P.K. SHARMA

Cyber security intelligence, AI governance, practitioner analysis

Mistral Large 4 weights: 1.06 TB at FP8, about 52 GB read a token, and a cyber lead its chart lacks

Mistral released the weights of Mistral Large 4 on 29 October 2026: 1,060.6 GB at FP8, about 52 GB read per token, and a licence that restricts hosting for others. Read at 18:25 to 18:42 GMT, its own cyber chart shows two open weight rivals ahead.

By · LinkedIn · · 26 min read

The FP8 weights are 1,060.6 GB, and each token reads about 52 GB of them

Mistral AI released the weights of Mistral Large 4, nicknamed Le Chonk, on 29 October 2026. The public file listing on Hugging Face, read from 18:25 GMT that day, gives the size of the official FP8 checkpoint as 1,060,554,587,912 bytes in 54 files, and of the NVFP4 checkpoint as 610,042,251,312 bytes in 32 files. That is 1,060.6 GB and 610.0 GB in decimal units, a ratio of 1.74 to 1 (derived). Mistral calls the model a 1 trillion parameter mixture of experts. Its own documentation page says 1.05 trillion, and from the model's configuration file the routed experts alone come to 1.029 trillion parameters (derived: 71 sparse layers times 128 experts times 113,246,208 parameters each).

The model card says 49 billion parameters are active for each token, or 52 billion with the embedding and output layers. A decoded token has to read those weights from memory, and from the configuration this site derives about 51.5 GB read per token at FP8 and about 33.9 GB at NVFP4 (both derived, method below). So the 1.74 times saving in storage becomes a 1.52 times saving in the bytes each token reads, because the attention blocks and the output layer stay in higher precision. Mistral's launch material gives neither number.

What this arithmetic does not establish is speed, accuracy or safety. Every speed figure below is a bandwidth ceiling, an upper bound that ignores batching, interconnect and expert placement. The rest of the briefing is about the claims on top of that arithmetic. Mistral's post says the model is the best open weight model for coding. Its own cyber chart, read as published, shows two other open weight models above it. The independent pages read on the day, from Artificial Analysis and Vals AI, put it behind several open weight rivals on their composite scores, at a cost per task that is sometimes several times higher. The model is French and the weights are free to run, with one licence condition that matters to anyone who hosts it for others.

What it takes to run: the weights fit, the margins do not

The model card's own serving command for the FP8 checkpoint uses 8 GPUs with tensor parallelism and sets the memory fraction to 0.85. On 8 NVIDIA H200 GPUs, NVIDIA's product page gives 141 GB and 4.8 TB/s each, so 1,128 GB and 38.4 TB/s together (derived). The FP8 weights fill 94.0% of that, leaving 67.4 GB for everything else. At the card's 0.85 setting only 958.8 GB is usable, 101.8 GB short of the weights (derived). Hugging Face's launch post says it ships a recipe on 8 H200 GPUs through its Inference Endpoints, with 131K tokens of context and up to 16 requests at once. The flags are not printed. Inference: the weights alone need at least 94.0% of that memory, so the recipe cannot use the card's 0.85; what it uses is not stated.

Drawn to scale from the Hugging Face file listings, config.json and NVIDIA's pages, read 29 October 2026. The cache and the 4 x B300 figure are derived.

Named hardware against the two official checkpoints. Memory and bandwidth as printed on the vendors' pages, read 29 October 2026; everything in the third column is derived.

Hardware (vendor page)Memory and bandwidthWhat the arithmetic says
8 x H200 (NVIDIA)1,128 GB; 38.4 TB/s in total (141 GB and 4.8 TB/s each)FP8 weights fill 94.0%, leaving 67.4 GB. Ceiling 745 tokens a second at FP8.
DGX B200 (NVIDIA)1,440 GB; 64 TB/s HBM3eFP8 leaves 379.4 GB, NVFP4 leaves 830.0 GB. Ceilings 1,242 tokens a second at FP8, 1,886 at NVFP4.
DGX B300 (NVIDIA)2.1 TB across 8 GPUs; no bandwidth figure on the page readHalf of it is about 1,050 GB, room for NVFP4. Hugging Face's Dell recipe uses 4 GPUs. No ceiling computed.
GB300 NVL72 (NVIDIA)About 20 TB GPU memory; up to 576 TB/sOne NVFP4 copy is 3.05% of the rack's GPU memory. One stream cannot use a rack's bandwidth, so no ceiling is given.
Apple Silicon, 512 GB (Hugging Face post)Q2_K 2 bit quant on one M3 Ultra: prefill about 90 tokens a second, generation 15A third party quant. Mistral's card makes its no regression claim for NVFP4, not for 2 bit files.

