Absolute says Secure Access servers 13.0 to 14.60 have a critical authentication bypass, fixed in 14.61
Absolute published two critical Secure Access CVE records on 2 November 2026: an authentication bypass (13.0 to 14.60) and a request forgery (14.60 only), four days after dating the 14.61 fix. The records do not say which interface or settings, and neither is in CISA's exploited list.
By Parminder Kumar Sharma · LinkedIn · · 16 min read
Four days between Absolute's fix and the CVE records
Absolute dated its Secure Access 14.61 release notes and its security advisory 29 October 2026. The CVE records for two of the five flaws that advisory lists, CVE-2026-116769 and CVE-2026-97718, were published on 2 November 2026 at 20:06 and 20:00 UTC. That is four days after the date on the vendor's pages (derived from the printed dates), and the two records are 5 minutes 39 seconds apart (derived). A process driven by CVE feeds alone would have learned of a critical authentication bypass in a remote access product four days after, by Absolute's own dates, the fixed software was available to customers.
What that does not establish: that anyone has used either flaw, how many servers run an affected version, or which settings an attacker could change. At 11:26 UTC on 3 November 2026, CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogue (version 2026.10.30, 1,766 entries) listed neither CVE, and neither CVE record carries a CISA assessment block. Absolute's pages say nothing about exploitation either way.
What Absolute does say is short. CVE-2026-116769 is "an authentication bypass vulnerability in Secure Access servers starting with version 13.0 and prior to 14.61", and "Attackers can modify security settings of a client via the server." Absolute, acting as its own CVE numbering authority, scores it 9.3, critical, on CVSS 4.0. CVE-2026-97718 is a cross site request forgery in version 14.60 only, where "an attacker can cause an admin to create an account under their control", scored 9.4, critical. Absolute's advisory says both are addressed in Secure Access 14.61, that "Secure Access SaaS customers are not impacted by these vulnerabilities", and that self hosted customers should schedule a maintenance window "as soon as possible".
This briefing is built from the primaries: the two CVE records, Absolute's own pages for each CVE, its 14.61 and 14.60 advisories and release notes, the product page, the GitHub and NVD copies, the CISA catalogue and the CVSS 4.0 specification, read from about 11:24 to 11:33 UTC on 3 November 2026. The release notes sit in a script driven community portal that a plain download cannot read, so they were read in a real browser tab and saved as text. Nothing was downloaded from Absolute's software area, no form was filled in, and this site did not run or test the software.
What Secure Access is, in Absolute's words
Absolute's Secure Access page calls it "a product suite" delivering "secure, resilient, Zero Trust connections to private apps, cloud services, and websites". The suite starts, the page says, with "a self-healing, intelligent client that acts as a distributed firewall", and comes in three editions: Core, Edge and Enterprise. Absolute's vulnerability archive says Secure Access and Insights for Network were "formerly Mobility and Mobile IQ", and an older notice names the product "NetMotion Mobility/Absolute Secure Access".
The records speak of "Secure Access servers". The pages read give pieces of what that server holds: the 14.61 notes mention a "web console UI", the 14.60 notes list "multiple authentication profiles for console login" and a "new REST API with modern OAuth authentication", and the eMudhra advisory separates "Absolute Secure Access self-hosted" from the cloud service. None of those pages defines in one sentence what the server does, or which of its interfaces faces clients and which faces administrators. That gap matters in the next section.
The two records side by side
The two CVE records published by Absolute on 2 November 2026 (CVE.org record format, read 3 November 2026). Scores and metrics are Absolute's own as CNA; no other assessor has added one.
