology tasks were completed by Claude Opus 5. This likely reduces the performance of Fable 5.1 and Fable 5 on these benchmarks."

Two different things are happening in those four sentences, and only one of them is generous to Anthropic.

The first is a floor, and it is to their credit. Where a safeguard blocked a task on OSWorld 2.0, the model was scored zero rather than excused. The published figure is therefore a lower bound on capability, measured with the product's real controls in place. Most vendors would have run it with the safeguards off and quietly reported the larger number, which is exactly what makes the OpenAI comparison in the row above interesting.

The second is harder. On every other benchmark where a safeguard intervened, the task was completed by a different model: Claude Opus 4.8 for cybersecurity tasks and Claude Opus 5 for biology tasks. Those completions sit inside Fable 5.1's column.

So on some subset of the science and coding rows, an unstated number of tasks were finished by something other than the model named at the top of that column. Anthropic does not say how many, and without that number nobody outside the company can tell whether it is a rounding detail or a material contribution to the row that moved most.

This is disclosed rather than hidden, and it deserves credit for being printed at all. It is also printed under a chart, in the smallest type on the page, which is a reasonable prediction about how many people will read it.

What the announcement does not cover

Two absences are worth stating, because both will be filled in by guesswork otherwise.

Nothing in the announcement concerns subscription plans. Every price in it is per token, framed as applying "wherever usage is billed by token, such as on our API". Pro and Max are not mentioned, and no statement is made about how Fable 5.1 is metered inside a subscription. A 25% reduction in token-billed cost does not translate mechanically into a subscription allowance, and anyone reporting that it does is going beyond the source.

And Enterprise Frontier Safeguards, the new data-retention arrangement, is not available yet. Anthropic describes it as storing data in cloud infrastructure controlled entirely by the customer rather than by Anthropic, giving "complete privacy (the same as a zero data retention policy)". It is to be made available to enterprise customers "in phases, beginning later this fall". Until then, eligible customers can use Fable 5.1 with conventional zero data retention. It is a commitment with a rough date, not a control you can procure today.

What is stated, and what is not settled

The claimWhat is actually statedWhat it does not settle
Roughly 25% cheaperCache reads fell 75%, to $0.25 per million tokens. Every other published rate is unchanged.Your own saving, which is 0.75 times your cache-read share. Nothing here is a discount on input or output.
Vulnerability discovery is now allowedFable 5.1 “can now be used to discover software vulnerabilities, though not to develop exploits for them”.Where the boundary sits in practice, how it is enforced, or what happens to a request that sits between the two.
The safeguards are robustExternal testing by two organisations plus Gray Swan; Anthropic has “not found evidence of a critical-severity jailbreak”.Whether one exists. The claim made is about what testing found, and it is the correct form of the claim.
Complete privacy with EFSData stored in cloud infrastructure controlled by the customer, equivalent to zero data retention.Availability. It arrives for enterprise customers in phases “beginning later this fall”, so it is not procurable now.
Frontier cyber capability for defendersMythos 5.1 is available through trusted access, currently to “a set of US organizations”.Access outside the United States, which Anthropic says it is coordinating with the US government to widen.
Column two quotes or closely paraphrases Anthropic's announcement and pricing documentation of 1 September 2026. Column three is the question a security or procurement reader still has to ask, and none of it asserts that Anthropic does anything it says it does not.

What to do about it

Take this with you

This week, if your organisation uses Claude at scale

  • Work out your own cache-read share before you tell anyone the bill is falling 25%. The console breaks tokens out by type, and the saving is 0.75 times that share. For short, low-context work it may round to nothing.
  • Separate the two changes when you measure. Fable 5.1 defaults to High effort in Claude Code and Medium elsewhere, so an upgrade moves token volume and token price at the same time and the net can go either way.
  • Model Fable 5.1 against Opus 5 on your actual token mix rather than on the headline rates. Fable reads cache at half Opus’s price while its input and output cost twice as much, so the ranking depends entirely on the shape of your workload.
  • Write down that the cyber safeguard is a policy layer in front of a model that already has the capability, and that the layer was deliberately loosened in this release. That belongs in the risk register for any AI tooling that touches security work, stated as fact rather than as a concern.
  • Decide now whether your data-retention requirement can wait for Enterprise Frontier Safeguards, which arrives for enterprise customers in phases later this autumn, or whether you need the existing zero-retention arrangement in the contract today.
  • If you are a defender outside the United States, treat Mythos 5.1 access as an open question rather than a roadmap item. The announcement commits to coordination, not to a date.

Sources

  1. PrimaryClaude designs proteins that bind in the lab, the demonstration accompanying the scientific research claimAnthropicaccessed 2026-09-01
  2. PrimaryIntroducing Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1, September 2026Anthropicaccessed 2026-09-01
  3. PrimaryModel pricing, including the 0.025x cache-read multiplier for Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1Anthropicaccessed 2026-09-01

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.