How far the measured speed sits below the ceiling is the useful number. Hugging Face reports about 65 tokens a second for a single request on the 8 H200 recipe, and 120 to 138 on chat prompts where the draft head's guesses are accepted. Against the 745 tokens a second ceiling that is 8.7% for one request and 18.5% at the best chat figure (derived). The ceiling counts only the weight reads, which is why the gap is large: the all to all traffic between GPUs, the router, the indexer and the attention are not in it. Hugging Face also reports about 480 tokens a second in total across 1,000 ShareGPT conversations, which is a different thing: it is throughput, not the speed one user sees. Artificial Analysis measures 161.3 output tokens a second on Mistral's own API, on hardware and settings Mistral does not state.

Two smaller facts matter to a buyer. Mistral's card says an NVFP4 checkpoint targets Blackwell GPUs (B200, B300, GB200, GB300) and claims the same performance as FP8; the evaluation image on the NVFP4 card was not readable as text, so the size of any difference is not stated here. And the 2 bit files that run on a 512 GB Apple machine are made by the llama.cpp team, not by Mistral. Whether a 2 bit version holds the benchmark scores in the launch post is not stated anywhere.

The cache: 36,288 bytes a token, and what the card does not say about it

Hugging Face's post says the attention blocks combine Multi head Latent Attention with a sparse attention indexer, and the configuration shows how small that makes the cache. Each layer that keeps a cache stores 512 latent values plus 64 positional values per token, 576 in all (kv_lora_rank and qk_rope_head_dim in config.json). The kv_source_layers list shows that 63 of the 72 layers hold their own cache and 9 (layers 39, 43, 47, 51, 55, 59, 63, 67 and 71) read the cache of layer 35. That is 36,288 values a token. params.json sets an FP8 cache, so about 36,288 bytes a token, or 38.05 GB for one sequence of the full 1,048,576 tokens, and 76.1 GB if a server runs the cache in BF16 (all derived).

Drawn from config.json, params.json and the model card, read 29 October 2026. Figures marked derived are this site's arithmetic.

For comparison, plain multi head attention at this layout (64 key value heads, key width 128, value width 128, 72 layers) would hold 1,179,648 values a token, 32.5 times as many (derived). That is the sense in which a 1 million token context is practical here at all. The sparse indexer caps what attention reads at 2,048 positions for each query, so the cache reads for one decoded token are at most about 74 MB (derived: 2,048 times 576 times 63 at one byte), small beside the 52 GB of weights. The indexer itself must still score earlier tokens, and the card does not state its key cache layout. If each of its 44 full layers kept one 128 wide FP8 key per token, that would add 5.91 GB at 1,048,576 tokens, 15.5% on top of the latent cache. That is an assumption, not a figure from the card, and it is not in the diagram.

What the cache arithmetic means for a deployer is concurrency. On the 8 H200 recipe, 67.4 GB is left after the FP8 weights. Sixteen requests each at the full 131K context would need 76.1 GB of FP8 cache (derived), more than is left, so the recipe depends on requests being shorter than that, on prefix sharing, or on a higher memory fraction than the card shows. The FP8 command on the model card does not set a cache type. The NVFP4 card does, with a flag that it calls needed for that checkpoint (kv-cache-dtype fp8_ds_mla). What a default FP8 server does about the cache type is not stated.

Who ran each number, and what the independent record shows

A vendor chart is a claim. Mistral's post is explicit about the leaders it claims: the best open weight model for coding, the lead on FrontierCode and Terminal-Bench, a tie on the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index, and a model card line that calls it state of the art among open weight models for security work. The table separates who ran each number from what the pages of the benchmark owners show. Cost per task is beside every score that has one.