| Item | CVE-2026-116769 | CVE-2026-97718 |
|---|---|---|
| Title in the record | Authentication bypass in Secure Access Servers | CSRF in Secure Access Server v14.60 |
| Affected, as printed | Secure Access, server, version 13.0 up to but not including 14.61 | Secure Access, version 14.60 (no range, no fixed version field) |
| CVSS 4.0 | 9.3 critical | 9.4 critical |
| How it is reached | Network, low complexity, no requirements, no privileges, no user interaction | Network, low complexity, no requirements, no privileges, passive user interaction |
| Impact on the vulnerable system | Integrity high, confidentiality and availability none | Confidentiality, integrity and availability all high |
| Impact on a subsequent system | Confidentiality and integrity high, availability none | Confidentiality, integrity and availability all high |
| Weakness type (CWE) | None given | None given |
| Reserved, published | 26 October 21:43 UTC, 2 November 20:06 UTC | 24 September 22:30 UTC, 2 November 20:00 UTC |
| Other assessors | None in the record; NVD status Received | None in the record; NVD status Received |
Two readings of the vectors need care, and both are this site's reading of the CVSS 4.0 specification, not Absolute's words. First, the specification says a "None" rating for impact on a subsequent system means no loss there, or that all impact "is constrained to the Vulnerable System". The bypass record rates the subsequent system's confidentiality and integrity high, so the scorer is saying the damage lands beyond the server, which fits a description in which a client is changed through it. The record names no client, though. Second, the specification describes the passive value of user interaction as "limited interaction by the targeted user" that is "involuntary", and lists most cross site request forgery among its examples. So "passive" in the second record means a person's browser has to be involved, not that nobody is.
What "modify security settings of a client via the server" does and does not say
"Authentication bypass" is Absolute's label, and the record gives no weakness type to back or narrow it. The word the vector adds is "privileges required: none": no account is needed. The sentence that does the work is "Attackers can modify security settings of a client via the server." It leaves open which settings, which clients, and which door. It does not say whether the caller reaches the administrator's web console or the service the clients connect to, and nothing in the primaries says how many clients one server manages.
The product page gives a reason to ask which settings. If the client really is "a distributed firewall", then a security setting on it may be a protective one. That is inference, and the record says none of it. The integrity impact on the vulnerable system is rated high, which says the server's own data can be changed, and the subsequent system rating says something further out is affected too. Neither tells a defender which setting to look at.
The version range gives one useful limit. The bypass is recorded from 13.0, so it was not introduced by the features the 14.60 release notes list, such as the new REST API or the multiple console login profiles. The second flaw is different: it is recorded for 14.60 only, and the records do not say whether it sits in any of those new features.
The request forgery: one version, one administrator's browser
The second record reads: "Because of a bypassed security control, an attacker can cause an admin to create an account under their control." The control is not named, so this briefing cannot say whether it is a request origin check, a token, a cookie rule or something else. The outcome is named: a new account the attacker controls. What access that account would have, and whether it is an administrator account, is not stated. The score treats everything as at risk, with all six impact ratings high.
14.60 was released on 7 October, by the date on its release notes, and 14.61 on 29 October, a gap of 22 days between the two releases (derived). The identifier CVE-2026-97718 sits next to the four identifiers Absolute listed as fixed in 14.60, CVE-2026-97714 to 97717, and was reserved on 24 September, 13 days before 14.60 shipped (derived). A reservation date is not a discovery date, and the record's source field says discovery is "UNKNOWN", so none of this says when the forgery was found.
One practical consequence follows from the two ranges. A server on 14.60 is in scope for both flaws, the bypass (13.0 through 14.60) and the forgery (14.60 only), and both are listed as addressed in the same release.
Which versions, and does 14.61 cover both?
Absolute's advisory for 14.61 prints the ranges as: CVE-2026-97718 "Impacts version 14.60 only"; CVE-2026-116769 "Impacts versions 13.0 through 14.60". The record for the bypass says 13.0 up to but not including 14.61, which is the same set. The record for the forgery lists only 14.60 and no fixed version, and the advisory and release notes supply the rest: both CVEs sit under "addressed in Secure Access 14.61", and the 14.61 release notes say the highest CVSS score among the fixes is 9.4, which matches the forgery. So the answer to whether 14.61 fixes both is yes, on Absolute's pages, and the fixed version is stated only in Absolute's text, not in the machine readable record of the forgery.
Two data quality points for anyone matching records to inventories. The records for the two flaws name the vendor "Absolute Security", while the records for three other 14.61 flaws name it "Absolute Software" (derived from reading all five). And the middle of the bypass range is not itemised: no record lists the releases between 13.0 and 14.60, so a tool needs Absolute's own version scheme to decide where a server falls.
Dates: reserved, fixed, published
The dates printed in the primaries, in order. Times are UTC where the source gives them. Derived gaps are in the paragraph below.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 24 Sep 22:30 | CVE-2026-97718 reserved | CVE record |
| 7 Oct | Secure Access 14.60 release notes and advisory dated | Absolute |
| 26 Oct 21:43 | CVE-2026-116769 reserved (as were 116766, 116767, 116768) | CVE records |
| 29 Oct | 14.61 release notes, advisory and both per CVE pages dated | Absolute |
| 30 Oct | CISA catalogue version in force on 3 Nov | CISA |
| 2 Nov 16:31 | Absolute's site stamp for its last publish of the CVE pages | Absolute page source |
| 2 Nov 20:00 to 20:27 | All five 14.61 CVE records published, 97718 first, 116768 last | CVE records |
| 2 Nov 20:17 and 20:18 | NVD copies of 116769 and 97718, status Received | NVD |
| 2 Nov 21:31 and 21:32 | GitHub copies, both unreviewed | GitHub |
Derived from those dates: four days from 29 October to the records; 35 days from reserving CVE-2026-97718 to the fix and 39 to its record; 3 days from reserving CVE-2026-116769 to the fix and 7 to its record; and 27 minutes 11 seconds from the first of the five records to the last. Absolute's security page says "Once fixes are available, we release details of the vulnerabilities", and the sequence fits that: the fixed release came first, the write up after. One caution. The per CVE pages are dated 29 October, but the site stamp in their source reads 2 November 16:31 UTC, so this briefing can confirm they were live by 2 November and cannot confirm they were live on 29 October. The 14.61 advisory page carries the same 29 October date and lists all five CVE numbers.
What Absolute tells customers to do, and what it does not
The advisory says: "Absolute recommends that Secure Access customers schedule a maintenance window as soon as possible to update servers to 14.61 and Insights for Network to 4.51." It adds that software is in the downloads section of the Absolute Community, and that "Secure Access SaaS customers are not impacted". Self hosted servers are therefore the whole exposure on Absolute's account.
No page read prints a workaround, a configuration change, a detection method or a log to check, and none says what an administrator should look at after updating. The records give no credit line and no solution field. The 14.61 release also carries three further flaws, listed below, and the mitigation for the eMudhra certificate compromise, so one maintenance window covers more than these two CVEs.
The other three CVEs in Absolute's 14.61 advisory, from their CVE.org records (read 3 November 2026). All three are published as denial of service.
| CVE | Record description, in short | CVSS 4.0 |
|---|---|---|
| CVE-2026-116766 | Improper input handling, versions between 13.0 and prior to 14.61; attackers can cause a persistent denial of service of the server | 8.3 high |
| CVE-2026-116767 | Improper input handling, versions prior to 14.61; authenticated attackers can cause a persistent denial of service | 7.1 high |
| CVE-2026-116768 | Missing length validation, versions prior to 14.61; authenticated attackers can cause a persistent denial of service when connecting for the first time | 7.1 high |
Is anyone using these, and how many servers are exposed?
On the record, no signal either way. CISA's catalogue (version 2026.10.30, released 30 October 17:02 UTC) lists neither CVE, and was the latest at 11:26 UTC on 3 November; it can change at any time, so check it. Neither CVE record has a container from CISA, so there is no exploitation or automation rating. Both vectors leave exploit maturity at "not defined". NVD shows both as "Received", with no NVD analysis. GitHub's two advisories are unreviewed and list no affected package.
How many Secure Access servers face the internet, or any network at all, is not stated anywhere read, and no internet scan data was read for this briefing. A network attack vector in the score describes where an attacker can be, not where servers are. The question of who is exposed belongs to each operator's inventory.