Coding and general claims against the independent record. Mistral's post, Hugging Face's post and the model card as published 29 October 2026; Artificial Analysis and Vals AI pages read the same day.

Claim as publishedWho ran itWhat the record shows
FrontierCode 2.0: 19.7%, a lead (Mistral's post)Cognition owns the private benchmark. The post does not say who ran the model on it, how many tasks, or give an interval.The next bar in the chart is DeepSeek V4.1 Flash at 19.3%: a lead of 0.4 points (derived). GLM-5.3 is 17.8%.
Terminal-Bench 4.0: 41%, a lead among open weight models (Mistral's post)The chart labels only the preview's 28% as self reported, which implies the 41% is not. Artificial Analysis lists 41.4%.GLM-5.3 is 40% in the same chart: a lead of 1.4 points (derived). Hugging Face's post prints 28.3% for Terminal-Bench 4; neither post explains the gap.
Coding Agent Index 48%, tied with GLM-5.3 at 47% fewer tokens (Mistral's post)Artificial Analysis. Each row is an agent plus a model: Mistral Vibe for Mistral Large 4, Opencode for GLM-5.3.48.3% at $1.26 a task and 8.45M tokens, against GLM-5.3 at 48.9%, $5.23 and 15.91M tokens: 46.9% fewer tokens (derived), different harnesses. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash in Codex is 47.3% at $0.39. Hugging Face's post gives 49.8%, built from other components.
Best open weight model for coding (Mistral's post); highest among western open weight models on the Intelligence Index (model card)Mistral, and Artificial Analysis for the index. The card adds that leading open models from China score higher.Intelligence Index v5.0: 26, rank 8 of 19 large open weight models on Artificial Analysis's page, $2.06 a task, 110M output tokens. Hugging Face's post says fifth best open weights model; the two differ.
Human preference on code (Mistral's post)Surge Code, blind pairwise. The post does not say how many prompts or graders.Mistral Large 4 won 64% against GLM-5.3 and Kimi K3, 56% against DeepSeek V4.1 Flash, and 22% against Claude Opus 5.5, which is the one closed model in the chart.
Vals Index v2.2 (not in the post)Vals AI, updated 29 October 2026, a mix of private and public benchmarks across finance, coding, legal and tax.Mistral Large 4 OSS: 56.42%, rank 17 of 30, $3.72 a test. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash 1017 is 61.26% at $0.66, MiMo V2.6 Pro 57.81% at $0.43, GLM 5.3 59.73% at $8.52 (cost ratios 5.6 and 8.7 against the first two, derived).
Mistral's own chart, captured from its launch post on 29 October 2026 and reproduced as published. The orange bar is Mistral's. Copyright Mistral AI.

None of these is a finding that the model is poor at coding. The Coding Agent Index puts it at 48.3%, among the open weight models on that page, at a cost per task that is lower than GLM-5.3's and higher than the cheapest rows. It is a finding about the wording. Best open weight coding model is a statement about a 0.4 point lead on one private benchmark and a 1.4 point lead on another, with no intervals, set against composite indexes that rank it 8th of 19 and 17th of 30, and against two open weight rivals that cost far less per test.

The cyber claim: 51 in Mistral's chart, 82 in Hugging Face's post, 79.4 on the benchmark owner's page

Cybersecurity is the post's headline theme, so it is the claim worth reading line by line. Mistral's chart of the Artificial Analysis Cyber Index shows Mistral Large 4 at 51%. The bars beside it are 34, 36, 41 and 50 for four rivals and 56 and 57 for MiMo V2.6 Pro and DeepSeek V4.1 Flash 1017. Two open weight models are above it in Mistral's own chart. The model card nonetheless says state of the art among open weight models for security work.

Mistral's own chart, captured from its launch post on 29 October 2026 and reproduced as published. The orange bar is Mistral's. Copyright Mistral AI.