What is stated, and what is not
Stated and not stated in the primaries read on 3 November 2026.
| Question | Stated | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Which versions | Bypass: 13.0 through 14.60. Forgery: 14.60 only. | Releases between 13.0 and 14.60 are not listed |
| Fixed in | 14.61, per Absolute's advisory and the bypass record | A fixed version in the forgery's record |
| Who is affected | Self hosted servers; SaaS customers are not impacted | How many servers, or which are reachable |
| How it is reached | Network, no privileges; forgery needs a passive user | Console or client facing service |
| What an attacker gets | Client security settings change; an admin makes an account | Which settings; what the account can do |
| Link between the two | Same release fixes both; 14.60 is in both ranges | Any chain between them |
| Exploitation | Neither is in the CISA catalogue of 30 October | Any use, by anyone |
| What to do besides updating | Nothing printed | A workaround, a detection method or a log to check |
What to do, in order
Take this with you
Actions for operators of self hosted Secure Access
- List every Secure Access server and its exact version. Versions 13.0 through 14.60 are in scope for the bypass and 14.60 for the forgery. If your deployment is Absolute's SaaS service, Absolute says it is not impacted; confirm that with your account contact.
- Update servers to 14.61 in the first maintenance window you can get, as Absolute advises, and confirm the running version afterwards. Insights for Network moves to 4.51 in the same advisory.
- Until then, and as this site's suggestion rather than Absolute's (it prints no workaround): keep the server's administration console off networks and devices that do not need it, and avoid using the console while logged in from a browser that is also used for general browsing.
- Review the list of administrator accounts for any nobody can account for, which is the stated outcome of the forgery. This is this site's suggestion.
- Review client security settings and policies for changes you did not make since the server was deployed, since the bypass is described as changing a client's security settings. This is this site's suggestion; the records do not say what is logged. The 14.60 notes mention enhanced syslog export to a SIEM, and whether that records settings changes is not stated.
- Ask Absolute support which interface the bypass is reached through, which settings it can change, and what records the server keeps of changes. Those are the three answers the public pages lack.
- Check the CISA catalogue and Absolute's advisory page again before relying on this briefing, since an exploitation listing would change the order of the list.
Technical details
The primaries print descriptions, scores, version ranges and dates. They print no indicators, no log lines, no requests, no configuration to set and no detection rules, and this briefing adds none. What follows is what they do print, copied exactly except where noted, so a defender can feed it to an inventory or scanner.
The two descriptions, as the CVE.org records print them. Line breaks are the record's own.
CVE-2026-116769 is an authentication bypass
vulnerability in Secure Access servers starting with version 13.0 and prior to
14.61. Attackers can modify security settings of a client via the server.
CVE-2026-97718 Is a cross-site request forgery vulnerability
in version 14.60 of the Secure Access server. Because of a bypassed security control, an
attacker can cause an admin to create an account under their control.
The CVSS 4.0 vectors and scores, as Absolute assigned them in each record. Paste them into a CVSS 4.0 calculator to see each metric in turn.
CVE-2026-116769 9.3 CRITICAL
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:N/VI:H/VA:N/SC:H/SI:H/SA:N
CVE-2026-97718 9.4 CRITICAL
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:P/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H
The affected product data the records print, and the same ranges as Absolute's 14.61 advisory prints them.
CVE-2026-116769
vendor: Absolute Security
product: Secure Access
status: affected
version: 13.0
lessThan: 14.61
versionType: Server
defaultStatus: unaffected
CVE-2026-97718
vendor: Absolute Security
product: Secure Access
status: affected
version: 14.60
defaultStatus: unaffected
Absolute recommends that Secure Access customers schedule a maintenance window as soon as possible to update servers to 14.61 and Insights for Network to 4.51.
Absolute CVEs addressed in Secure Access 14.61:
CVE-2026-97718: 9.4, Critical (Impacts version 14.60 only)
CVE-2026-116769: 9.3, Critical (Impacts versions 13.0 through 14.60)
CVE-2026-116766: 8.3, High (Impacts versions 13.0 through 14.60)
CVE-2026-116767: 7.1, High (Impacts all versions through 14.60)
CVE-2026-116768: 7.1 High (Impacts all versions through 14.60)
Secure Access SaaS customers are not impacted by these vulnerabilities.