Hugging Face's launch post says something different about the same index. It says the model scores 82% on the test of reproducing and then patching a real vulnerability, the highest reported score on it within the index, and that it ranks among the top five models globally on the Cyber Index. Artificial Analysis's own CyberGym E2E page, read the same day, lists Mistral Large 4 (High), the released model, at 79.4% on that test and the Mistral Large 4 Preview at 81.7%. The preview is not an open weight model. Kimi K3.1 Pro, which Artificial Analysis's data does not mark as open weights, is first at 94.7%. On the Cyber Index itself the same data gives Mistral Large 4 (High) 50.9, seventh by index value among the models in the table. Among open weight models, 79.4% is the highest CyberGym score, but the margin over MiMo V2.6 Pro's 78.6% is one task of 131 (derived: 104 against 103).

Artificial Analysis Cyber Index and its three parts, as listed in the data of its Cyber Index and CyberGym pages, read 29 October 2026. Index is the mean of the three.

Model (open weights unless noted)Cyber IndexCWE-Bench-AA and DeepsecBench-AACyberGym-E2E-AA
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash 1017 (Max)56.869.2 and 24.976.3
MiMo-V2.6-Pro56.163.3 and 26.278.6
Mistral Large 4 (High)50.958.3 and 15.079.4
GLM-5.3-Flash49.955.8 and 19.974.0
Step 5 Preview47.752.5 and 15.874.8
Kimi K3 (Max)41.353.3 and 12.558.0
GLM-5.3 (Max)36.455.8 and 24.329.0
Mistral Large 4 Preview (not open weights)49.550.8 and 16.081.7
Kimi K3.1 Pro (not marked open weights)64.160.8 and 36.794.7

Read the table by its parts. Mistral Large 4's Cyber Index is held down by DeepsecBench-AA, where it scores 15.0 against 24.9 and 26.2 for the two open weight models above it, while its CyberGym score is the best of the open weight group. That is a mixed profile, and it is what a defender needs to know before choosing the model for vulnerability triage rather than the one the headline suggests. Cost is not in the Cyber Index page text that was read: the cost per task chart on it is drawn by script, so no cyber cost figure is quoted here.

Two more differences between the posts are worth recording because they are the same kind. Mistral's post says the model resists 97.1% of attacks on the B3 agent security benchmark, against 93.3% for the preview. Hugging Face's post says 93.3% attack resistance on Lakera's B3 benchmark. 93.3% is the preview's figure in Mistral's chart and also GLM-5.3's. Hugging Face's post also contains a curl example whose model name is "muse-spark-open", which is a different vendor's model, apparently left over from another post's template. It is a small reason to read quickstart commands before pasting them. A reader who wants the Muse Spark Open numbers on the same terms can read this site's briefing on that release.

What Mistral says about safety, and what open weights change

Mistral's post makes three safety statements. First, an average refusal rate of 96.6% on malicious cyber requests, the highest it measures among open models, computed on the cyber related prompts of JailbreakBench, StrongREJECT and AgentHarm; its chart shows 94% for Kimi K3, 87% for GLM-5.3, 84% for Gemma 4 31B and 51% for DeepSeek V4 Pro. The post calls it a rate Mistral measures and gives no prompt count. Second, that the model handles legitimate defensive tasks without unnecessary refusals; Artificial Analysis records a refusal rate of 0 for it on CyberGym E2E, CWE-Bench-AA and DeepsecBench-AA, where several closed models are blocked on nearly all CyberGym tasks. Third, and the sentence that matters most: after the preview, Mistral monitored cyber related use in its live traffic and wrote that it sees "a potential for uplift to conduct real attacks" and is modifying its guardrails accordingly.

The post says that observation came from live traffic, which means the hosted service. It does not say whether the weights released today contain the modified guardrails, and the weights cannot be changed once downloaded. Mistral also says a specialised cyber variant is given to enterprise design partners under vetting and contractual safeguards, with testing restricted to owned or authorised systems. That variant is not what was released. The post and the model card publish no system card, no evaluation of how easily the refusals are removed by fine tuning, and no external red team report. Absence from those pages is not evidence that none exists, but none was found.

Mistral's post carries statements from about twenty named companies and bodies, including security vendors, a bank, an agency of the European Union and a cloud provider. They are endorsements of a kind the vendors chose to give, and most say tested, evaluating or experimenting rather than reporting a result. The statement from Booz Allen says the model matched recall rates of other frontier cyber models on its internal source code benchmark with a cost curve it calls compelling; it gives no figure. Cisco and Fortinet speak about open weight models in general; CrowdStrike says its work tests how well frontier AI reasons through vulnerabilities; Elastic says Mistral models are supported in its security product; Zscaler says its offerings now integrate with Mistral. None of the statements reports a measured result that can be checked.