CVE-2026-97718 dateReserved 2026-09-24T22:30:33Z datePublished 2026-11-02T20:00:40Z
CVE-2026-116769 dateReserved 2026-10-26T21:43:51Z datePublished 2026-11-02T20:06:19Z
CVE-2026-116766 dateReserved 2026-10-26T21:43:51Z datePublished 2026-11-02T20:16:26Z
CVE-2026-116767 dateReserved 2026-10-26T21:43:51Z datePublished 2026-11-02T20:23:10Z
CVE-2026-116768 dateReserved 2026-10-26T21:43:51Z datePublished 2026-11-02T20:27:51Z
Absolute 14.61 release notes and advisory: Oct 29, 2026
Absolute 14.60 release notes and advisory: Oct 7, 2026
catalogVersion: 2026.10.30 dateReleased: 2026-10-30T17:02:45Z count: 1766
CVE-2026-116769 in catalogue: no
CVE-2026-97718 in catalogue: no
Any entry naming Absolute or NetMotion: none
The question that exposes the gap
If a caller with no account can change the security settings of your clients through your own server, which of those settings would you notice changing, who would see it, and how long ago would the change have to happen before your records ran out? Absolute's pages answer none of the three, so the answers have to come from your own server logs and your own change history.
Key facts
Sources
- PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-116769: title, description, affected range 13.0 up to 14.61, CVSS 4.0 9.3, dates reserved 26 October and published 2 November 2026CVE Program (record published by Absolute)accessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-97718: cross site request forgery in 14.60, CVSS 4.0 9.4, dates reserved 24 September and published 2 November 2026CVE Program (record published by Absolute)accessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's own page for CVE-2026-116769, dated 29 October 2026: description and CVSS 9.3 criticalAbsolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's own page for CVE-2026-97718, dated 29 October 2026: description, CVSS 9.4 critical and 'Impacts 14.60 only'Absolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's security advisory for Secure Access 14.61 and Insights for Network 4.51, dated 29 October 2026: the five CVEs, their ranges, the update advice and the SaaS statementAbsolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimarySecure Access 14.61 release notes, dated 29 October 2026, read in a browser tab (script driven page): maintenance release, highest CVSS 9.4, non security fixesAbsolute Communityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's security advisory for Secure Access 14.60, published 7 October 2026: the four CVEs fixed there (CVE-2026-97714 to 97717)Absolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimarySecure Access 14.60 release notes, dated 7 October 2026, read in a browser tab: release highlights including the new REST API and console login profilesAbsolute Communityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's Secure Access product page: what the suite and its client are said to do, and the three editionsAbsolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's vulnerability archive index: the 'formerly Mobility and Mobile IQ' wording and the NetMotion Mobility namingAbsolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's security practices page: the statement that details are released once fixes are availableAbsolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryAbsolute's eMudhra certificate advisory, 23 October 2026: self hosted versus cloud Secure Access, and the mitigation carried in 14.61Absolute Securityaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-116766, a denial of service fixed in 14.61 (8.3)CVE Program (record published by Absolute)accessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-116767, an authenticated denial of service fixed in 14.61 (7.1)CVE Program (record published by Absolute)accessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryCVE.org record for CVE-2026-116768, an authenticated denial of service fixed in 14.61 (7.1)CVE Program (record published by Absolute)accessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryGitHub's unreviewed copy of CVE-2026-116769, published 2 November 2026 21:31 UTC: same description and score, no affected package listedGitHubaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryGitHub's unreviewed copy of CVE-2026-97718, published 2 November 2026 21:32 UTC: same description and score, no affected package listedGitHubaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryCISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogue, version 2026.10.30, 1,766 entries, checked at 11:26 UTC on 3 November 2026: neither CVE listedCISAaccessed 2026-11-03
- PrimaryCVSS 4.0 specification: the definitions of passive user interaction and of impact on a subsequent systemFIRSTaccessed 2026-11-03
- Reported byNVD entry for CVE-2026-116769, status Received, the CNA's score onlyNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-03
- Reported byNVD entry for CVE-2026-97718, status Received, the CNA's score onlyNIST National Vulnerability Databaseaccessed 2026-11-03