What the UK AI Security Institute has published on open weight cyber risk

The launch has no UK angle of its own: the model is French, the post and card state no UK availability or data residency, and no UK regulator statement about it was found. The UK government's AI Security Institute has, however, published two pages on this very question, which are the nearest independent evidence on what the post's refusal figure means. Its blog of 17 July 2026 reports that the open weight models GLM-5.2 and DeepSeek V4 Pro perform like closed frontier models released 4 to 7 months before them on its cyber evaluations, narrower than the 6 to 10 months it measured through most of 2025. It adds that refusal training is "often easily reversible with access to the weights" and that its own tests of recent open weight models were largely unimpeded by safeguards.

The Institute says it will test further open weight models. A search of its site map, 218 pages, read on 29 October 2026, found no page naming Mistral or Mistral Large 4, so there is no UK government evaluation of this model to cite. The 96.6% refusal figure in the post is therefore a vendor measurement on public prompt sets, and the Institute's published findings on comparable models suggest it says little about a determined user with the weights.

"Open": what the label covers, and what the licence says

Mistral's post says the model is released with open weights and calls it "Fully open-weight" in the summary box at the top and "a modified MIT license" for the terms, with "a single condition". It uses the word sovereign throughout. The licence file is named the Mistral Ecosystem Open Weight License (the card's header says license: other), and Mistral's documentation page labels it version 26.10. The Hugging Face post calls it an MIT derivative that establishes limitations for model as a service offerings.

Read from the licence file itself, it grants use, copying, modification, merging, publication, distribution, sublicensing and sale of the model, including weights, parameters and configuration files, and permission to run, deploy, further train and make derivative works. Three conditions follow. First, the copyright notice stays in all copies. Second, if the licensee or any of its affiliates operates a Model as a Service business, the licensee must enter into a separate commercial licence with Mistral before using the model or its derivatives for any commercial purpose. Third, that second condition does not apply to internal use, defined as any use that does not make the model or its derivatives available to third parties, or to any use of the model accessed through Mistral's official products.

Three details differ from the post's one sentence summary. The condition reaches affiliates, so a group whose subsidiary runs an inference business is caught for the whole group. It covers any commercial purpose, not just the hosted service. And Model as a Service is defined broadly: giving a third party access for inference or post training by any means, such as an API or hosted endpoints, in a way that lets them exercise meaningful control over the inputs, parameters or training data. End user products with the capability embedded in specific features, and mere relaying of requests to models hosted by others, are excluded. This is this site's reading of the text, not legal advice, and where a particular business sits against that definition is a question for counsel. The licence does not name any host. The post says Microsoft Foundry offers the model and NVIDIA hosts it; the terms under which they do so are not stated.

There is no acceptable use policy in the licence file. The card's README adds one sentence, outside the licence, that the model must not be used in a manner that infringes a third party's rights. Artificial Analysis's page says commercial use is allowed with restrictions, and its charts have a separate category for open weights with commercial use restricted.

The Open Source Initiative's Open Source AI Definition, version 1.0, read in full, is stated only as a definition. It requires the freedom to use a system for any purpose without having to ask permission, and for the preferred form of modification to include data information sufficient for a skilled person to build a substantially equivalent system, the complete source code used to train and run it, and the parameters, all under approved terms. Against it, this release has parameters under a licence with a commercial permission step for one class of user, and the files read contain no description of training data and no training code. Mistral says a full technical report is coming soon. Mistral itself says open weight, not open source, which is the narrower claim.

Two other labels deserve the same test. Sovereign, in the post, rests on the model being trained from scratch in Europe with clear lineage from inception to release. The card says it was trained on 3,800 NVIDIA Grace Blackwell GPUs in Mistral's own datacenters in Europe. The location and the owner of the datacentres are stated; the accelerators are a US vendor's, and the data, the lineage documents and the training compute are not published. Defenders, in the post's tagline Trusted by Defenders, is addressed above: the measured cyber profile is mixed and the safety evidence is the vendor's own.

What the launch states, and what it leaves out

Stated and not stated, from the launch post, the model cards, the licence and the repository listings, read 29 October 2026.

ItemStated (where)Not stated
SizeAbout 1 trillion total, 49 billion active, 52 billion with embeddings (card); 1.05 trillion (docs page)Whether the vision encoder (1.6 billion) and the draft head are in those counts
Training hardware3,800 NVIDIA Grace Blackwell GPUs in Mistral's datacenters in Europe (card)Training time, total compute, energy, cost
Training dataNothing beyond 160 plus languages and a nominal European lineageSources, volume, filtering, licences, any opt out handling; a technical report is promised
Own benchmark runsScores and charts (post)Task counts, harness settings, intervals, who ran FrontierCode 2.0 for the post
Independent scoresCited from Artificial Analysis (post)That the figures in the post and on Artificial Analysis's pages agree: several do not
Safety evaluationA refusal average and a B3 figure, vendor run (post)A system card, resistance to fine tuning, an external red team, whether the released weights carry the modified guardrails
SpeedUp to 1.9 times faster with the draft head (card); measured speeds on 8 H200 (Hugging Face)Mistral's own throughput by hardware, and any figure for the cache layout of the indexer
LicenceModified MIT, one condition on Model as a Service businesses (all three sources)An acceptable use policy; how any named host is licensed
ProvenanceRepositories under the mistralai organisation; file sizes in the listingPublished file hashes or a signed release; the card does not print any

Mistral's interest is plain: it sells the hosted model through its API and Studio at 0.70 dollars per million input tokens, 0.07 for cached input and 2.10 for output, sells customisation through Forge and applied AI services, and the licence asks businesses that host the model for others to buy a commercial licence from it.

Technical details

The primaries print serving commands, configuration and file listings rather than indicators. Each block below is copied from the file named in its caption, read on 29 October 2026. They are what a deployer needs to size and pin the release. No exploit or weaponisation material is involved.

The serving command for the FP8 checkpoint on the model card. It sets 8 way tensor parallelism and a 0.85 memory fraction, which is the setting this briefing tests against 8 H200 memory.

bash
docker run --runtime nvidia --gpus all \
  -v ~/.cache/huggingface:/root/.cache/huggingface \
  -p 8000:8000 \
  --ipc=host \
  vllm/vllm-openai:mistral-large-4 \
  --model mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B \
  --tensor-parallel-size 8 \
  --tool-call-parser mistral \
  --reasoning-parser mistral \
  --enable-auto-tool-choice \
  --gpu-memory-utilization 0.85
Hugging Face model card README, mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B, section Serve the Model, read 29 October 2026.

The NVFP4 command, which adds the cache type flag the card calls needed for that checkpoint and runs on 8 GPUs; the SGLang command on the same card uses 4.

bash
docker run --runtime nvidia --gpus all \
  -v ~/.cache/huggingface:/root/.cache/huggingface \
  -p 8000:8000 \
  --ipc=host \
  vllm/vllm-openai:mistral-large-4 \
  --model mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B-NVFP4 \
  --tensor-parallel-size 8 \
  --kv-cache-dtype fp8_ds_mla \
  --tool-call-parser mistral \
  --reasoning-parser mistral \
  --enable-auto-tool-choice \
  --gpu-memory-utilization 0.85
Hugging Face model card README, mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B-NVFP4, section Serve the Model, read 29 October 2026.

The lines from config.json and params.json that fix the cache and the expert layout. The cache size in this briefing is derived from kv_lora_rank, qk_rope_head_dim, the 63 distinct entries of kv_source_layers and the FP8 cache setting; the expert arithmetic uses the others.

Text
"dtype": "bfloat16",
"quant_method": "fp8",
"weight_block_size": [
"hidden_size": 6144,
"index_topk": 2048,
"kv_lora_rank": 512,
"max_position_embeddings": 1048576,
"moe_intermediate_size": 6144,
"n_routed_experts": 128,
"n_shared_experts": 1,
"num_attention_heads": 64,
"num_experts_per_tok": 4,
"num_hidden_layers": 72,
"qk_rope_head_dim": 64,
"vocab_size": 204800,

params.json:
"fp8_indexer": true,
"fp8_kv_cache": true
Hugging Face config.json, mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B, selected lines in file order, and two lines from params.json, read 29 October 2026.

File sizes and revision identifiers as listed, so a deployer can record what was pinned. The Hugging Face programming interface gave these commit identifiers for the two repositories at the time of reading; they will change if Mistral updates the files. The release publishes no separate hash list or signature, so recording the revision and checking every shard size against the listing is the only provenance check available from the primary pages.

Text
mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B (FP8)
  revision f12dabdc0c1e99e7f7924461a6f308859b05af4d
  54 safetensors shards, 1,060,554,587,912 bytes
  index metadata total_size 1,060,548,427,328

mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B-NVFP4
  revision bb6d00fe249b0e876f0cffc6b85014be02de3e68
  32 safetensors shards, 610,042,251,312 bytes
  index metadata total_size 610,030,457,408
Hugging Face repository file listings and model API records for the two official checkpoints, read 29 October 2026. Totals are this site's sums of the shard sizes (derived).

The licence's definition of the one restricted business, as printed in the file. It is the text a lawyer should read before anyone hosts the model for a third party.

Text
"Model as a Service" means giving a third party access to the Model or its derivative works for inference or post-training by any means (for instance via API or hosted endpoints), in a manner that allows such third party to exercise meaningful control over the inputs, parameters, or training data. This does not include (a) end-user products with model capabilities solely embedded within specific features or harnesses, or (b) mere relaying of requests to models hosted by others.
LICENSE file, mistralai/Mistral-Large-4-1T-A52B, Mistral Ecosystem Open-Weight License, read 29 October 2026.

How the per token figures were derived. Experts: 113,246,208 parameters each, 5 active (4 routed and 1 shared) in each of 71 layers, 40.2 billion. The remainder of the card's 49 billion, 8.8 billion, is attention, the first dense layer, routers and the indexer, counted at one byte. The 1.26 billion parameter output layer is BF16, two bytes. For NVFP4 the experts are counted at 0.5625 bytes a parameter, which is what the file sizes imply (derived: the NVFP4 total minus the unchanged non expert bytes, over 1.029 trillion expert parameters, is 4.50 bits). The format's own definition was not read, so the one scale per 16 values is an inference from sizes. Result: 51.5 GB at FP8, 33.9 GB at NVFP4.

What to do, in order

Take this with you

A ranked checklist for a deployer

  • Decide first whether the use is internal, a product with the model embedded, or access for third parties. Have counsel read the Model as a Service clause against that, including the affiliates wording, before any file is downloaded.
  • Pin the release. Record the repository revision and the shard sizes, copy the files into your own store, and treat the weights as a supply chain asset with an owner. The release prints no hashes or signature.
  • Size memory for the cache and the batch, not only the weights. The FP8 weights are 94.0% of 8 H200 memory, and the model card's 0.85 setting does not fit them. Test your real concurrency and context.
  • Run your own evaluation on your own tasks and record cost per task beside the score. The independent pages put the model behind cheaper rivals on composite scores, and the posts disagree with each other on four numbers.
  • If the use is vulnerability triage, test it on your own code: its DeepsecBench-AA score is 15.0 where its CyberGym score is 79.4. Do not rely on a vendor refusal rate; test whether refusals survive your own fine tuning.
  • Red team before exposure to users or tools. The vendor's own B3 figure is 97.1% in one post and 93.3% in the other. Give any agent the minimum tools and keep a human gate on irreversible actions.
  • Log prompts, tool calls and outputs, restrict egress from the serving environment, and decide who sees the logs.
  • Record the model card version, the licence text and the date of the files in your register, and re run the evaluation when the promised technical report appears.

The question the launch leaves open

Mistral says the model refuses 96.6% of malicious cyber requests. In the same post it says that, watching live traffic, it sees potential for uplift to conduct real attacks. The weights are now on any machine that downloaded them, and the refusals live in the weights. Which of those two statements does your risk register rely on, and who tested it on your own deployment?

Key facts

Sources

  1. PrimaryMistral's launch post, read in full: the weights release, the charts (data attributes read from the page), the refusal and B3 figures, the live traffic statement, the partner quotes, the price and the licence sentenceMistral AIaccessed 2026-10-29
  2. PrimaryHugging Face's launch post of 29 October 2026: architecture, the 82% and top five cyber claims, 49.8% and 28.3% coding figures, measured 8 x H200 speeds, quants and recipesHugging Faceaccessed 2026-10-29
  3. PrimaryThe FP8 model card, read via its raw README: 3,800 GPUs, active parameters, the Intelligence Index sentence, serving commands, the draft headMistral AI (Hugging Face)accessed 2026-10-29
  4. Primaryconfig.json: layers, experts, kv_lora_rank, kv_source_layers, indexer types and the FP8 quantisation settingsMistral AI (Hugging Face)accessed 2026-10-29
  5. Primaryparams.json: the FP8 cache and indexer flags, the draft head and the cache sharing listMistral AI (Hugging Face)accessed 2026-10-29
  6. PrimaryThe Mistral Ecosystem Open-Weight License file, read in fullMistral AI (Hugging Face)accessed 2026-10-29
  7. PrimaryThe FP8 repository file listing: shard names and sizes, used for 1,060.6 GBHugging Faceaccessed 2026-10-29
  8. PrimaryThe NVFP4 model card, read via its raw README: Blackwell target, the cache type flag, the no regression claimMistral AI (Hugging Face)accessed 2026-10-29
  9. PrimaryThe NVFP4 repository file listing: shard sizes, used for 610.0 GBHugging Faceaccessed 2026-10-29
  10. PrimaryMistral's documentation page: 1.05T total, 52B active, licence version 26.10, price, preview dateMistral AIaccessed 2026-10-29
  11. PrimaryH200 page: 141 GB and 4.8 TB/s per GPUNVIDIAaccessed 2026-10-29
  12. PrimaryDGX B200 page: 1,440 GB total and 64 TB/s HBM3e bandwidthNVIDIAaccessed 2026-10-29
  13. PrimaryDGX B300 page: 8 GPUs and 2.1 TB total GPU memoryNVIDIAaccessed 2026-10-29
  14. PrimaryGB300 NVL72 page: 20 TB GPU memory and up to 576 TB/sNVIDIAaccessed 2026-10-29
  15. PrimaryThe Open Source AI Definition version 1.0, read in full: the freedoms and the data, code and parameter requirementsOpen Source Initiativeaccessed 2026-10-29
  16. PrimaryAISI blog of 17 July 2026 on open weight cyber capability and the 4 to 7 month gap; refusal training and safeguardsUK AI Security Instituteaccessed 2026-10-29
  17. PrimaryAISI blog of 29 August 2025 on risk management for open weight systems, including that a release cannot be rolled backUK AI Security Instituteaccessed 2026-10-29
  18. Reported byModel page: Intelligence Index 26, rank 8 of 19, $2.06 a task, 110M output tokens, 161.3 tokens a second on Mistral's APIArtificial Analysisaccessed 2026-10-29
  19. Reported byCoding Agent leaderboard data embedded in the page: Mistral Vibe with Mistral Large 4 at 48.3%, $1.26 a task, and the comparison rowsArtificial Analysisaccessed 2026-10-29
  20. Reported byCyber Index page and its data: index values and components for 25 modelsArtificial Analysisaccessed 2026-10-29
  21. Reported byCyberGym-E2E-AA page: 131 tasks, Mistral Large 4 (High) 79.4%, Preview 81.7%, Kimi K3.1 Pro 94.7%Artificial Analysisaccessed 2026-10-29
  22. Reported byVals Index v2.2 leaderboard updated 29 October 2026: Mistral Large 4 OSS 56.42%, $3.72 a test, rank 17 of 30Vals AIaccessed 2026-10-29

Share this briefing

Know someone who owns this problem? Send it to them.

Related briefings

The briefing, in your inbox

Practitioner analysis of cyber and AI security news. No vendor noise.

How often

Every new briefing in one email, at 7am, or at 7am, 12:30pm and 6pm. Nothing is sent when nothing is new. Unsubscribe any time.